In Bad Taste? :S

Re: In Bad Taste? :S

Lol. Exactly.

Waise bhi i m sure it cant be someone who is nt close to u who wud wear a lehnga to yr wedding, so what's the harm?! for that matter ANYONE at all can wear it, where's the issue? Hopefuly the bride who feels this way would consider growing up before getting into marriage.

Dhoti and kameez for all the guests, all 3 days. That's what I'm going to write on my invitations. How DARE they try to usurp me by dressing in anything nicer than me!

I honestly wouldnt mind if someone wore their wedding lengha to my wedding. I just got married a few weeks ago, and my cousins wife (they got married in January) wore her barat lengha to my mehndi and her valima lengha to my wedding, and honestly, it didnt bother me one bit! No one mistook her for the bride, and it didnt take anything away from me.

I honestly dont think its a big deal at all, as long as the guest doesnt come decked out in full bridal jewellry and with their dupatta on their head!

^ Congratulations!

I wore my wedding dress on my devar’s baraat, noone said anything. I looked like enough of a jackass :halo:

I went to an engagement and wore an anarkali...no makeup and no jewelry except like a few chooriyaan in each hand. Everyone wore something fancy to the engagement. I was expecting the bride-to-be to be all decked out because she had told me that her outfit cost about $400 and mine only cost $125. However, the bride-to-be was wearing a plain black velvet outfit. there was no work on it what-so-ever. I must say that everyone was outshining her without even trying.. even her own sisters. Guests who didnt know the bride (the guy's side had never met the bride cuz it was a love thing) thought I was the one getting engaged and stood up when I entered. not sure why maybe because my outfit was pink? Or because mostly all the guests were aunties and I was the only girl her age? I was sooooo embarasseddd!!!
Later the bride-to-be told me that the outfit she wore was the only one that would fit her. So she had to look simple. But I think she could have dressed up the look by adding jewelry and makeup and doing her hair.

heheheheh.. I am the opposite. I show everything to everyone and even wear some of my dahej clothes. I take pics of every outfit I but and show them to ppl who ask about the outfits. Arghhhh I need to stop ruining the big "surprise" lmao

reha and saimab, I completely agree. I dont mind my SILs lehenga thing either (she is wearing red to my shaadi day) but she is wearing her bridal set and everything so I just feel like she is trying too hard. She did the same thing for her older bhabhi's baby shower. She wore her bridal set at the baby shower at home. I think it looked a bit too much. My fiance made fun of her for it but then she said tht oo ur fiance wears big earings all the time. Then my fiance told her tht I wear earings and not with big necklaces with tikka and all. I was just amused. Also wearing baraat lehenga to mrehendi is acceptable but wearing it to someone else's baraat seems tacky to me. Plus I nefver ever want to be mistaken as the bride again. It feels horrible! I felt guilty without even doing anything wrong

Yaa she is. Hahaha. Its all good though.

Bridal outfits can't ever be worn again, unless its at someone else's wedding. I mean you don't see ladies walking around on Eid wearing their bridal lehnga, so I think it's nice if they get to wear it to someone else's wedding. they obviously don't look like the bride because of not having the dupata on their head. It just ends up looking like a heavy sari or something (depening on how you style it). We spend so much on our bridal outfit, might as well get to wear it somewhere.

As for ladies being super secrative about their bridal stuff....whats up with that? I'm getting married in July and I really don't care who knows what, I mean who cares? but people around me like my cousins and in-laws all respond the same when I ask what they're wearing to the wedding "you'll see"...I don't get it :s

^^ haha im like that…never give away what im wearing…its kinda silly but i dont want to ruin the “wow” factor :stuck_out_tongue:

as for wearing ur bridal lehnga, im getting a pair of trousers and or churidaar made with mine so i can wear it as a formal again later WHOOP! :smiley:

oh and think of it this way…how many western brides turn up to another ladies wedding wearing THEIR wedding dress…its even considered rude to wear white! pakis plz take note… :smack:

Lenghas and all are fine. However the color matters. I hate girls who think its ok to wear red...esp red lenghas to other ppls weddings. Its called BRIDAL ETHICS PEOPLE. respect the bride.

I went to a wedding where the bhabhi of the bride was wearing her shaadi ka joda/set even the dupatta! so rude.

I don't think you can make a hard and fast rule. You can't just so "no bridal joras" "no lenghas" "no red." Think about it, red is the "theme" of the day and people often wear red to weddings, even if if it's not their bridal jora. And that's okay because those other outfits are not the same cut or as heavy as bridal outfits. And these days the bridal joras are not always red. I think it is important to use your common sense. Consider if the jora is ALL red. Consider how close you are to the bride and groom. Consider how heavy the kaam is. Consider how you will wear the dupatta. Consider how much jewelry you will wear.

Also, I felt special when people wore their bridal outfits to my wedding. To me it suggested how important they considered the wedding to be. That is how I view it if and when I wear my outfit. It is a special outfit only to be worn to very special occasions (I really hope Pakistanis do not adapt the Western approach of only wearing the outfit once -- what a waste of gorgeous clothes!). I have only worn mine once, to my BIL's wedding. I hope inshAllah to wear it to my brother's. But that being said, mine is neither super-heavy nor all red. Consider that when you're selecting your clothes.

EXACTLY! I for sure would kind of take it as an insult that they’d wear a “blah” jora to my (imaginary) wedding. I guess this is one issue that clearly has two sides to it…

I remember having this debate a long time ago.. :hehe: The way I see it most girls already know their limits…if they want to wear the bridal jwewelry with the duputta on their head, they’re the ones who will look stupid. Brides need to stop freaking out over nothing…

Anyways, what’s the fun in wearing old clothes, I’d rather get lots of nice new ones made! :smiley:

Wearing your wedding outfit once is a waste of money. Poor ma baap spend so much on it to be only worn once. Its a shame. As for lenghas at weddings, its not bad but I wouldn't suggest anyone over 30 wearing it. To me older women don't look classy in em. I knew an auntie who wore hers at all weddings and looked ridiculous. Somehow she got the message and no longer wears them..lol. If young girls wear lenghas to weddings its fine as long as they don't have on heavy jewelry and makeup. Your only young once. As for the bridal outfit, I think you should only wear that to your siblings and close relatives weddings without the bridal jewelery. Just simplify the jewelery and your fine. I hope to wear mine at my first cousins wedding with light jewelery and makeup and different shoes. In the future I think I will get a pajama made to go with my lengha top (the top was long)

Anyone over 30 is not an auntie! :mad:

:stuck_out_tongue:

you’re an aunty as soon as your first born goes to school…but not an auntie ji…lol

many girls wear bridal dresses to weddings in our area and family…it looks so good the time and effort someone takes for your wedding means they care…
plz dont follow the westerns
our desi weddings rock :coolios:

We have a HUGE family and wear formals in almost everything. Its a custom in our family for the girls to wear a gharara on the wedding day with jhoomars. Since I have a gazillion lehenga samples I think its a waste of money going around buying formals from others, so I end up wearing whatever I get my hands on.
Recently I've ended up embarrassing myself a few of times because I tend to wear something that is usually heavier than the brides (lack of choice trust me, I dont get my hair done or wear too much makeup). I went to my cousin's engagement wearing a red heavy shirt with a red gharara and a gold and ruby tika set, but no one told me the bride was hardly wearing something remotely bridal. I was seriously embarrassed because of the color choice (the poor girl was wearing white!), and my cousins mom made sooooo much noise on me trying to overshadow her. But my cousin (the boy) was pretty cool about it. I guess this is pretty much between the ladies because some of them can't stand it if someone else overshadows them on their special day (and I dont blame them). Guys don't seem to really care about it too much

mmmh...yeah if they wear a party lehnga than it's ok...but what i absolutely HATE is when in pakistan the "new brides" (nai naveeli dulhan) wear their wedding outfits and get ready as its their wedding ...i don't know why but i absolutely hate it....infect they get more attention because everyone starts to ask questions about her...

ppl have strange thinking.... we were told once strictly not to wear red.... as the bride's dress color is red. and her mother didnt want anyone to overshadow her. its plain weird!

its a wedding... not a school.

personally I dont care what color or type they wear. jis rate se prices are going up... ppl cant make new dress for every wedding according to host's requirements. koi kehta hai gharara pehno koi kehta na pehno. :S

I completely agree with Sahar02. That's the first thought that crossed my mind when the question was asked. I would feel special if girls dressed up for my wedding. You don't want everyone wearing blah clothes, it's YOUR wedding! If everyone looks good, they feel good, in that sense, they spread a positive energy throughout, haha :P

The time to dress up is when you are a new bride. What's the big deal if a bride gets dressed up for your wedding? She can feel special too, sharing this special time with you. IT DOESN'T MAKE THAT DAY'S BRIDE ANY LESS SPECIAL. It just provides more opportunities to dress up and feel special for everyone.