[In defence of MMA]...Misreporting of facts...Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwala

Re: [In defence of MMA]...Misreporting of facts...Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwal

Re: [In defence of MMA]…Misreporting of facts…Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwala

Vaisay, if I remember correctly … it was a marathon of 10 kms. You can put a gun to my head, and I still will not run 10 kms… so the whole “forced” thingy seems like a stretch, in the first place. No one can be forced to run a marathon. MMA comes out with the weirdest excuses to brandish their sticks.

Re: [In defence of MMA]...Misreporting of facts...Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwala

This should be in Pak Affairs I...

Re: [In defence of MMA]...Misreporting of facts...Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwala

Yeah the whole excuse of "they were forced to run by their school" is a bit far-fetched...and this is what the MMA wallahs zone in on?

Erm how about they walk around in like the slums of karachi around 2 am and listen to the ladies being raped or abused?

I kid you not. I've been in Khi , and even though we live in a nice area...there are slums not too far away from our house. You can often here women screaming in the middle of the night - although for what reason...who knows...

moreover, who cares, right? Oh but running in a marathon...

Faisal is right - you can not just take school girls to a marathon track and "force" them to run. Have you ever met these school girls? They're a fiesty bunch.

^ well, we are talking about Gujranwala here.. so I wouldn't know. The only things I have pegged down Gujranwala being famous for are Gujjars (ofcourse) and tikkay (kinda over-rated, though). So the school girls running in marathon is a stretch and they being a fiesty bunch is pending till further investigation. :)

Now we want to be like the Taliban? Why would we wanna live back in the stone ages?

kaleem why? are they shia?

Re: [In defence of MMA]…Misreporting of facts…Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwal

democracy without the rules of Allah is total satanic.we imported democracy.and in those countries if parliment allows any thing even against their own religions,it becomes the rule.we cannot encourage this type of satanic democracy in our country.it is told in hadith that in muslims less people will choose the path of Allah and it is their duty to stop the wrong ways of people which will be spreading in muslims of that time.so we findit too easy to blame mullahs that why they interept our" joys"but remember if they donot after few generations there will be no difference among muslims and other religions.you want to deliever that type of religion and democracy to your next generations.

Well i would not be surprised if people were "actively encouraged" to be part of the marathon..some schools closed down in Peshawar when Princess Diana was making a drive past ...the government wanted to put on a good show!

I am deeply saddened to hear your views on this whole issue Irem ( i know you are least bothered), really. I am also quite conservative but I would not like to be told as to what is good and what is bad for me. Those women can decide for themselves... who the hell were MMA walas to thwart the petty, harmless activity. And it wasn't as if those women were wearing shorts, gosh they were not even properly dressed for the race.
Irem, its very easy to sit in the cosy confines of your home and pass judgements. YOu are one blessed person, who is educated, who can travel and who has wonderful parents (mashallah) who would not kill you for partying out or talking to a male colleague of yours and I guess its more or less the same with many of us too.
BUT think about those women for a moment. Any sport that is played is good for physical and mental health and is in a way a form of entertainment. Who are we to even take this right from those poor souls. Yeh behayai un larkiyoon main naheen , daikhnay waloon ki ankhon or sooch main hai.
Now, there are countless ways to approach this issue in the parliament which is the aprropriate forum to discuss and debate. MMA ppl could have argued for marathon for women within the confines of a stadium but this is totally unacceptable. Rioting, looting, torching property worth thosands of rupees, is simply mindboggling and that too on such a trivial issue.

irem, people supporting MMA outside of NWFP is such a fart. These Punjabis and Karachiwalas who support MMA would not want to live a day under their rule. Buss aiwaiN hee drying room may baith ker support kertay haiN. Khuud DVD per Housewives aur Sex in the City daikhtay haiN aur doosroN kay liyay Taliban ishtile gornament.

Re: [In defence of MMA]...Misreporting of facts...Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwal

funguy that is quite racist and stupid of you to say... you people really generalize too much when infact many parts of the punjab have lots of support for the mma I mean slowly but surely they are comming on the right path... I'm from pindi and there is lots of support for the jamaat here other then the pilgrims of sheikh rashids thug mansion... most people are with the mma

Re: [In defence of MMA]…Misreporting of facts…Re: female sportswomen in Gujranwal

KHATMAL OYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

OMGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG

U R FROM PINDI???

:hug: :hug: :hug:

mujhay pata hi nai tha :smiley:

:hug:

me too yara :jhanda: i mean im basically from there tho ab khi mein rehti hoon but i consider pindi my real hometown :smiley:

nice to know :–D hehehehe
:slight_smile:
:hug:

and yes you are right, these folks know nothing, MMA enjoys BIG TIME support!!!

How can you guys condone violence? Agreeing or not agreeing with someone's position is one thing, but still taking their side when they used violence? And that too in the name of Islam?

No wonder Pakistan is so messed up.

Irem, khi mein mazay kar ke aur rekhay bhi aap ka dil pindi main hai? Its amazing how many people leech off of karachi and yet dont consider it home. I hope you're not one of those type that throws their garbage out on the street thinking "ah well, its just karachi - who cares about this place anyway? Mera khandaan yahan ka hai nahi, so what does it matter to me?"

sighz Sometimes I wish I could go back to Karachi and help fix the city up. So much work to be done, so few who care...

**Khatmal **:hug: :hug: :hug:

funguy** for your kind information i DO NOT watch those disgusting programs, neither have i ever watched them. i dont like watching any kind of cheap TV shows. and even though my life is not completely Islamic, i welcome Islamic rule b/c if we do get that then that would mean that i am encouraged and a favorable situation is further created for me where i can become more islamic. it would only HELP.

Minerva** you are misunderstanding what i have said. if u read my posts again you might get a better idea. my whole point was not to say that women should not play sports. the whole point was that MMA is being accused wrongly b/c their intention was to protest peacefully and that too b/c the girls were forced to participate their without their will.

Zakk yeah exactly…!!!

grapefruit** ahan i see where you’re coming from
masterofall240** what do u even know abt the Taliban

**PyariCgudia **well that fact can be investigated for its authenticity but certainly i do think many of the school girls or atleast their parents would not be comfortable with running in the marathon…
many school girls in modern english medium schools in karachi are not even and gujranwala is a more conservative society

Spock **i opened it here coz the topic was being discussed in general, but i have added a reply to the thread in pak 1 as well

Faisal bhai i dono it dont seem like a farce to me

PCG hosla karo :smack:

firstly, you too are misunderstanding my post. the whole point is MMA WAS NOT THE ONE WHO STARTED VIOLENCE. THE POLICE DID. MMA was there for a PEACEFUL PROTEST. The figures show the same. MMA members were the ones who were injured by the violence.

and Pakistan is not messed up :stuck_out_tongue:

and btw i love Karachi too and care a lot for the city and no i dont throw garbage thinking this is just Karachi, in fact i love the city to bits and really deeply care for it, i have grown up here.

as for considering Pindi my real hometown. ofcourse. thats where my roots are and thats where i will eventually go back to. DIL pe koi ZOR nai hota, when ur heart feels attached to a certain place then it does, and my HEART lies in Pindi and my village :slight_smile:

i dont think i'll ever understand how someone wanting to do her MBA from a US university only is so vocally in favor of a taliban style setup for pakistan.

queer yes you need a brain to understand such things :D thats why you'll never understand :D

I agree, irem's opinions are so counterintuitive of her personal lifestyle...

PCG you don’t even know anything about my lifestyle :rolleyes: Keep your comments limited to the topic of the thread. The thread is not about ME.

true, i dont think i have the brains to whine about bollywood 24/7 while watching DDLJ for the 100th time. pro-taliban my ass..