Importance Of Caste In Marriage

Re: Importance Of Caste In Marriage

^ casting doubts on this issue

oh, i didnt know that. thought they were. im sure they are coz ive googled it (so reliable lol).

Arians aren't a caste neither are Jatts, the first one is a clan and the later is a confederacy of different clans -Pakistani people confuse 'caste' with ethnicity/clan, they aren't the same...

Okay, I'm confused now- what is a cast? Clan? Confederacy of different clans? We're Gujjars (Takkurs) who have lived in Punjab forever. What is our cast/clan? My ancestors had the Takkur/Takkurain title whereas over time, the men have the prefix Chaudhury :S

Double post

Ok and why shud that affect me? I have to marry so it should be my preference, i dnt give a care about what "refined" people like you may say or feel.

And with your above comment and unability to take another persons opinion, you really showed what your refined kind must be. No further comments!!!

Thank-you! You understood it perfectly fine.

Funny how people having issues with "caste systems" cuz oh its such backward thinking are actually proving theirself to be backward to the core by having such narrow mentality and lack of tolerance for someone with a diff opinion.

Oh its such a crime to look for comfort and ease by finding someone with similiar lifestyle but its perfectly fine to dish out for rich, taller, handsome guys!!!

great logic.

Its not about me not being able to take your opinion. LOL. The caste system is basically entirely ALL opinion and not an iota of real fact.

The way you feel about your caste is exactly how others feel about their own. You feel you're more loud and fun and lively and others feel that's a synonym for...a zoo I guess. No offense of course.

If you feel you're better than most - there are plenty more out there who feel they're better than you. Sabse oonchi zaat to nahin hai na? Kisi se neechi to hogi? And that mentality is exactly what I have an issue with. Your caste is your zaat. Zaat creates differences among already existing differences. Its unnecessary and a burden on society that just keeps being peddled around as if its holds any merit or value. Its exactly like the concept of jahaiz. Backward.

Lifestyles are not matched by caste - they're matched by upbringing, culture, education, language, etc etc etc.

Hmmm...not sure what you're referring to but looking for a rich guy is seen as equally shallow.

If you want to find a match - try to **be **his match based on things you can control and take credit for. Being from a particular zaat is not a qualification. Its like being born with a birth defect - can't take credit nor be blamed for it.

When I read Harry Potter I realised my family were the Malfoys. Awkward.

I don't believe it caste marriage, but if I dont I'll probably make my family be looked down on. Feels bad

What does lifestyle has to do with caste? Lifestyle has more to do with culture than caste. Hope we understand the difference b/w 2

One minute silence for our yet unknown brother

where and when did i say i am better than most or for that matter my caste is? I clealry mentioned my preferene for my caste doesnt mean its better than the rest.

anyways this is where this discussion ends for me!

In my opinion, it does! Simple.

[quote="“ZareenKhan, post:32, topic:327460"”]

In my opinion, it does! Simple.

Good for you! even simpler :slight_smile:

Caste or zaat does not matter to me or my family but i would preferable not marry into any "Qabaili" family or any feudal family. The cultural differences are too much to handle.

8/10 people will say that caste doesn't matter but in still in the end they end up marrying in the same or related caste.

As it should.

You mentioned your caste is known to be more hospitable, lively, etc. More than who?

Hospitality is part of tarbiyat...it has zilch to do with caste.

Pakistanis don't really follow a caste system ffs

Reminds me of a convo with a friend recently. She is a Shia Syed, Urdu speaking. Her mom is looking for a rishta for her older brother, age 30, who resides in Toronto. I just casually suggested a mutual friend of ours, also Shia Syed, but Punjabi. Our friend, permanently lives out of Pakistan, has done Pri sch to Uni abroad and works for a renowned bank now. An amazing girl, someone who I really look up too.

My friend replied saying her parents wont be keen on the on this suggestion at all because our friend is a Punjabi. She meets the Shia Syed criteria but not the Urdu speaking part. I asked my friend if it really would make her difference, since both her bro and our friend dont even live in Pakistan and actually speak Urdu and are not as typical as our parents' generation. She replied saying ''bohot farq hota hai yaar, qaafi cheezein different hoti hain tum shaadi karogi toh pata chalega.''

Khair, my 22 year old good friend abides by this caste thing! Uff.

And so do my parents, unfortunately. Parents and their families are Syeds and dont mind marrying their kids into a non Syed family, but will definitely prefer an Urdu speaking family to wed their kids into.

Me? I dont have much comments. Will wait and see.

I never get that bit. I mean what's a pure bloodline, it's not like for 1400 years all the first cousins in the prophets family have been getting married to each other. And another thing ppl emphasize on is the sons carrying on this tradition, although the prophets lineage was followed through by his daughters as he never had any sons who survived. I think it's this really outdated custom that's going to die out in a couple more generations and then our kids won't even know what "caste" they belong to.
In the olden days it might have made sense since tribes had peace treaties and things like that with each other. Nowadays as long as the families are cordial to each other , it doesn't matter where they come from. I mean if u have b*tchy in laws from the same caste how's anything going to help u.
Btw my marriage consists of a syed and Punjabi/Pathan/Kashmiri mix. So smashed a bunch of stereotypes right there.