Imran tries to bring ISI directly into politics

It is well known the Pti dharna was backed by non-democratic forces.

Now Imran is openly calling for ISI+MI to get involved, and kick out the elected govt. He is getting so desperate for power he cannot hide his ISI connections!

Shame on you Imran.

ISI and MI should sit on commission to investigate vote rigging: Imran

RAHIM YAR KHAN: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman  Imran Khan on Sunday said that members of the Inter-Services  Intelligence (ISI) and Military Intelligence (MI) should should sit on a  commission headed by the Supreme Court to investigate rigging in the  2013 General Elections, Dawnnews reported.

While addressing a large public gathering in Rahim Yar Khan, the PTI chief said that 2013 General Elections were not conducted in a free and fair manner.

He said that the government should set up the commission to investigate alleged poll rigging by November 30.

“People from MI and the ISI should also sit on the commission,” the PTI leader said.

He said that the commission should take six weeks to conduct its investigation and until then Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif should not resign.

“If the commission gives the decision that rigging took place, Nawaz Sharif has to hand in his resignation,” Imran Khan said.

He also said that individuals found guilty of rigging should be put on trial under Article 6 of the Constitution.

Imran Khan said that if the government falls, then an impartial Election Commission needs to be formed and that all current members have to resign.

He said that former chief justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani would be unacceptable as election commissioner because he would not be impartial.

“The election commissioner should be someone whom all the political parties of the country have reached a consensus on,” Imran Khan said.

“We struggled a great deal for an independent judiciary, but it is still not impartial,” the PTI leader said during his speech.

‘I spent spent eight days in jail in Dera Gazi Khan for the independence of the judiciary,” he said.

“A big fraud occurred during the 2013 elections,” he said.

The PTI chairman also said in his speech that if he becomes prime minister all loans from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) would stop.

“People from other countries will come to Pakistan seeking work…If corruption is curbed then the cost of electricity would be halved,” he said

Re: Imran tries to bring ISI directly into politics

That is pathetic.

I fail to understand who is Imran's constitutional adviser? just like his civil disobedience demand/hawala call and more, i am not sure if this one is entirely implementable either. How can ISI/MI be part of a commission that will be investigating election rigging?

I get that he wants an impartial commission and that makes total sense but how can you induct ISI in that commission in a formal manner? maybe you can. I am just not sure

so now he is fine with Nawaz not resigning? last i remember everyone was begging him to be flexible on nawaz resignation demand and go for a judicial investigation but he refused.....what changed now? after 3 months or so he is back to square one. I guess his cousin TUQ ran away and Khan sahib does not have enough strength to show in his dharna evening show anymore

May be PTI should changes its name to PWISI = Political Wing of ISI :chai:

I think the political scene of Pakistan is run/managed/operated by the mightier powers of the world through ISI. The black sheeps in ISI, army, bureaucracy, politics, media and the random public played/playing their part to help those mightier powers. Typical of the third world countries. That is why Pakistan is part of the third world (& getting worse)… because it is most easiest to find such black sheeps here…

It's quite naive to assume Imran Khan alone or with a few worthy & honest on his team can bring "The Change" that he & his honest followers dream of. In present day PTI, there are filthier black sheeps, agents of the world's mightier powers who can do anything for money & are all set to loot the country worse than PPP & the older political parties once they acquire power... Just like how there were/are in other political parties of Pakistan.

So "Imran Series" Continues...

Imran/Pti is being supported by corrupt lotas like SMQ, Sheikh Rashid. his supporters are too naive and brainwashed to realise this.

Not the best of demands, but wasnt it the govt that brought in the agencies into negotiation meetings with PTI? And when PTI objected, they ewre told that the agencies wanted to be a part of it? And wasnt it the govt that called out for the army to act as a mediator? So why use them in negotiations, but not in investigations?

^ bajaa farmaayaa aapne! :)

And everybody said it was wrong then. But you need to defend your holy cow no matter what. Its pathetic.

Best part is this, IK disappears from the news and all the PTI supporters stop posting on PA. Come 30 Nov all of you guys will be back claiming you care about Pakistan and doing anything to protect your messiah.

PMLN has already involved army and ISI in the negotiations. PTI resisted it, but it didnt work. If the army is going to be a mediator in the negotiations, what is the issue with them being an overseer of the audit as well? If PMLN couldnt afford to keep them out at that point, then they should realize they have gone too far with it, and that this demand, though wrong, is in line with what they did.

As for your comments about 'PTI supporters', its about time you shed your impartiality facade and own up to your political affiliation, rather than 'play both sides of the wicket and present yourself as mr. know-it-all and mr.right.

BLAMING ISI of rigging in same speech .
Blamed already MI of rigging
Remember PTI and its script partners blamed army of rigging

Army chief was involved in rigging

Now in search to find a finger of umpire for his ..........
Old habit

There is long history of ISI involvement in Pakistani politics. That once IJI was formed and funded by ISI and paid moneys to Nawaz Sharif and other politicians against PPP. Demand of Imran Khan is not unusual. However how ISI would conduct such investigations against itself and find itself responsible for the mess it has created in Pakistan, is just another story. Moreover Imran Khan and his PTI was propped up by ex-DG ISI Ahmad Shuja Pasha. Prior to that fifteen years it had struggled in Pakistani politics to become a notable party in the media and in the public. His dharna and third umpire was also outcome of such support.

**The political role of the ISI – The Express Tribune

A constitutional petition has been filed in the Supreme Court, seeking the abolition of the political wing of the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI). In the Asghar Khan case, the then DG-ISI General (retd) Asad Durani has admitted that funds were distributed by the organisation to manipulate the 1990 elections against the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). Both these cases relate to the involvement of the ISI in politics and its interference in the election process in favour of those parties considered more patriotic and suitable for promoting a certain kind of ideology. An impression has been created that it was Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, who for ulterior motives established a political cell of the ISI in 1975 and involved it in politics. However, there is evidence that intelligence agencies had been involved in politics since the 1950s.

The interviews and articles of some retired officials point to the involvement of the military in political manipulations since 1957, if not earlier. Their involvement was enhanced with the imposition of martial law in 1958 and they remained involved in political activities during the Ayub Khan era. During Yahya Khan’s rule, the agencies got more deeply involved in politics. They monitored and reported the prospects of political parties taking part in the 1970 elections. Funds were placed at the disposal of General Umer, who was the head of the National Security Council. These funds were distributed to ‘Islam pasand’ right wing parties.

Let us now examine the notorious so-called ‘political cell’ of the ISI. In 1975, during the Balochistan insurgency, the Hyderabad tribunal was set up to try over 50 Pakistanis, mainly Baloch and Pashtun politicians from the National Awami Party, who were charged with various crimes including treason. The evidence against the accused was mainly based on intelligence reports compiled by the ISI. According to the late Naseerullah Babar, Attorney General Yahya Bakhtiar was of the view that since the ISI had no defined role that mandated it to monitor political activities, therefore, these reports would not be accepted by the tribunal. To make the evidence legally admissible, an administrative order was issued, mandating the ISI to monitor the activities of political parties. However, this order did not authorise it to make alliances, distribute funds or manipulate elections.

With every successive military dispensation, the ISI has gained in strength and its involvement in affairs of the state has grown. The Afghan jihad turned the ISI into the most powerful department of the country. The officers of that era were involved in political manipulations for the 1985 elections.

**From 1988 onwards, the ISI was actively involved in political manipulations targeting PPP. They had plans for waging jihad and considered Benazir Bhutto a hurdle in its plans. The military was also actively involved in political activities throughout General Pervez Musharraf’s rule.
**In 1989, Benazir Bhutto constituted the Zulfikar Commission to review the workings of the intelligence agencies. The Commission recommended that the ISI should not be entrusted with formulation of foreign policy and should be relieved of responsibilities related to political matters. These recommendations were never implemented.
The 1975 order should be withdrawn by the government. The ISI should realise that with a vibrant media and an active judiciary, political wheeling and dealing cannot remain hidden. The ISI is an efficient and well-organised agency. It should not undertake functions beyond its charter. There has to be a paradigm shift in its functioning that corresponds to the changing environment.

Published in The Express Tribune, March 18th, 2012.

Excuses as usual.

I suppose you missed Imran trying to arrange for the 'third umpire' to raise his finger.

Imran is just an agency stooge.

Ive been hearing this 'agency stooge', 'army man' , 'Gen. Pasha' rubbish for ages now. Back in 1990, ISI's involvement was financial. Army/ISI can only use money to change the direction of politics. They cannot 'convince' people to vote for or against someone. PTI has popular support right now, and you can use excuses to hide that, but cannot deny it. For once, I hope somone can tell me how ISI has managed to bribe hundreds of thousands of people into attending PTI jalsas and attending its sit-in.

Bull**** they didn't resist. IK ran off to meet with the military right away. Must you constantly lie? The third umpire was a direct allusion to the military.

Yet you defend it. Its pathetic. The military has no role to play in the affairs of the state. None in the election commission.

Lets hear you say that.

They didnt resist? Did you hear the press conference after the meeting or are you just speaking based on what you hear from Pervez Rashid or Saad Rafique? Army has no role in politics. PTI is not the one that called ISI agents to the negotiations. PTI is not the one that was ZIa's lapdog for a decade, nor is it PTI that took money from ISI in 1990.
Govt insisted on involving the army. Imran's meeting with COAS, and his call for MI role in vote audit is consequential, even though I dont agree with these steps.

LMAO!! Still blaming PML (N) for even statements that IK made. It was live on TV to see IK run off to meet the Military Chief. You all called it a victory and everybody else said it was the stupidest thing.

If IK had any desire to be democratic he would have never involved the military and ISI. Obviously he doesn't.

I already said that meeting the COAS and call for MI role in investigations were not the best solutions, but were consequential actions. PMLN involved army in the process.
Its a matter of common sense, as we see MI being widely used in all major investigations by civilian authorities (Karachi JIT, Model town JIT etc) but when it comes to investigating rigging, all crime partners band together to oppose it as their pants risk getting dropped.