Whether or not Pakistan wins this match or not, Rana Naveed showed today how dedicated and hard working cricketer he is! He is a bowler with limited abilities, doesnt have great pace most of the time but he always tries his heart out. Plus he worked extra hard in the field. A real team man who has a whole long queue of haters ready to pounce on every possible oppurtunity, he keeps them at bay. He will go for runs again, but he will try no matter what.
Definetly...even though before the VB series...I wasn't too sure about his bowling abilities...but I always said he gives his 100% in all departments...and now he's proving to be Pakistan's top bowler :)
Rana is the main man, he is what we have been missing in this team, he has the pride the passion and the commitment he realises his limitations and tries extra hard no wonder his sheeer joy when he succeed is a pleasure to watch
A big part of our two consecutive wins are cuz of Rana... I wish all our players were as enthusiastic and committed as he is... not to forget he was carrying an injury after his first two wickets today and he still fielded well and bowled well.
if a player doesnt do good in a match then everybody will go he is a bad player and kick him out.
if a player does good all of sudden, then he is impressive and all.
this is how we treat most of our players.
the pcb and the pro players and selection team isnt dum, they know kis ko game mai khilana hai and kis ko nahi, aur ham idhar bethain peshan-goyaN karte rehte hain.
though "dumb me" missed the match but thumz up for RANA G. I am getting impressed with him. He has bowled very well since shoaib choora has left. I think we have some good bowlers lik enaveed, rao and khalil is ok too. all can swing and bowl yorkers. we dont need ny actor no more. This is a perfect world cup team getting trained for next years world cup. You see, since choora has gone, the team moral is up and they are doing well. Before, they were to rely on fast bowling of choora who never lived up to expectations so better be w/out him. Rana was also impressed with choora and tried to bowl faster and faster that led him to be ousted very soon. Allah nay dua sunlee or choooray ko bula liya. Alhamdolilla.
Another thing is that Rana may not be an accomplished player but he has his own virtues, which I believe were over shadowed by the Showman Ship of Shoaib Akhter, and by the Fans dependence on him, now that he is out of the equation (Temporarily) Rana has the opportunity to show his potential.
The unfortunate part is that once Shoaib is back Rana and the likes of him will be sidelined again, reason being Shoaib is a strike Bowler, if he breaks through in the initial overs the other bowlers feel an inferiority complex and if Shoaib does not get a break through, its even worse, the players feel ke yaar agar Shoaib ko wicket nahi mil rahi tou hum kiya cheez hai.
I dont mean to take anything away from Rana, just calling a spade a spade.
I will agree with you but I , for one, have always been supportive of Rana just because of his attitude and whole-heartedness. If you look closely, I havent commented on his bowling success today as such but commented on his attutiude in the field throughout the tourney.
I am one of those wuilty of hating rana in the beginning. I think niker G said it right. We tend to not like who performs bad. (dah! obviously, they are paid to perform) He was in the shadow of Shoaib choora and since that curse is lifted upon thee, Rana is back in form. I think disregard, choora comes back or not, Rana should be the attacking bowler. It will give some sense to choora and more confidence to rana. It will be great for pakistan to do that. They should appreciate him not just that oh when shoiab is there, you are nothing.
I m certainly impressed with his yorkers, swing in his bowling and very good positive sportsman character throughout the game. Also very supportive batting by him as someone mentioned above. I hope management will understand that they should not abondon rana when choora comes back. PERIOD.