i am a pilot and i am thinking of permanently settling in canada or australia. i’d request pakis settled there to plz advise me whther it is worth living there or not.
i’ve heard so many horror stories abt muslim bashing in these countries. is it safe to settle there permanently? wat abt the cultural influence on the kids? also, would canada be a better choice or australia??
i’d be grateful if somebody could guide me in this matter as i want to apply for immigration very soon.
^maddy
UK accepts pakistanis but as per my knowledge they require any commonwealth national to be in UK and should have atleast lived 3 years in UK.but I am not sure so better check this.
hey maddy, why did u remove ur posts? The first one that i read earlier was ok .
In Canada, i guess the toughest part is getting ur field job. They only like Canadian experience. People have to really struggle on that.
On ‘muslim bashing’ … there do happen some incidents (not that frequently though) but you’d probably find that in Australia as well. In future, i have no idea things would get better or even worse. But it’s not that horrible right now.
As you said you are planning to move permanently, i hope as a matter of caution you won’t totally burn your bridges back home. I mean circumstances change by time, one should have some back-up.
Cultural influence on kids … if ur kids are mature enough then it might not be that much impact. But for younger kids, parents do have to work hard. Some kids born & raised here are definitely good (most credit goes to those parents who really care for that) but many do get bad influence.
I haven’t seen Australia so can’t compare the two.
thanx curious...ofcourse i won't burn my boats...as far as canadian experience is concerned, i guess if i convert my Pakistani Commercial Pilot License into a Canadian CPL, that should do the trick. and i guess thats their requirement as well, a pilot must obtain a canadian cpl to be eligible for immigration.
guess i'll have to work really hard on my kids then...since the first one is expected in a few months :)
@mad scientist
wat happened? y did u remove ur posts? i couldnt even read 'em...
My posts had incorrect information. I had thought that if you were a military qualified pilot and you wanted to move out of Pakistan, one way to do it would be to join Britain's Royal Air Force since they accept Pakistani citizens (who are Commonwealth citizens). However, I later found that non British citizens are excluded from certain roles such as being pilots.
i wish wat u thought was true maddy!
and yes i am a military qualified pilot and also hold a CPL. i'd love to move to uk but i dont think there'd be many opportunities over there.
Opportunities in UK looks to be very confusing right now. I don't know if someone could come up with a more realistic percentage of chances to have a decent life in UK.
Different people will tell you different things about moving to Canada… overall, the job market in general is saturated, but there are prospects for someone who has something to offer above and beyond the average candidates. Check out this thread for some discussion on prospects, expectations and reality from the point of view of various Canadian guppies: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=206752
In terms of a career as a pilot, I have a friend who is currently a CPL and is training to be an ATPL. In my last conversation with him, he went on about saying how in order to find a decent job, he has had to up his credentials from those of just a pilot to something on top as well. Most regional airlines and corporate service providers are seeking people with secondary skills in management or engineering. He did a mechanical engineering diploma from a community college last year, and this year, he’s already qualified for additional flying ratings – I think he got his VFR Over the Top just recently but I might be wrong.
You should be prepared to apprentice for a couple of years in order to gain that “Canadian Experience” that everyone here’s talking about. So you might have to do some bush flying, instructing or flying for air taxi turbines before you can get onto commuter airlines or better.
Lastly, Re: Muslim bashing, the problems aren’t as bad as in some other parts of the world. Implicitly, there still may be some discrimination going on and may require perseverance to overcome such biases. That being said, there’s a large Muslim population in the major cities and ample opportunities to provide a good religious education to children.
@Umar Talib
i know its really hard these days for pilots to find decent jobs. but since i'm only 25 yrs old and if life permits have a long way to go, i hope to 'up' my credentials in a few years time while flying smaller aircraft. maybe later i can move on to bigger ones. i'm sure these small time jobs pay enough to allow me a modest living. thanx for the link to the other thread.
@legbreakgoogly
i've already served in the forces for 8 years (including 3 yrs training) and i think its time to move on. my 3 brothers are also serving in the forces and father also dedicated his whole life to army. maybe enough of 'serving' has been done now its time for us also to look for greener pastures.
watan ki khidmat sirf hamari duty to nahin hai na.
besides there are many ppl already serving the country and many others who aspire to do so. i see nuthing wrong with wishing for and trying to have a better future for urself and ur family. who doesnt want his children to have better opportunities in life.
if they have trained me then i've also served with full dedication and done well in the airforce. now if i want to live a better and more prosperous life, its my right to do so.
MIA pra, assalam-alikum. Please stay in Pakistan as there are many oppurtunities in Pakiland itself yaar. Why do you want to move to a foriegn country leaving your motherland and friends? Pakistan econony is fastest growing in the world now. Living in non-muslim countries could be very difficult for you plus if you get married, there's more security for your wife in Pakistan compared to the west.. Khair, apki marzi.
MIA, plz ignore this fellow, he has no idea what he says.
Hain? I recently read in a news magazine that Pakistan's economy was poised to grow at 10% or so and that would be more than China, which has the world's fastest growth rate. Am I wrong? Regarding women, since girls dont wear cheap dress(mini skirt type) and go out in Pakistan compared to the west(I can't speak for Lahore and Islamabad), there is more security for girls in Pakistan.
MIA, I understand what your saying, but I simply wished to underscore that life here isnt all that rosy. I mean I was born/raised here, so cant make any comparisons, except to say that many Pakistani based ppl have tinted views of the West.
@quas
walaikum salam!
pakistani economy may be growing at a fast pace, there may be security and everything but wat am I getting out of it all? i cant even afford so many things...prices of daily use items are touching the sky...my baby would be born soon and i doubt i'd ever be able to even buy diapers n stuff for him...am i being selfish? no sir! i've seen my dad toil hard all his life in the army...wat did he get in the end? nothing much. it REALLY hurts when i see him driving a sh@#$y Suzuki Mehran. i've seen him hands to mouth all his life. i dont want history to repeat itself...patriotism and love for the country is one thing and being ambitious and striving for a better future is another. its my right to try to provide a better standard of life to my family and kids. i've had my fair share of 'serving the nation'. i have performed duties at odd hours, while everyone's asleep, for the safety of my country and my countrymen. i've thought real hard before deciding to move out of pakistan.
@curious
thanx man
@legbreakgoogly
i know life is not easy. its true. but the thing is, it aint easy anywhere in the world. whoever wants to succeed must work hard and put his efforts in the right direction. i dont expect to become rich and start having a good time the moment i land in canada. i know one has to struggle in the beginning but atleast one does get paid well there and quality of life is a LOT better.
after going through the discussion in the similar thread ( link provided by Umer Talib) i've started researching about middle east as well. so its either going to be canada, australia or the middle east.
lets see where i end up.
i'd appreciate it if some middle east based guppy could give me an insight into the opportunities there.