Imran survived revolt at 1992 World Cup -Miandad

“The revolt took place before the semi-final against New Zealand. But to me the country was more important and I convinced the players to carry on playing under Imran,”

“Imran retired after winning the World Cup and before the England tour in 1992 because he had come to know about the revolt.”

“I have never spoken about this incident but now many people know about it so I disclosed the truth,”

Source:

http://uk.reuters.com/article/cricketNews/idUKSP14229120071206

Re: Imran survived revolt at 1992 World Cup -Miandad

Javed Miandad Ka Dimag Kharab Hogia Hai Burhapay Mai.....Bila Wajha Apni Izzat Maaliya-Meat Karney Per Tula Hoa Hai.........Pata Nahi Q Log Apni Izzat Khud Nahi Karwaty.

No one knows Miandad is claiming now everyone knows thats why he is disclosing the truth infect he is trying to tell people by disclosing it now. Maybe MQM got to him :slight_smile:

WTF is wrong with this guy. Attention whore. Why didn't he disclose it in his book. He has lost my respect.

There might be some truth to this. Imran himself had said a long time ago that he was really looking forward to the 1992 tour of England after the World Cup, preparing hard for it, was bowling better, and faster than he had in a long time. But then he decided to opt out since he realized he'd be an unwanted man in the team.

True but that happened AFTER the world cup. The huge amount of money that poured in after the 1992 world cup triumph (the public just showered the players with gifts and money), Imran wanted most of that money to go to his hospital project (his obsession then) but Miandad and Malik had a public falling out with Imran over this. Hence Imran's change of heart and he decided against playing in England that was to be his test swansong. Imran even alludes to that in his autobiography 'all-round view'

I think Faisal's continuing failures have got to Miandad's head.

I hope you mean Faisal Iqbal! :kursi:

Anyway, its no secret even back in '92 that Imran and Miandad had no love lost. Miandad was originally left out of '92 WC team as well. But “revolt” is a strong word. Back in late 80’s and early 90’s, Imran was the undisputed badshah salamat of our cricket team, so to expect chochay bachay of the '92 WC team to “revolt” is laughable. Except Miandad and Akram, there were no superstars in the team (Waqar missed that cup).

My guess is that Miandad had a tu-tu-mein-mein with Imran Khan and talked to 1-2 other players about it. And is now using the grand-iose words like “revolt”. Of course, no one can forget the famous revolt against a young Miandad back in 1981 (I think) led by no other than Immi’s famous cousin, Majid Khan. Pay back time, sweetie!

Lolz @ Faisal bhai. I was ofcourse referring to his ‘bhanja’ who apparently gets an earful from Miandad over the phone everytime he fails :slight_smile: I feel sorry for Faisal Iqbal for having to put up with this nuisance.

Miandad saying this now makes me believe that he was indeed the main culprit or villain in all this so called ‘revolt’ who was playing some kind of dirty games behind Imran’s back. Hence Miandad got what he deserved. The players revolted against him in early 1993 and Wasim Akram took over as captain even though Pakistan won the test series in England 2-1 in 1992 and the one-off test in NZ 1-0 in 1992/3.

Also if you remember Miandad was n’t even named in the original World Cup squad and Imran Khan when asked by some reporter at the airport before the team’s departure for Australia said something like ‘Miandad has been ‘dropped’ because he is out of form but he may join the squad later.’ This shows that their relationship had turned sour even before the main event.

Pakistan left for Australia 3 weeks or so before the world cup all credit to intelligent thinking and planning by Imran Khan. He insisted on going there early to help the players acclimatise to the tough Australian conditions and the board gave in to his sensible demand. Infact Pakistan were the first team to arrive in Australia for that world cup.

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1071207/asp/sports/story_8639973.asp
Absolute rubbish, says Ramiz

• Miandad claims he stopped a revolt on the eve of 1992 World Cup semi-final **

Bangalore: Ramiz Raja, one of the architects of Pakistan’s 1992 World Cup win, has rubbished Javed Miandad’s claim that he and Wasim Akram started a revolt against Imran Khan’s leadership on the eve of the semi-final versus New Zealand and that he (Miandad) had to step in.
“That’s absolute rubbish… I always had very high regard for Imran as captain… I don’t know the basis for such a claim being made back home… Surely, people are aware of the relationship Javed had with Imran,” a less than amused Ramiz told The Telegraph on Thursday evening.
Ramiz, a former captain like Miandad and Akram, added: “Actually, Javed is perfectly qualified to talk on revolts… He saw three against him, the first when he was captain and twice when he was Pakistan’s coach…
“Javed has spoken of trouble before the semi-final and that’s the match where Imran promoted himself to No.3 and we had a lovely 54-run partnership… We wouldn’t have had one if I’d been leading a revolt till the previous evening.”
Ramiz, incidentally, was Pakistan’s second-highest scorer (behind Miandad) in that World Cup, while Akram took the maximum wickets and topped the averages.
Without substantiating, Miandad told a TV channel on Wednesday night that Imran’s “domineering attitude” had sparked the revolt and that Ramiz and Akram had the support of others in the dressing room.
Obviously, Miandad patted himself on the back. “…But I stepped in and convinced the players to play under the captaincy of Imran… God then gave us success…”
Shades of a typical Miandad script.
Indeed, his so-called revelation may have something to do with Imran now being an opposition leader. Miandad, as is well known, is a sympathiser of a party which is supporting the Establishment.

miandad was a great, great, player, but unfortunately a cheap individua, till trying 2 gain some publicity and stay in the news, some way! Just look at the above pos and see what ramiz has said!

thanks for posting^
rameez just cleaned him up
i guess we will hear from miandad in a few months with new story

I think Immi’s declaration when Miandad was on 280against India in the 1983 home series (and it was n’t like he was within touching distance of breaking Sober’s 365, a record then) still irritates him. We won the test which is more important than any individual records.
http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63332.html](http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63332.html)

I think they were born enemies! You know Imran was vicotriously running in the ground after the match and Miandad came from behind to embrace him. But they were always each other's opponents.

Miandad so far proved himself to be greedy type of person and has often been insulted by his juniors.

all i know about (sir) imran khan .. a gr8 warrior and strict captain who played for his country in his whole life.

i think Miandad Sahab ka Demaagh kharab ho gaya hai .. he need some Psychatrist :hmmm:

atleast we were united not like now ( no management )

P.S. anyway .. good luk for pak team in their current situation :sunnyboy:

Miandad was never a team player. He needs some conflicts here and there. I'm just waiting him to take Indian passport. Maybe he already has applied for one. Not sure though. Thug!

Feeling sorry for Faisal? He is in the team because of mamoon. "sabas beta, single double lete lehna, boundaly pe koi na khala ho to phil bhi single double lena.... tuk tuk kaltay lehna" is more like would be the advice to him (Watch 4-Man Show on Youtube, Miandad parody).

Sorry to say this .But apart from Imran Khan all those pakistani cricket legends are jerks .They simply don't know where to talk when to talk and what to talk .Miandad obviously takes the cake .

I am starting to lose all the respect I had for Miandad, cuz of his cheapish attitude.