In a messed up situation........ need suggestion

Guys i need your suggestion. I have already made up my mind but still i need to know that whether I am doing right or should I reconsider my decision.

I was good friends with one of my male class fellows since the past 6 years. We used to talk although not regularly but occasionally. He never dropped a hint that he is interested in me or not. We used to tease each other and had good friendship.

Almost two years back, he proposed me very informally. We were having chat on msn and I was asking about good universities for MBA and good job opportunities and he suggested me to continue my studies and get married. He gave his own example “agar meri wife shadi k baad studies continue kerna chahye gi tu mujhy koi aiteraz nahin hoga” and I said k “shadi mery haath main nahin hai, atleast I can plan my higher education” and he asked me why and I told him k “mery pass larka nahin hai shadi k liye haan agar mujhy achi job mil jaye tu Masters k liye paisy hoon gaye” and he said “mery bary main kia khayal hai.” First I took it as a joke and then he asked me properly and said he wants to send his parents to my house but needs my permission. So I said “ok send your parents.” After a week we met and talked about our marriage plan in details. Even after this we didn’t talk regularly. So I started having complains that he didn’t have time for me. But whenever I had complaints and discussed with him, he tried to deal with them very well. But even after 5 months he didn’t/couldn’t send his parents. Once he told me that he is waiting for his promotion (he got his promotion but not in black and white) then I never asked again about his work problems but always asked “tumhry parents kab ayen gaye”. I never tried to show my concern about his problems, always concern about my own problems. Even after that proposal and relationship, my way of talking with him never changed. I still talked to him like we are only friends and we didn’t have any special relationship.

After waiting for six months, I ended up that relationship by texting him “you don’t have time for me, I think its not working, you are not interested in me blah blah blah” he just sent me msg in return “if you don’t have faith in me then ok”.

After Breakup:

After three months i sent him msg again “why did you do this to me? etc” and he called me “main ney kuch nahin kiya you ended this relationship.” After few weeks we talked on msn again and he gave his reasons. He told me that he needs few years so that he could settle down before getting married. He asked me can I wait for two years? I didn’t give him any answer (I know I have messed up this relationship and have wasted every oppotunity he provided to me to continue the things). After a few weeks when we talked again, he asked me about this and again I didn’t give him any answer. Once we were talking on sms, he said “dekho ab main tmhy msgs ka reply bhi kerta hoon” (during our relationship I had complain that he didn’t reply me)

I don’t know but he has some strange attitude towards me. When I start sending him msgs regularly he stops replying me… he doesn’t contact me in Mar-Oct. But in Nov to Feb he starts talking to me whenever he gets time. He proposed me in Jan and in last two year (after breakup) on the same date he calls me up with some lame excuse like falan ka number dey do ya apni uni mian add ka poucho k kab hoon gaye (even though i know he is very bad in remembering dates).

**Now: **

My friends say that I should talk to him clearly that I am still interested in him (of course, I would first need to find out that he is not engaged or interested in someone). But I feel odd if after two years I talk to him about all this. In july on his birthday I sent him msg but he didn’t reply me. Occasionally I sent him fwd msgs to show my interest but he didn’t reply… (but he does not like fwd msgs).

Unfortunately I haven’t got any good proposal in fact I haven’t got any proposal in the last two years. I don’t know whats the problem. I am going to be 30 soon and I am not that ugly. I consider myself average looking girl but people think I underestimate myself (even he said this too when he proposed me). Sometimes I think about this k kia wohi meri kismat main hai jo meri ab tak shadi nahin ho saki.

Now what do you think should I contact him after 2 yrs and should I stop thinking about him. I have tried my level best to forget about him completely but I can’t. Even though I am working and studying and I have very tough schedule. But still when I lie down in night i can’t resist to think about him. He still is on my fb, on my chat lists, we sometimes do talk etc but we have never discussed this topic for the past 2 years.

My QUESTION:

Should I approach him ONCE AGAIN and ask him whether he is still interested in me or not? If yes, how to approach him without hurting my ego and damaging my izzat in his eyes?

Re: In a messed up situation........ need suggestion

i dont think you should apporach him now if he really wants you loves you or whatever HE should appoarch u hmself and i think u should not really even be in contact with him because proccess will continue him ignorning u and then u running back so del from ur fb del from ur msn and watever else u have him on

first of you have to put this idea in your head that Izzat-Zillat is all in ALLAH SWT's hand. Instead of texting him its better you discuss this thing with him in person.

ps. I personally dont think he is interested in you anymore.
ps2. meet him only if you really really interested in him. dont use him and his emotions only cuz you didnt get any decent proposals.
ps3. we girls burn bridges when we start acting like wives even though nothing was official at the time.

Should you contact him after 2 years and ask him wether he is still interested in you or not?

IF he was interested in you...........he would have contacted you. And he would have done so with more regularity. Him not contacting you from Mar-Oct is not a good sign. Regardless of how busy he is...he could take at least 5 minutes (even less) to say hello or good night. It seems odd that after such a prolonged period of "no contact"...that he'd propose. I get the feeling that he's just not that into you.

Have you guys interacted IN PERSON? If not, then maybe that's something you can try. Meet him for a coffee or something.......a face-to-face interaction is different from texting and email....it can give you and him a clearer idea of things. And then address your concerns with him face-to-face and get some direction/closure. If he says that he's interested in marriage.......then decide upon a date where he can bring his family over. And if he doesn't do it......the move on from him because his actions are not matching up with his words....and the wishy-washiness is not healthy.

Keep in mind though....that when he proposed...you ignored him. He's got his pride....just like you. It's hard for most people to consider marriage with someone who previously shot them down. My gut feeling is that he's not that interested in you. But if you can't get him off your mind...then meet with him in person to get some closure. This is a complicated mess.

Do istakhara and if its positive then send him a sorry card with a $5 giftcard of his favorite store.
instead of crying over it in your 50s that why didnt you take any initiatives, if he is worth to be with then even if u lose anything then time-tears wise it will be a gain.

what is there to lose? your ego- self respect??? well if he is not in your life then why bother worrying about what he thinks about you and what not.

Re: In a messed up situation… need suggestion

I seriously tried to remove him from my all contact lists but i can’t… his phone number is saved in my head… i know if i delete him from my fb i will still visit his profile regularly (we have common friends and i can easily excess his profile through their friendlist) :stuck_out_tongue:

I am not sure why i can’t forget him. Am i seriously interested in him or just getting frustrated with age :confused:. Still when i think about those 6 months i started crying… Is it really love or something else i don’t know. :teary1:

Thats the reason why i try to initiate the contact because i know i have hurt his ego very badly. Every time i contacted him my ego hurt as well but i still tried.

Meet him in person is a good idea. Our common friend can help us but he will come to know that i have told everything to this common friend and most probably he won’t like this. Our common friend wants to talk to him but he needs my permission and don’t let him. I don’t know may be it will worsen the situation. :bummer:

That’s why i want to try last time but i am not sure how? He is very well educated, belongs to a very respectable family, have a good job, liberal and very ambitious i think he has everything what a girl wants.

Don't bother. No guy ever goes back to a girl who has rejected him. Most guys when the chapter is closed its closed.

i think you were just kinda maybe sorta too clingy, in the words of milly; allow it. he obv doesn't care anymore.

No.. My brother went on to marry the girl who broke up with him once.. I know other guys who have gone back to girls who have rejected them.. Not every guy has such a huge ego..

Agree with RV.. If he was interested you prob would have known in all that time..

is he married now? talk to him otherwise its gona keep on bugging you.

My condolences to your brother.

So true, and it can be worse, he can pose/pretend and later return the favor at some point...

Sounds like the 'cat and mouse' game has gone seriously wrong.

From what you have described, I don't think you are interested in him. You only want him because you haven't found a decent proposal. This seems correct for both of you; so you ought to move on and find someone who isn't going to ignore you, and who you aren't going to ignore.

No he is not married........... if he was i would never ever think about him in this way. At least i have this much control on my emotions.

Seriously princess when i said YES to him i was so excited............. because i had a very serious crush on him. But i never told him this. I always hide my feelings with him.......... that's where i was wrong i guess.

Thanks to tell me guys perspective.............. It will really help me................

you wont find out unless you give it a try, so try it out

Just move on with life,i hate to say this but i think he is or even was never interested in you...it might just be a fling and not something serious....trust me once you will get married you will realize that even you were never into him you are just getting a little desperate because of your age (alot of girls are getting married in their late 20's and you will get married too inshaAllah when your time will come) dont contact him again n again you are giving him an ego boost by doing this..its better to burn out than to fade away.

I think you should talk to him and get some sort of clarity or finality on this.

I think you're still in love and since he has too much pride to go chasing after you even after you rejected him...you will have to make the move here.

Meet him in person and talk this out...either you will get what you want or you won't. Either way, you will have a conclusion to this story...which you don't have right now.

You can contact him and say your parents received a proposal of marriage for you, but wanted to know if there was any chance he can make a proposal. something like that. If he has any feelings for you he would act now and make you his official fiancee.

Ignoring you for long periods of time like months and then talking to you like nothing is wrong does not sound right to me, not really marraige material. Also he says one thing but does not carry it out (like sending his parents). You deserve alot better. After marraige these things will only get worse.