In Defense of non-Hijabi sisters

I know it's not easy.. I've seen my family and friends take that step so I realise that.. Mashallah it adds to a Womans beauty so much..

Cinders: What factors would make you consider wearing it?

what factors??????
well i do know that i should wear the hijab and i guess at the end of the day thats the biggest thing, also if my husband wanted me to i would without hesistaion in fact it would be a step forward because he would support me.

also if my friends were suportive and i was confident enough in myself.
unfortunatly i do not have much knowledge and that is soemthing i am working on, but i guess one of the scary things is people expecting u to know all about islam.

one question.. how many teachers do u know who wear a hijab? someone i know was told that it was against the health and safety rules ie when doing physical education. she left, i dont know what happened.

forget teachers.. how many doctors do u know that wear hijab…

at my university.. there was this sister who started wearing hijab right b4 medical school. she gave her interview and stuff w/o hijab. khair, she did her med school and stuff and when it came to rotations and internships and residencies… she made it clear that she had to wear her hijab. not just a cap.. but her entire neck covered up to her chest. so she got the head doctors to approve of her wearing a white hijab which she could bleache if she got blood stains on it. this was probably umm.. 6-7 yrs ago. now, in the place she does her rounds, they have disposable hijabs for her

go figure.

agay baroh toh… Allah will lead the way for u

-mehndi

May Allah lead u onto the right path miss cinderellly

another very nice story mehndi…

but this girl was obviously luckier than those women who have to choose between their hijab and their job. Its nice to see things improving though..ive been seeing women in hijabs working at our local mall. This has only been happening for the past year or two, before that, i wouldnt have thought of it.
cinderalla’s also right though, i dont think there’s anything wrong with women waiting till they’re ready to wear hijab. But the first few times u wear it, its going to be difficult obviously. Eventually, though, you’ll get used to it and like mehndi said, Allah(swt) will lead the way for u

^^Believe to Understand^^**

[This message has been edited by hk (edited January 26, 2001).]

thanks guys.... i guess ur right it will be hard but hey its something that needs to be done..

Originally posted by CoolDude:
Anchal: If we call ourselves Muslim then we believe in Allah and his message in it's entirety. We cannot pick and choose, therefore, if Allah has asked us to dress and act modestly, then that should be our intention. Islam is not just a religion but a complete way of life.

I agree with cool dude, anchal baji I think you are taking things to the extreme.

Lekin both of you are right in a sense..

I feel that no one is perfect lekin khoshish aur neeath achai honie chahya...

You know what I mean.... Im not a hijabi, im too weak to be, but I do prey and try my best never to lie..so allah knows I am trying.. that I think is what makes me watch over me...

The GuPPeR ForMallY KnowN as MadaM MariA

Originally posted by farhana:
***I'm not denying the importance of hijaab or the high position women are given in Islam.*

All, I'm saying is that I will wear it when I'm good and proper and not because of a group of ignorant men/women telling me I should. Most of thesepeople regard hijaab to be the only "thing" that will get a woman in to heaven...what crap!!!

Also, with regards to the beard.....it cannot be compared to hijaab. Beard is sunnah not fard, and most guys I know use that difference to its full advantage. Hijaab is fard. The two cannot be compared, so dont even try to.**

When death is hastening towards us, the time of which is only known to the Almighty (swt), it is amazing that our muslim sisters have the luxury to wait until they are ready before obeying Allah (swt).

When yr death could be approaching the very next second, such audacity baffles the inquiring mind as to how one could "wait to be ready" to obey the Creator.

The meaning of our very existence is to worship Allah (swt). Yet we keep waiting.

Ashamed to HIS commandments ? Hesistant towards good deeds ?

Keep waiting.

I bid you well.

Originally posted by naeem_dimple:
** What were you doing in a place like that?

This kind of ignorant behaviour was totally uncalled for. And it totally pisses me off. Who gives you the right to judge someone because they said they were at bar. For all you know..they could have been using the washroom or using the phone...or even having a non-alcoholic beverage.

These kinds of comments attack the individual and spread like wild fire in the community..ESPECIALLY a desi community. This gossip tarnishs the "image" of the individual even if they weren't engaging in un-islamic acts.

Don't be so closed minded..and give ppl the benefit of the doubt.

Now responding to this thread. As a hijabi..I don’t find myself thinking that I’m better then non-hijabis. I mean..they could be better muslims than myself for all I know.

A friend of mine told me a story about a muslim friend of his..and I’d like to share it with you.

It was the begining of the second semester of university and in the first week..all the student groups had their tables out and were trying to get ppl to join.

At the MSA table, my friend and a few other brothers and sisters were there getting ppl to sign up and handing out flyers etc etc.

While my friend was working at the table, his friend came and initiated a conversation with him. She was a non-practicing muslim and was wearing clothes that could be coined as “un-islamic”.

This girl was telling my friend that she was too embarrassed to talk to the MSA sisters because of her clothing. My friend was trying to reassure her that the sisters wouldn’t judge her on her clothing. Just to prove his point, he told the sisters that this girl was Muslim. The sisters went out of their way to make her feel so comfortable and wanted. They didn’t condem her because of her clothing at all.

The point of this story was to just re-emphasize the fact that we are to open our hearts to other muslims. We have no right to judge them or disrespect them in any way.

…okie enuff of my babbling

thats true Hinna...
the MSA at my university has non-hijabi members and the sisters are so nice and loving toward them...who knows what they're thinking but atleast they dont behave arrogantly.

^^Believe to Understand^*^*

Can anyone tell me where this concept of Hijab was introduced in Islam??. In days of Holy prophet (SAW) womens use to take one big sheet and wrap this sheet around. That was the "Purda" in that days.

The Burqa, Hijaab etc were introduced by the Ullemah in last centeury or so (I dont execat history)

i dont know much about that
the main thing is modesty...as long as ur modestly dressed and the hair is fully covered.
maybe someone else has info. about this?

^^Believe to Understand^*^*

I gotta run, so i just dug out this reply i wrote a long time ago, it has some background so hopefully it’ll clarify the concept of ‘hijab’ for you, inshaAllah

thanks for the info GFQ

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/flower1.gif

^^Believe to Understand^^**