Re: Import a husband from Pakistan?
Well, make sure he undergoes a desi-orientation!
I am sure it used to happen alot more but not so much these days. I personally dont know any ABCD to have married and brought a guy here but i know of a few green card holders who have done that. Some relatives in my family believe desi guys in america are "lafangay" so they went back to Pak (my husband had been here for a few years before we got married and he is the shareefest person ever so i can vouch that not everyone is a lafanga :D ). One girl waited 5 years to get her husband here. She has two kids and spent half the time here and half in Pak. Her husband finally is here and is going to take his USMLE's soon.
The other one was also a doctor and is currently doing residency. He is actually now putting his wife through medical school now.
I think it is to each his own. I personally would have not agreed to it and neither would have my family.
so many negative responses!! c'mon okay, so say a guy wants to get out and you support him initially, it is still possible that he may make a good husband and eventually get a suitable job if he has the right qualifications, no?
I don't know...it kind of depends on his age, how flexible he is, how he can handle the cultural clash, how he can adapt to the western way of living.
Sorry kid , am not your type ![]()
so many negative responses!! c'mon okay, so say a guy wants to get out and you support him initially,** it is still possible that he may make a good husband and eventually get a suitable job if he has the right qualifications, no?**
50/50 chances. You can't say for sure. There will be some difference between you and the guy back from home. If not professionally but then mentality. Very rarely you will find guy coming from pak and adjusting exactly the way you would want to be. There will be some compromising from your part mostly compare to the guy. He will complain about leaving everything behind even though it was his decision.
If you are one of those girls who can compromise on anything except having a husband being as a fob with loads of degrees in hands then its bit difficult.
this is true good and bad ppl are every where ....u cant say all the pakistani boys r fraud.....actually marriage is kind of a gambling we cant really say this guys would turn out bad or good....only Allah knows better..........so jus believe in Allah n keep pyraing to him he never refuses his ppl...
But you can't just marry someone blindly as well. Just because one belongs to Achay Khaandan doesn't mean you will be able to live happily after without anything in common.
Abey seedha kiu nahi kehtay… “Sorry, you are outta my league”, ![]()
Hmm ok, my initial reaction to this thread was hell no! But actually I have to say it very much depends.
I think if the guy was from a family that was accustomed to travelling to 'western' countries, and if he to had travelled a great deal and seen the reality of life outside pakistan, if he had the type of qualification/or job that could be translated in the UK or US etc, and didn't have unrealistic expectaions of life outside of pakistan - then yes!
However if the guy or his family hasn't really travelled much, the guy isn't educated to the 'correct' standard to get a job overseas, and is from some village rather than a bigger city - then the answer is no!
I think these stories and instances of the guy using the the girl as a passport probably occur more when the guy has no other means to travel and set up life outside of pakistan.
It seems to be all the rage now. According to an aunty, "achey achey khandaanon ke larkey baahir ana cha rahey hain" ... due to the fact that Pakistan is going down the drain.
So how do Pakistani guys think nowadays? I can't say I've met very many (apart from my cousins who are exceptional and taken )
Keep it simple. Ask for their resumes and look for the following schools
Art / Design
1. National College of Arts, Lahore
Business / I.T.
1. Lahore Uni. of Management Sciences (LUMS), Lahore
2. Institute of Business Administration (IBA), Karachi
Engineering
Health Sciences
1. Aga Khan University, Karachi
Stork, UET is a big no! lafangaz and badmashes flock that place. catty im making a biodata just for u.
Yeah true - just to be on the safe side. Lets take UET out. Catty if you're going for purely westernized dudes then -
Art / Design
1. National College of Arts, Lahore
Business / I.T.
1. Lahore Uni. of Management Sciences (LUMS), Lahore
2. Institute of Business Administration (IBA), Karachi
Engineering
Health Sciences
1. Aga Khan University, Karachi
i dont think any pakistani (visa hikers) are interested to go to tajikistan lol
yes i agree all pakistanis are not bad but the way they asks about rishtas is
taken as to settle here. if i have a daughter i would slap them as soon as i hear humaray larkay ko rishta ker kay lay jao.
I know people who have imported husbands frm Pak and I guess its because parents used to believe that men frm Pak are going to be better husbands because of how their parents are raised.
Nowadays, you can find a guy here who can be the same way though.
let me tell you, i know of a few girls who got married from pak. and once the guys came over, it was like a big candy shop to them. in pak they cant openely go up to girls, but here they have all the freedom, ya know wat i mean........
just make sure u know the guy and his family well,
iam sure there will be long que for this to marry you and settle in pakistan but after few months or years later they will force you to come back with them. i wish all your dreams comes true
ya... and funny thing in this rishta was that they didn;t even asked for my pic... they have never seen me... not even in bachpan... and he was all ready to get married to me. idiots.
someone said the right thing here.... marriage is a gamble... coz even u can trust guys living in the same country as u are.... i have seen so many cases here.... where both the girl and the guy have been living here for ages.... but they act like morons.........
Yeah true it is a gamble, but the risks are probably higher when 'importing a hubby' as I reckon I'd probably be able to do more backround checks on the guy if he was here, plus at least you know that he's not marrying you purely for a passport, as he already has one.
True true true.
I've heard of that. Apparantly guys from the UK are a no-no.
Well! My husband is Pakistani born and brought up and never left the country (yet) and all my life I had been running away from an arranged marriage, because I didnt feel like getting married when i was 15. Parents wanted me to marry my fathers cousin especially to get him a visa. He is in fact gay (yes, gays in Pakistan do exist) and my parents were willing to 'help' them by using 'me' to get him over here, get his passport and then bugger off. It was a plan. I of course didnt go through with it, did lots of things to get out of it, i did and now when i met my cousin in Pakistan, i fell head over heals in love with him and when i told my parents, they didnt want to know....