Talk to Imran about extremism and Taliban, and he immediately says that this problem is a reaction to American drone strikes killing innocent people. This rhetoric is widespread in Pakistan. Imran has been successful in convincing majority of Pakistanis that we are fighting America’s war against our own brethren, that this issue arose after Pakistan’s support to US after 2003, etc.
But it is plain BS. Imran just gives the pro-Taliban mindset of majority of Pakistanis an opportunity to justify Talibanic extremism by shifting blame on foreigners. After Taliban were totally exposed in the eyes of Pakistanis through their atrocities, Imran has given their hateful medieval ideology a big boost by justifying their actions as mere reactions.
He is thus playing a very dangerous game. His lust for power is moving Pakistanis further down the same abyss which has been responsible for the destruction of Pakistan.
All of the above was the introduction to ask Imran and his followers a simple question: **HOW DO DRONE STRIKES EXPLAIN TALIBAN’S ATTACK ON MALALA? **And if it doesn’t justify then how can Imran say that extremism is reaction to drone strikes?
There is another food for thought: DOES IMRAN STILL THINK THAT NEGOTIATIONS ARE POSSIBLE WITH THE KIND OF PEOPLE THAT ATTACKED MALALA?
Re: "Imran sb, do drones explain attack on Malala?"
in his recent interview he said " who will protect my workers if i criticize TTP"
So this Man in his late 50s, is a CHICKEN.
And Malala, a girl and a teenager, is a LION (lioness, you got the point).
This argument from Imran shows once more the power of religious fanaticism in Pakistan. Even a leading politician of the country can not condemn Taliban openly. And if he can not even condemn them then how can this Messiah solve the problem of fanaticism when he gets power?
I say it again, as much as people hate Altaf (including me), the guy has guts to come out openly against not just Taliban but against all religious fanatics.
However much you want him to Khoji,** Imran will not publicly criticise TTP **... that much we know
And do we need multiple threads to discuss what's already been discussed in other threads
This thread is not about why Imran is not criticizing TTP. Instead it exposes other very popular arguments Imran uses.
His calling this war America's war. His calling Talibanic fanaticism a mere reaction to American drones. And his promise to stop attacking Taliban and solve this problem through negotiations.
Imran's condemnation means nothing to me. The point I raised above are more important. Because these points give people justifications for Taliban's actions.
And even though many people are worse than Imran (like Qazi Hussain) I am talking about him because he is a quickly rising star in Pakistan's politics.
This thread is not about why Imran is not criticizing TTP. Instead it exposes other very popular arguments Imran uses.
His calling this war America's war. His calling Talibanic fanaticism a mere reaction to American drones. And his promise to stop attacking Taliban and solve this problem through negotiations.
So this Man in his late 50s, is a CHICKEN.
And Malala, a girl and a teenager, is a LION (lioness, you got the point).
He is not talking about himself, rather protecting his workers, while Malala stood against them herself. Though, I disagree with him on this, but then as I said earlier I don't know the ground realities.
I say i again, as much as people hate Altaf (including me), the guy has guts to come out openly against not just Taliban but against all religious fanatics.
As GA said, sitting thousands of miles away. When he found his life in danger he ran away, didn't he?
has been discussed a gazillion times
Zardari's corruption has been discussed gazillion times as well. Nobody wanted to stop threads on THAT?!
This will be discussed gazillion times more unless Imran stops this nonsense. If he continues this nonsense then he will get criticized for it as well.
He is not talking about himself, rather protecting his workers, while Malala stood against them herself. Though, I disagree with him on this, but then as I said earlier I don't know the ground realities.
As GA said, sitting thousands of miles away. When he found his life in danger he ran away, didn't he?
If Imran can't even criticize Taliban in order to protect his workers, then how can he make big decisions against them in future? If everyone starts behaving like a chicken then who can confront the problem? Everyone will be sitting in their homes when Taliban come in locality doing same atrocities as in Swat and FATA.
And about Altaf running away. He used to speak against religious fanaticism and Jamaatis even when he was in Pakistan. And whether anyone like it or not, he is obviously more concerned about Pakistan's future if Taliban ideology spreads, than about his workers only.
Just closing our eyes and running away from reality will not make the problem disappear.
But it is plain BS. Imran just gives the pro-Taliban mindset of majority of Pakistanis an opportunity to justify Talibanic extremism by shifting blame on foreigners.
BS is calling anyone who disagrees with you 'pro-Taliban'. BS is saying a 'majority of Pakistanis' have pro-Taliban mindset. Voicing opinion against American intervention is NOT justifying 'talibanic extremism'.
All of the above was the introduction to ask Imran and his followers a simple question: **HOW DO DRONE STRIKES EXPLAIN TALIBAN'S ATTACK ON MALALA? **And if it doesn't justify then how can Imran say that extremism is reaction to drone strikes?
There is another food for thought: DOES IMRAN STILL THINK THAT NEGOTIATIONS ARE POSSIBLE WITH THE KIND OF PEOPLE THAT ATTACKED MALALA?
How are people like those who attacked Malala recruited and brainwashed into doing what they do? Drone Strikes and western intervention do not 'justify' extremism as you are putting it. They FUEL it.
BTW, isn't it you 'justifying' MQM's violence in every thread about it saying 'other parties also do it'?
Imran Khan will have to clarify his views on War on Terror, and come up with a proper plan. The taleban have time and again demonstrated that they are not willing to do any sort of negotiations less than their introduction of their brand of sharia. Similarly the mantra of linking everything with drone strikes (and WoT) needs to go, we shouldnt give the terrorists any benefit of doubt.
^ agreed.and what I'm thinking that IK no more in what he was in start somehow he is doing what JI want and few pro Taliban est.brains want. Come back home Immi (^ー^)ノ
This is part of the reason I don't support IK/PTI. ANP and PPP for all their faults have not shy away from going after these murderous scums & have paid dearly for it.
Btw, IK has gone from nation hero to slimy opportunist politician to terrorist apologist. Sad. :(
I say it again, as much as people hate Altaf (including me), the guy has guts to come out openly against not just Taliban but against all religious fanatics.
Lohe ke ghar main reh kar darraRon se kisi per pathar maarna boht aasaan hota hai. commentary box main beth ke match per tajziya karna aur cheez hai aur maidaan main datt kar muqabla karna aur cheez. Mere statements won't change anything.
It is not just about Altaf but about MQM. Even if we talk of just him, he was saying this even when he was in Pakistan. But in fact other leaders of MQM who are in Pakistan, are saying the same thing. For example, Farooq Sattar.
Did Altaf say anything against Zia's policies who is responsible for destroying our society's overall fabric?
Did Altaf and his party come up with strong agitation, when Musharraf was selling Pakistan's autonomy on the name of 'Sab se Pehle Pakistan'?
Whats the actual instance of MQM and Altaf on 'Aafiya Siddiqui issue'? Is she still 'daughter of the nation' for MQM like Malala or MQM had fulfilled duty towards her just by having a rally 2-3 years back?
BS is calling anyone who disagrees with you 'pro-Taliban'. BS is saying a 'majority of Pakistanis' have pro-Taliban mindset. Voicing opinion against American intervention is NOT justifying 'talibanic extremism'.
Sorry for the choice of words. I don't care about people disagreeing or agreeing with me. If this was my point of focus then I would have gone along with Imran about drone strikes and amreeka-murdabad stuff. This stuff sells easily in Pakistan.
And this is what I meant. Many Pakistanis are good Muslims, who are misled by religious clerics.
How are people like those who attacked Malala recruited and brainwashed into doing what they do? Drone Strikes and western intervention do not 'justify' extremism as you are putting it. They FUEL it.
That's the problem. Such attacks and brainwashing was in full swing even BEFORE drone strikes and Western intervention.
And such attacks and brainwashing will continue even AFTER drone strikes and Western intervention is stopped.
Therefore they are not the root cause of it.
BTW, isn't it you 'justifying' MQM's violence in every thread about it saying 'other parties also do it'?
No. I do not justify the crimes committed by some MQM people. I say that others do it too. And I have to say it because people only accuse MQM of violence in Karachi as if it does it in vacuum and is solely responsible for it.
Just take a look at any thread you just mentioned. How many people accused any other party of violence besides MQM?
Did Altaf say anything against Zia's policies who is responsible for destroying our society's overall fabric?
Did Altaf and his party come up with strong agitation, when Musharraf was selling Pakistan's autonomy on the name of 'Sab se Pehle Pakistan'?
Whats the actual instance of MQM and Altaf on 'Aafiya Siddiqui issue'? Is she still 'daughter of the nation' for MQM like Malala or MQM had fulfilled duty towards her just by having a rally 2-3 years back?
What does it all have to do with discussion at hand? You only seem to be interested in digressing the topic of thread. If I follow your lead then the topic of the thread will be lost.
The reason I mentioned MQM was clear. It came out clearly against fanaticism in this case while people like Imran didn't.** This thread is not meant for MQM, Altaf, and its policies over the years**.
Muqawwee, you should know better. Just take a look at your posts. They are all about MQM. You are the one not discussing the main topic ... along with some other friends of ours.