Imran Khan - The President Of Pakistan

What are your reasons of discrediting him for being a candidate for President?

Personally, I have seriously started to believe that he has been a victim of indian fascist party operating on pakistani land MQM’s and our indian influenced media’s negative hype to denigrate his image and popularity with the Pakistani public. Otherwise he is the most honest Pakistani who has also practically PROVED that he is much capable in achieving goals than all the other candidates in sight.

He ‘feels’ the sufferrings of Pakistanis, seem to be able to lead the nation in the right direction and aims high (what Pakistani nation needs).

My only fear before elections (for PM) was that he might impose shariah law in the country (as I was also influenced by the media’s negative hype about his sudden extreme religious tendencies) which I would never like to see in Pakistan.

What was / is your concern which keeps you from seeing him as the president of Pakistan? What if zardari was to be brought down today (just liek mushy). Would you support him in leading the Pakistani nation? Myself, I would definitely go out to vote for him (I have never participated in any elections in the past) if I am assured that he would not impose the shariah law in the country and focus on making Pakistanis the most competent nation around the world (as he says). The kind of ‘change’ he talks about, if he can also give to the Pakistani people. He aims high, is loyal to Pakistan, sensitive to people’s needs and has a habit of achieving his goals too.

Does anybody know what was the real reason he did not participate in the elections?

Why cant be he our president?

P.S: “Those trying to undermine his strengths as a leader by using the MQM tactics of emphasizing on issues from his personal life as a youth, please stay away from this thread. Thank you.”

Re: Imran Khan - The President Of Pakistan

I dont know everyone afaraid of shariah law.......its all a negative hype by western minds againt Islam........shariah law is basically justice for all and i guess we dont want that........well guess what, u dnt really have to worry about the shariah law in Pakistan......thanx to ur failed democracy/leaders and public like you....Pakistan wont be no more .........soon!

IT WOULD BE DREAM COME TRUE......if he does!!
He should quit criticizing USA....make a few visits... commit (jhoot hee sahee) that he'll sell the country for a price...and in 48 hours he'll become the President of Pakistan. I say 48 hours because tomorrow is sunday..otherwise it would be 24 hours!

if he stays in power for over 5 years I will go back to pakistan.

I will start supporting Imran again if he condemns what happens today without justifying it.

he is an apologist for taleban, and the company he keeps (Hamid Gul/JI) is why people have begun eyeing him suspiciously.

Well as arjay bhai has said that would be a dream come true. It would perhaps give me even greater pleasure than our WC victory in 1992.

ek banda jo dekhney se hee honest, sincere aur capable nazar aa raha hai....so why not support and protect him

The great Jinnah would have been impressed with Imran's courage and honesty and would have happily taken him under his wing but Jinnah jaisa leader sadiyon mein aata hai, so honest, so sincere, so smart and intelligent, so well-educated, so impressive.....dil se dua nikalti hai unn k liye.

Liaquat Ali Khan was the last sincere leader we had and I mean it. Fatima Jinnah would have made another great President but was denied the chance to lead us by Ayub's myopic vision and vote-rigging. If I were Ayub I would have stepped down unconditionally, without any reservations in respect of the fact that she is the sister of our beloved founder....'respected lady, you are the pride of Pakistan, it would indeed be a great honour for our nation to have a leader like you, so I resign unconditionally as President of Pakistan' - period

I have never been able to forgive Ayub (admittedly he was better than some of the others that followed him) for that grave injustice to Fatma Jinnah and to our nation. That was a great opportunity lost by our nation.

Imran Khan is the next best hope. Sadly not only is there a great vacuum in our political leadership but also our military rulers have been a huge disappointment. I am fundamentally opposed to army rule but these dicators could have done so much for Pakistan because they had absolute power (President, PM and COAS all at the same time). Successive dictatorships instead of promoting honest, sincere, educated and capable people have only given us crooks and criminals - ZAB (Ayub), NS & Altaf (Zia), Ch. Shujaat, Soomro and Zardari (Musharraf) as rightly pointed out by ehtasab in another thread.

There, you show the same mentality as PPP followers i.e. support the Bhutto, if father is dead then support daughter, if daughter is dead support the husband of the daughter. Just be careful :). This is the case in many political parties. Once Nawaz Sharif dies his son will take over etc.

You are wrong there. She was not just his sister but a well-educated and capable leader, She was one of the leaders at the forefront of Pakistan movement. There is a big and clear difference here

Besides comparing a sincere and honest leader like Jinnah and a goon like ZAB is like comparing chalk and cheese.

PPP is all drama and naara baazi. I reiterate what has PPP ever done for Pakistan and despite the usu. sickening hype what did ZAB and BB ever do for the country? Name one real accomplishment of BB.

Read your words here:
"without any reservations in respect of the fact that she is the sister of our beloved founder"

If you are suggesting that Ayub should've left space for her own leadership skills then I'd agree with you, but in these words above you are suggesting that he should've left because she was the sister of our beloved founder. There is difference, unless you meant what you are saying now but chose wrong words.

Ok maybe I should have said well-deserving sister (her being sister of Jinnah is a bonus) of Jinnah, someone who (along with Jinnah) played a crucial role in the creation of Pakistan

And everyone knows that Ayub rigged the election to deny her.

It's only God who can save Pakistan now. No human.

as they say Pakistan largely Allah k bharosay par chal raha hai. That the country has survived this long is a miracle in itself

[quote="Ambassador1, post:126, topic:187720"]

It's only God who can save Pakistan now. No human./quote]

Amen to that !!!!!!

The problem with Imran khan is that he is very ethnicity oriented. He seems to follow the footsteps of Nawaz league, and cash on the slogan “Jaag Panjabi Jaag”

We need a leader who is capable of uniting the nation, and who is capable of thinking beyond the provincial boundaries. Empty talks, sentimental slogans, scoring votes on ethnic prejudice is exactly what Pakistan does not need.

I am no supporter of PPP, but they seem to be doing pretty well in resolving the provincial rivalry and moving the whole nation forward in a positive direction. Now that people of Pakistan have chosen PPP to take control of their affairs, I believe that they should be given a fair chance to govern, without any leg pulling and character assassination.

Let’s put our ethnic prejudice aside and support the current president. Let’s provide our government a non-confrontational environment, so it can deliver what nation needs.

revenge,i dont know why the hell educated people r such naive...there r many many people in pak who think talibans r not terrorists including me..and wht wrongs with hameed gul?..

care to provide evidence where Imran raised an ethnic slogan like that? And you are conveniently forgetting here that PPP waste no time in using Sind card if the establishment goes against them +/- when it suits them. BB's comments for instance in 1996 when Nawaz was reinstated as PM by the Supreme court.

An attack on MQM is not an attack on a whole ethnic race. Imran Khan is the only politician who is on record as having said that urdu-speaking people are the most educated people in Pakistan....and he's right there. Atleast give him credit for saying that.

That is such a lie. Just because he doesn't support that goon from Karachi, you can't accuse him to be ethnically oriented.

Considering the fact that the oppositionsis somewhat supporting Zardari government, the government can't get any better non confrontational environment. Now it is for them to act, that can only happen if they have a will to change things for the good of people of Pakistan. Now is the time that they stop making statements but start acting on them.

Kash Aisa hota:hinna:

I have always been a fan. And I have always been among those who had greatest hopes from him when he jumped into the dirty world of politics to rid it of all the dirt. I always believed him and have always been convinced he's the best (of the worst rest as Cowasjee puts it often for a certain few). And now even more than before I hope Imran Khan could lead Pakistan, since Pakistan has gone to the lower form of politicians and after these the next turn would also be with a diff yet similar breed.

However, I must say I never knew him or believed in him for his ideologies or his agendas or his manifestos; I, and millions of other Pakistanis young and old alike believed and still believe in him because he's the cleanest and the best of those available and above that he is by all means a patriotic Pakistani who has given Pakistan much more than many other self proclaimed servants of awaam. His sport career, Pakistan's rise to becoming a Cricket champion, his hospital are all highly commendable and industrious achievements worthy of a leader and social welfare worker.

In that light when he jumped into politics a few tactful swings and spins as well as suitable write-work and timely strikes were expected and desired of him by his supporters. AT that time he made an ultimate mistake of confusing politics with sport. Also thereby forgetting that there is even some politics on the playing field and a successful captain or player must maneuver successfully around it, not leave the field altogether. Besides he refused to accept the challenge presented by the dirty politics of Pakistan, which he had entered in the first place to clean. Why then the avoidance of the dirt when he had himself desired to jump into the pool which he knew was dirty?

Back in 2002 the entire nation was ripe with slogans such as 'Awaam ki hai aik hi raayi; Musharraf-o-Imran hi aaye'. It reflected how convenient it was for him to make a mark and begin a cleaning process by entering the pool of dirty politics by interning with or working as an entry-level employee under the grand master of Pakistani politcs (read COAS Pres) and beginning and learning better ways to serve the people and meanwhile devising strategies, agendas, manifestos and ideologies to work his own way. His mistake was that he thought like cricket he was going to be the prince of politics too. The very masses he banked on rebuked. Politics in Pakistan is dirty, and he knows it, yet he refused to understand the dynamics of local, urban, rural politics and it's workings in the minds of the poor deprived hopeless and helpless people of Pakistan. And he chose to try and clean the dirty pool from outside; without diving in and playing surf along the waves or defeating the dirt at its own game.

He was too quick in opposing the powers of the time and judging them too emotionally on a scale of perfection. To say the least it was the biggest mistake in a land where nothing is perfect. As per Pakistani values even Imran's own past is not as flawless as people would have desired. He's lucky people have overlooked all the intimate stories of his personal life, because in a conservative and close-minded society like ours, such deeds are seldom forgiven by the self-righteous masses and their leaders.

His next mistake came when he refused to identify with the threats and problems of terrorism and came up with his version. everyone knew what he said; that the rots of terrorism have to be identified. Everyone believed in that theory till 3 years ago. Now with the amount of terrorism nobody wants to give a crap what the reasons are; we just want to get rid of the inbred freaks who ravage Pakistan. In adapting a different stance he again opposed the governments decisions to combat the threats and identified more with the militant bias. thereby probably gaining frowns from the bigger powers of the world.

His other mistake came rather recently when he attacked a political party and its leadership of various uncalled for traits and inciting a racist and personal feud. it brought no good other than dividing people of Pakistan yet more. And over the past 3 years he has only done issue-based politcs and has tried invain to cash in on popular sentiments and momentum gaining issues. He was against the govt when ex CJ iftikhar was removed, he was against the govt when la Masji ops took place, he was against the elections as he thought they were unfair and rigged, he's been against use of army on western borders. You name it; he's tried to cah in on it, but to little significant avail.

Lastly the fruit of all his mistakes has been the raw and aching fact that after over 10 years in politics he is worth no more than 1 seat in the parliament; after his 3rd election in the political career within 10 years he got elected only once-that too during the dictatorship that he so despised; in his 11th year in politics he again failed to make it to the parliament of the so-called democrats and missed being in company of the many democratic leaders of the two main parties that opposed and smudged him and his name in a die-hard battle of pre election allegations back in 1997; nor did he find or make any of his party members emerge worthy enough to carry his or the party's name into parliament or to any other significant arena; his image is now that of a confused rebel who's even confused about being rebellious; he has never made any solid commitment- he is so baseless at times he even sits and grins with his own worst enemies who were thirsty for his blood in the past and used every technique to ridicule him; he feels Nawaz, Qazi etc are his friends; he failed to realize who his real well wishers were and what the people expected of him; he remains sitting beside the dirty pool thinking and screaming of one day cleaning it...He can stay sitting till such time that he realizes it's a game of rugby not catch in KG with your tecaher supervising.

The sad truth is though, for the next 5 years and even more he is destined to stay out, unless of course there are any rapid changes. The game of catch has initiated between Nawaz and Bhutto-Zardaris yet again. Where he comes into the larger scheme of things is a fact not many can deny. While the public grinds its teeth watching the man they believed was the one to change their fate sit ldly.

We can believe in him all we want, we can trust him, support him, hope for him, wish for him to be PM or President; but the question is, what can we the helpless Pakistanis do when the man cannot maneuver himself wisely enough to land into the corridors of power and at teals begin doing something good for the Pakistanis and their Pakistan rather than just sit, watch and feel disgusted at the dirt. What good are his credentials if he can only talk and never do anything.

STILL, after Gen Musharraf, I always did and will believe he is the best we have. Now that Gen Musharraf is out, no doubt we don't have any leader of his caliber and tact around, I believe, hope and pray like always that Imran Khan can somehow someway rise and lead and eve Pakistan. Even when gen Musharraf was around I echoed the "Musharraf-o-Imran hi aaye..." *slogan and now there's only Imran left in the picture I really hope *"Imran hi aaye" because with the Nawaz and Zardari-Bhuttos are the real wolves everyone forgot existed and mistook them for pious lambs. But for Imran's rise to happen, there's going to be war between Imran and Qazi, Zardari-Bhutto and Nawaz. How could they let their hard earned and controlled sections of society fall prey to the westernized, pro-Jew, playboy and illicit father become powerful in their Pakistan. Recall months following the elections in 1997.

Still hoping against hope, for Pakistan, he is the best medicine right now and I hope he can do somehting. Long live Imran Khan! I'm still willing to be his tiger!

Imran's strong point - He is a STRONG individual
Imran's weak point - He is a strong INDIVIDUAL

Imran is a loner, the samana from Sidhartha. Loners are good to start new ideas. But you need TEAM to accomplish something.

The bigger the project, the larger the TEAM.

He needed 12 men to follow him so he could win the world cup.

He needed less than hundred or so (hardcores) to follow him so he could build Shaukat Khanum.

He needs 10s of thousands active and honest followers so he could clean up Pakistan.

And that my friends hasn't happened. Most of his supporters are either foreign born confused desis or local born desis from elite schools. Such a motley crew of followers can get you some headlines in the blogosphere for sure. But it won't help you win the hearts and minds of Middle-Pakistanis from Pak's heartlands.