In her clothes

Suppose if your MIL wants you to be in her clothes whenever you see her but your hubby doesn’t want you to wear your MIL’s clothes but if you don’t wear 'em, MIL gets really really cross and upset and doesn’t even talks to you. Your hubby doesn’t find you attractive at all in those clothes so how’d you handle the situation?

Note: This scenario is based on real life experiences but it’s an extreme and exaggerated version.

Re: In her clothes

I sorry but thats one childish MIL, if her own son doesn't like his wife wearing something(ugly), then whats her problem? Last time I checked I didn't marry her, I married her son! I would wear whatever I or he wants me to wear. And I would let her get mad and not talk to me, because than just maybe she'll stop giving me ugly clothes.

by 'in her clothes' do u literally mean the clothes that the MIL wears or does it mean "clothes she gets made" - if its the first one, then it totally depends.. my MIL usually makes tonzz of kapre when shes in pakistan and since her skin is really sensitive she ends up giving all of her bahu's her georgette and kaam wale kapre - i keep some and the ones tht i dnt like i usually just give back saying ke aap pehn lein, aap ne itne pyaar se apne liye liya thaa etc etc .. if the hubby has a problem then well maybe it would be better for a mother/son heart 2 heart - she might understand it better if he explains it rather than u - cuz then baat ka batanggar bhi bann sakta hai and she might hold it against u ke mein itne pyaar se deti hoon aur koi qadr hi nahi hai etc etc
if its about the choice of what shes getting made then well maybe go shopping with her a few times to give her an idea of what ur preference is -

You haven't said if DIL actually likes the look of them/wants to wear them. If she doesn't she shouldn't bother, MIL sounds a bit immature and irrational imo. So many desi MILs have these bizarre control issures..

So in simple words.....you wouldn't really care about how she treats you.

that's very clever...:D:

Yeah but what would you do in that situation?

So what if you wear one of those outfits occasionally. I'm sure you must own/wear other stuff that your husband doesn't like, or is it specifically outfits his mother buys that he doesn't like.

It's not control issues.

1) Everyone's taste is different, you're own mum has probably bought you stuff in the past that you don't like - I know my mum has.

2) Not every MIL is a b*tch and deliberately buys nasty stuff for their DIL.
Some actually put some thought/effort/money in to it.

Unless the outfits are hideous, just wear one once in a while and pray you don't give birth to a son like your MIL.

The clothes are supposed to be actually MIL's worn outs in this story not new ones.

Why is she giving you her old clothes??

Tell her they don't fit you and it would cost a small fortune if you were to get them altered to fit.

So you'd just plainly refuse to take the clothes in the first place even if your MIL gets up set with you?

give them to the maasi and be like it looks like something she can wear so i gave it to her. Go cry me a river now mother in law- Booo Hooo :)

I agree with Gaia, I wouldn't wear either. Me personally I'd say to her something like I'd rather not wear cos I don't think it suits me, not in a nasty way or anything and if she still gets upset that's her problem.

When my own Mum gave me stuff in my teens that I didn't like I told her straight (but respectfully) it wasn't really my taste. Even now when she says 'Oh, I'm leaving u this jewellery' and I find it a bit old fashioned I tell her straight it's not really something I'd wear, no point pretending I like something I don't and don't see why it should be any different with a MIL.

My personal opinion:

I wouldn't break my hubby's mother's heart even if she's being irrational.

Sorry to say thats 1 wacky MIL ...

Personally what my husband wants will be my top most priority ... If the MIL is such a lunatic that she wants to see her DIL in her old, worn out clothes she isn't worth taking notice of ... neither her emotions nor her attitudes ... Should she keep on pestering then point blank say go talk to your son, if he says ok I'll do it otherwise not ...

Aur waisa bhi now a days in Pakistan therez a lot of bad stuff going on ... such as black magic, jinn etc etc ... So security n all is a major issue ...

Therez alwayz a limit to being obidient n all ...

Sorry for the harsh words but these kinda things really infuriate me ...

So you would rather please your MIL than hubby? And tell him to deal with it, since we are only talking about wearing some clothes of her choice?

See i can't do that, don't get me wrong i do respect my future MIL to be, but if she tells me one thing and my hubby tells me another, i'm gonna go with my hubby, unless of course, he wants me to just do it for her. I think this relationship needs to develop early between women.

I'm not married yet, but my soon to be MIL, knows i'm not gonna do anything without my hubby to be there, and that if i'm not happy he will take care of it in a nice manner. And this makes it sound like i hate my MIL, she IS crazzy but i love her, she isn't that crazzy that she would stop talking to me becuase I didn't wear what she wanted me too!

^That makes good sense Gaia. Thanks for your input. You'll make a nice wife and DIL inshaAllah.

It’s farz upon a woman to please her husband :wink: and not farz by any means to please her MIL, especially in these type of silly requests :smack:.

just be straight with her and tell her that your hubby doesn't like them....i can't understand why she gives you her worn clothes anyway.....

I have noticed that my MIL also WANTS me to wear her worn jewelry, etc. Once I refused saying I will find something from my stuff she said 'is ko ek kass k thappar maarne ka dil karta hai'...:o

DID SHE REALLY THAT SAY CORRUPT ANGEL

oh godddd well thats weird, is ur mother in law and yourself the same size, that she wants you to wear her clothes, its the first time ive ever heard such ludicrous requests. thank god ur husband has a brain.....tell him to tell her...

I'm sure u can find a way to keep both parties happy :)