In-laws brining 'eid' before the wedding...?

So the in-laws bring ‘eid’ for the bride-to-be if Eid happens to fall during the courtship. It is usually referred to as “Eid lay kay jana” to the girl’s house.
It usually consists of clothes the girl would wear on Eid, flowers, bangles, mehndi and cash - sometimes gold.
How many girls received ‘Eid’ before the wedding and what’d you get?

And those of you that are married, what’s Eid like for you now?

Re: In-laws brining 'eid' before the wedding...?

--

Don't spam desi MC.

my inlaws dont celebrate Eid, so the whole "bringing Eid" thing didn't really apply for us. but we've only had one Eid so far, and it was great! we got lots of "first Eid after marriage" Eidi from my family yay! :p

My inlaws live in Pakistan and hubs doesnt have a clue about these things so no Eidi for me before we got rukhsatified.

My first ever ''Eid'' coming from In laws this year and I just cant wait :D

lived in diff countries before marriage.. but afterwards, got eidi from in laws and jewellary from the man.. lets see what happens this eid

I've heard of this......

my in laws are in pk but they send me (trough parcel service) dresses and jewlerry:)

My in laws are doing this as we're getting married after eid.
But I must admit, I didn't know about this until my moher-in-law told me.

In my family I have always seen this tradition....and i just love it...:)
too bad no one did it for me...:(

Thats the first Ive ever heard of this rasm, but it sounds fun! My inlaws didnt "bring Eid" before Eid, just on Eid day they gave me gifts like clothes, money etc

ahhhh I got a gharara and kaanch ki churiyaan from parents in laws at a dinner they did at their home, they gave my whole family gifts (brothers/father-shirts, mother suit). They and bro/sis in law gave money on actual Eid day.

On the dinner we gave them all gifts (mother sari, brother father clothes etc) and gave my fiance money:)

out of all the rasms in our culture, I love this one (rest, I absolutely detest)

BUT I never got any eid from my in laws..we didn;t have any engagement, it was direct nikkah and then rukhsati later so I guess thats how I missed it.. sighh! :D

I would definitely do it for my "bahu" though. :D

i just lobbbbbbb this tradtion.. of ours..called EIDI :)
m nikahfied from last two years .i was going along wid my inlaws ffor my eidi shopping and to get eidi for my hubby as well..becuz i have jus 1 sis in law,she use to do my eidi shopping nicely packed and all but now she got married so have to go wid my sas,,n hubby for shopping!

Me too, I think its such a lovely tradition, we have done this for my sister in law. In our family it continues after marriage , looking forward to getting her gifts soon Insh'Allah.

Re: In-laws brining ‘eid’ before the wedding…?

but b4 it was more excitement becuz of surprise… i will ask them this time to get things themselves.,.not wid me hMM!:pcg:

It's a wonderful tradition..... i love it.
My Eidi was nicely packed with the churiyan, matching shoes etc by my sis-in-law too...... believe me its a luvly feeling gettin Eidi from ur inlaws :)

lolzzz well last yr my bday came in ramazan so my eidi came on my bday so got many gifts coz of both ocassions :D lolz my MIL gave me money to buy the matching sandals and jewelery and um hoping the same this time too as my bday is coming again in ramazan ....well we also give eidi to my fiance clothes and money for shoes .....do ppl give eidi clothings to guys in ur families ?????

yes offcourse.
aur me tu apni MIL,sis IN Law ,aur dono devers ko bhi eid gifts bhejwati hun.
pehle bhai tha tu he use to get eidi for my hubby but now he's not in pak,so my parents gve money to him to buy for himself