Imran Khan says Taliban's 'holy war' in Afghanistan is justified by Islamic law

Re: Imran Khan says Taliban's 'holy war' in Afghanistan is justified by Islamic law

Taliban are not aliens who landed from Mars after Soviet left Afghanistan.

Of course you will ignore the point when it does not suit you, am I surprised? No.

Because you did not get the point (as I see you don't even want to get the point), I am not supporting "Taliban" rather the fight to get their country back, simple.

This is nothing but extension of the same since you don't get the first point, you will miss the next few points too, so until you get the point 'freedom from invading country is my right' you won't get subsequent points. The tribes who joined "Taliban", why are they not leaving Taliban and joining US forces/US backed government if what US is offering is "so good"?

Re: Imran Khan says Taliban's 'holy war' in Afghanistan is justified by Islamic law

Elections are near. Its open season on IK and PTI....nothing surprising.

I saw the press conference that IK did in which he mentioned about jihad. Fact is, the local fighters are fighting against the US for freedom. If we consider a planted govt of Karzai to be the legitimate representative of Afghanis, then all we have to do is wait till the NATO forces are out of Afghanistan, and then see how long Karzai lasts.

As for Pakistan, Imrans statement was plain and simple. His argument is that there are terrorists in the region. But the indiscriminate bombing is even turning local friendlies into enemies. He wants a cessation of drone attacks and miltary action in order to salvage the goodwill of the real tribals. Once that is done, the terrorists can be driven out. Noone paid any attention to IKs statement about the tribals arresting and handing over terrorists to the Pak Army. Everyone is having political orgasms at his mention of Afghan war being a jihad. Maybe it was a wrong choice of words, but it was not incorrect.
We Pakistanis like to dwell on meaningless fodder that will fuel our hatred for our opponents. The country has gone to the dogs in the past 5 years, and all we care about is the statement of a politician who is not even in a seat of power.

Of course I ignore points that have no relevence to the topic at hand... Its called staying on point...

Freedom for my country is not your right, if your the invader yourself. Only a legitimate govt can claim they are defending their right to rule.

If you yourself are the oppressor, then have no right to rule.

See at the end of the day, it comes down to the fact that the Taliban were terrorists, and they oppressed the people who were forced to live under them. Under such circumstances, they arent fighting to save their country, they are fighting to re-enslave their people. America liberated those people. Why should we support those criminals. They forfeited their right to Afghanistan the day they began their oppression of the people they ruled.

Criminals have no right to claim anything. They stole Afghanistan and abused her people, why should they have any claim over it now?

No, not at all. The Taliban that we're talking about were nowhere on the scene until 1993/4 when ISI decided that it needed to reconquer Afghanistan for strategic depth. The video you posted is from late 70s during Carter admin when even Russians weren't in Afghanistan. Soviets left Afghanistan in 1986 fyi.

Re: Imran Khan says Taliban’s ‘holy war’ in Afghanistan is justified by Islamic law

No one is asking for any “wish” to be granted. And it’s you who are actually making it personal, first in post 48 by taking my statement out of context and questioning whether I “did not bother to note the point.” And now once again by putting words in my mouth here…

Defenders = those who are or would defend the patently inappropriate statement of Khan that is the topic of discussion of this thread. What I said is not a blanket indictment against PTI’s supporters in general. I didn’t even use the phrase Imran Khan’s supporters. They are not zombies; of course, they are expected to take exception when the person they support is wrong.

Agreed. I did not suggest that either.

Its kind of strange...I dunno if you guys are defending IK or Taliban, but the same day IK defended Afghan Taliban, criticize army and the govt... Taliban attack police station and killed 6 policeman beaded local police chief took his head as a trophy. Can he be trusted with nation's security if he scared of Taliban?

Re: Imran Khan says Taliban’s ‘holy war’ in Afghanistan is justified by Islamic law

Yes, indeed Pak has a long unfortunate history of meddling and interfering in Afghanistan. No wonder the Afghan “brothers and sisters” hate Pakistan so much. However, as the saying goes, once bitten twice shy. So rest assured that Afghans don’t want to revert back to the dark ages. They have, after all, as much right of–and as much appetite for-- freedom from terror and religious bigotry as well as for economic prosperity as anyone else. And they know they won’t achieve any of that by becoming a dumping ground or a source of “strategic depth” of their eastern neighbor.

By same token Afghanistan has an elected & internationally recognized government. The international forces are there with consent of Afghan govt. Are Taliban a govt? Who do Taliban represent?

They were a distinct faction from the warlords who fought the Soviets. They were Afghans fighting under the guise of Islam, against other Afghans.

You are right if we see the elections in the light of Aslam Raisani's theory — election to election hota hey, chahey asli ho ya naqli. Otherwise you know the reality of both the elections that brought Karzai to power. Discussion on the legitimacy of Afghan elections could be another topic.

Let me sum up the crux of this thread:

Are Taliban waging a jihad in Afghanistan? — Yes

Should Imran be commenting on this fact? — No

So who was the 'legitimate' govt from 1980-2000? Since per your claim there was no legit govt, who should resist invaders? These were the same 'illegit' invaders who were loved, hugged by western world against Russia.

oh bhai sahib, we are talking about Afghani Taliban's right to resist invaders, not TTP.

What about US involvement in Afghanistan, when they nurtured the same "terrorists", same "guerilla commandos", same "mujahideen"?

Against other Afghans who support outsiders, also against fought against outsiders.

They're not fighting Pakistan.

No, they're not. What you, PTI, IK call jihad is what rest of the world, including Pakistan, calls terrorism. Btw, please explain to me suicide terrorism is bad in Pakistan, but good in Afghanistan? Destroying girls schools, and banning girls education is bad in Pakistan, but good good in Afghanistan? How? This is not jihad, but terrorism spread by backward cavemen ideology of Taliban and their supporters. Sadly, IK/PTI are supporting Taliban.

care to explain?

Please dont use religious terms if you dont have believe on islam,quran and our deen.

Care to explain why it is not jihad, i am asking this 2nd time in this thread :) .

That was never a Jihad , In Pakistan and Afghanistan every one used name of Islam for gaining power . It was an international war since Zia started it . It is a war for power .

This is your opinion, prove it from your religious texts.

Your deen not our deen.

why don't you explain how the freak that was called jihad in Afghanisntan when it's proven by history that Taliban are created US/Pakistan/Arabs?

How can these lunatics with huge going-everywhere beards and the goat-lovers called Mujahideen when most of them have no basic education of either religion or worldly knowledge?

lets finish this unending debate shall we?

Stay clam , if you cant answer me then blame your eduction rather then my question, no need to stoop low to start mud-slinging.

It is me who has asked first and it is the other lot that is claiming that the afghan jihad is nt jihad, so why dont have guts to prove it. I will be giving my input on jihad over there.

My religion dont teach disrespect, yours do, waisay i will be in faisalabad after eid, see if you can say this infront of me. :) .

I hope oyur business is doing well in faisalabad.

Atleast do some justice to your signature or remove it.