I think he has a point when he says ''It all boils down to strategy and where Inzamam-ul-Haq lacks, Woolmer fails to compensate," he said. “Woolmer muddled things and it’s amazing that he has failed to find a suitable opening pair in two years. Pakistan is still the most dangerous team after Australia but they are losing one-day matches despite having world-class talent.”
If anything our fielding has gone from bad to worse in the last 6 months. It was n’t exactly specatuclar even under Imran’s captaincy. So I don’t know if we will ever improve our diabolical fielding. Ian Chappell once said that Pakistan concede 150 runs to the opposition because of bad fielding even before the start of a test match. I think we can safely say that in one-dayers we make our job even more difficult by gifting 25-30 runs on average to the opposition.
Khan sahib is not against Inzi but he is pointing out the lack of strategy done by Inzi and co. He infect favours Inzi the world class batsman and one of THE BEST of our times. He even rejected the idea of Rashif Latif that Inzi should retire from test and should only concentrate on ODI in that same article. Rashid Latif should keep on sucking the pacifier he's yet to be matured.
the point about poor strategy by inzamam is to be noted here.the problem is that inzamam is not going to do what woolmer tells him to do,he is too stubborn for that so its not woolmers' fault.i am sure woolmer is much brighter than inzamam and would not have supported some of the stupid decisions that inzamam made all through out the series.fielding was bad in one match, but i think akmals bad keeping was what cost pakistan more and its more of a concern.
^Imran Khan does think younis khan would make a better captain...so he is against him in that sense...ofcourse inzi should'nt retire,he is a great batsman,but to have him continue on as captain is not helping Pakisan.But the problem with players in Pakistan is that they are too big headed and if inzi is fired as captain he would probably refuse to play.
I am not a great admirer of Inzi's often goof tactis on the field. He just does n't seem to be switched on half the time. Having said that I would like Inzi to carry on playing as a test batsman until 2008/9. He deserves to be given a chance to complete 10,000+ test runs. His form and fitness and not his age should determine when he retires.
It has been about three years now and if we stroll back in memory lane and read comments by Imran, Javed and others their main point is that Inzamam and Woolmer needs to have a strategy. I give credit to Woolmer that he is great coach and can help players develop and bring harmony in the team but he has to establish a Pakistani team, One day and Test wise. We really cannot expect anything from Inzamam; we know he is not Imran, Javed or Wasim who will make strategies before a series. Inzamam will listen to Woolmer and he really needs to work on it. There has been so much of shuffling through out these years that we have lost count of how many openers we have seen. The only constant is our middle order that have come miles in last three years. Mainly they or great individual performances have won previous series. I take the injury thing but it mainly concerns with Shoaib…
I have no idea what Woolmer is thinking about World Cup because there are so many bowlers and batsmen that have become freeloaders, they come and stay forever and than they leave. We defiantly have the talent and ability to have a strong team with a solid bench. When is it going to happen is big question?
no phadda…like I said..he thinks he is INZI’s wadda mama…
meaning he brought him to cricket so he can keep being his freelance mentor in public…
I don’t even know whether INZI dislikes it even…I mean if I were him, I would call IMMI and say..come one chacha jee, if you advice for me tell my directly, and if I don’t listen then tell it to the public.. just don’t know our people…
^^ Imran picked Inzi under his captaincy, one selector resigned under protest while others made him aware that Inzi had been given some chances but he is a failure. He is fat, lazy and does not have the temparament to play at the international level he was told, yet Imran picked up after watching him bat in the nets in 1991 and said this guy will play next years world cup. So I dont think there is any "phadda" of Imran's with Inzi.
Khan Sahaab aab hotey ja rahey heen buddhey. Satya gaeey hain aaj kal tu wo apney aap sai bhee unhappy rehtey hain. Politics nai unheen kaheen ka nahi chora, sarey politicians unheen topi karatey rehtey heen baad main yee ja wo ja.
Khan saahaab has to realize that Pakistan was playing the test match without SHOAIB, ASIF and NAVEED and who was playing? Khan Sahab's most loved and admired, M.SAMI. Can Khan sahab assure me that he could have win the WORLDCUP in 1992 without WASIM, AAQIB and MUSHTAQ AHMED?
As far as ODI is concerned, its FUNNY type of game, where B'DESH can beat AUS....so its always on the card that Pakistan will be beaten by opponent in some games.....
We played tests without our key bowlers (Kaneria was there), and bowlers win Tests and in ODIs team was not that bad.
Fielding was one other reason.
Inzy might not be the smartest (in a decission-making sense) person out there to stand as a captain, but he is the best option (at this time) if the need is to keep boys work as a unit.
(I guess) Akram was the best decission and strategy maker after Imran, but even he failed at times to keep the team united. (and Salim Malik was our most successful captain.)
someone who can take decissions and keep the team united (like Imran) is perfect solution, as Imran has said. But that can raise some issues as history suggests.
btw, I predict another round of nasty politics in Team in after-Inzi rea. He is the only one in the team right now who everyone respects and he can keep the team united. Once he is retired I can smell blood. Barey Barey Khilefay hein Pakistani team main.