Imam al-Mahdi (AS)

Originally posted by The Watcher:
*Sherazz your believe that "he" knew future really contradicts with quran. ONLY Allah knows the future and unseen! Also, I don't believe that Imam Mehdi is in some cave and all that...he is yet to born. Inshalllah.

The following are the collection of Sahih (authentic) Hadith regarding Mahdi.
Hadhrat Abdullah bin Mas'ood(RA) reports from the Prophet(SAW), who said:
The world will not come to pass until a man from among my family, whose name will be my name, rules over the Arabs.(Tirmidhi Sahih, Vol. 9, P. 74; Abu Dawud, Sahih, Vol. 5, P. 207;also narrated by Ali b. Abi Talib, Abu Sa'id, Umm Salma, Abu Hurayra)
The Prophet(SAW) said:
Allah will bring out from concealment al-Mahdi from my family and just before the day of Judgment; even if only one day were to remain in the life of the world, and he will spread on this earth justice and equity and will eradicate tyranny and oppression.
(Musnad Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, Vol. 1, P. 99)

there are more hadith that u wrote here earlier..doesnt it say Prophet knows the future? if Prophet cant tell the future then what are all these hadith tellling us? He already knew what is going to happen..right buddy?

Hey Sherazz, i'm also sunni.....I don't really know anything about him, ut i haven't read everybodies replies yet, so maybe that'll help....

Prophet said that because prophets have connection of “wahii” with Allah.

Isa was also a prophet, he made the dead alive, cure the sick, would you consider him God like christians have? Everything relating to prophets is from Allah, they do miracles with the will and power of Allah.

The hadiths say, he WILL COME, it no where says he is alive or living in a cave or was born in so and so year…

You don’t believe in bukhari, how can you use bukhari as proofs to present it as references to us? I know. You take the part that you like, relating to Al-byht and disregard the others as if it were from non-Muslims?

I believe, he will come, he is YET TO BORN. He will be from family of the prophet.

Other stuff is too supernatural and mystical[sufism] which is too hard to believe, because there are no SOLID evidence or proofs from quran nor from hadiths. Thanks…take it easy.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*Priest-OF- Painful Truth*----

Originally posted by appkiamaanat:
Hey Sherazz, i'm also sunni.....I don't really know anything about him, ut i haven't read everybodies replies yet, so maybe that'll help....

aapkiamanat thats very sad that some muslims dont know the importance of Imam Mehdi..do u realise that sunnis have different opinion about this but all the shia believe in one thing only..read all the post..Imam Mehdi is from Prophets family..He will come and rule the world, His place is so high that Prophet Isa will pray behind him

Originally posted by pizza:
*Do you really believe that Hazrat Isa who is masoom meaning sinless will offer namaz behind a Bunda who will not be masoom. *

The prophet (SAW) prayed behind Hazrat Abu Bakr Siddiq (RA).

You (Muslims) are the best nation ever raised among the mankind: (because) you
advocate righteousness and FORBID EVIL, and you believe in (one) GOD (ALLAH).

(Sura: Alay-Imran; Ayat:110)

**Sitaaron Pay Jo Daltay Hain Kamand!**

Shaheen=An Eagle or A Flacon!
How come people come up with the idea that Shaheen is a "gal"????

Following is the copy and paste stuff taken from the article:
*Al-Mahdi, Muhammad ibn Abdullah & A Caliphate That Follows the Guidance of the Prophet sallallahu `alayhi wa sallam
But, Some of Its Signs Have Already Come!
A. Hijazi © 1995 *

It's a sunni belief thus I also believe in it:

Hudhaifah bin Al-Yaman reported that the Messenger of Allah sallallahu `alayhi wa sallam said,

"Prophethood (meaning himself) will remain with you for as long as Allah wills it to remain, then Allah will raise it up wherever he wills to raise it up. Afterwards, there will be a Caliphate that follows the guidance of Prophethood remaining with you for as long as Allah wills it to remain. Then, He will raise it up whenever He wills to raise it up. Afterwards, there will be a reign of violently oppressive [The reign of Muslim kings who are partially unjust] rule and it will remain with you for as long as Allah wills it to remain. Then, there will be a reign of tyrannical rule and it will remain for as long as Allah wills it to remain. Then, Allah will raise it up whenever He wills to raise it up. Then, there will be a Caliphate that follows the guidance of Prophethood."

Then Hudhaifah said, "The Prophet stopped speaking." [As-Silsilah As-Sahihah, vol. 1, no. 5]

Al-Mahdi Muhammad bin Abdullah

All those who are gifted with sound comprehension know that the Mahdi who the Shiites are waiting for, does not and did not exist. The Muslim nation has faced numerous hardships and calamities because of this mystical belief that the Shiites carry and propagate regarding this Mahdi.

In the Shiite mythology, believing in the Imams is a cornerstone of their faith. However such mythology is similar to Greek and Persian mythology, as well as the beliefs of the other nations of Al-Jahiliyyah.

The Sunnis believe that Al-Mahdi will be an ordinary man, born to an ordinary women raised by ordinary men and living an ordinary life with the people of his time. He will not live in caves, as the Shiites believe. They are waiting for their Mahdi to appear from an alleged cave, where they claim he has been in hiding for over ten centuries.

In reality, Al-Mahdi will be an Imam and a Caliph, among other Caliphs who rule Muslims with justice. However, what differentiates Al-Mahdi from other Caliphs is that he will meet Jesus son of Mary sallallahu `alayhi wa sallam.

Also, Jesus, the Prophet of Allah, will pray behind Al-Mahdi. Allah will give Al-Mahdi the ability to righteously rule the Muslim nation in the span of a night. He will fill the earth with justice, as it was filled with injustice. He will lead the Muslim nation to the second conquering of Constantinople and possibly Rome.

A Caliphate That Follows the Guidance of the Prophet sallallahu `alayhi wa sallam

The Prophet Muhammad sallallahu alayhi wa sallam mentioned that just before the end of this world, the Muslim nation will be ruled by a Caliphate that will follow the guidance sent with the Messenger of Allah sallallahualayhi wa sallam.

Hudhaifah bin Al-Yaman reported that the Messenger of Allah sallallahu `alayhi wa sallam said,

"Prophethood (meaning himself) will remain with you for as long as Allah wills it to remain, then Allah will raise it up wherever he wills to raise it up. Afterwards, there will be a Caliphate that follows the guidance of Prophethood remaining with you for as long as Allah wills it to remain. Then, He will raise it up whenever He wills to raise it up. Afterwards, there will be a reign of violently oppressive [The reign of Muslim kings who are partially unjust] rule and it will remain with you for as long as Allah wills it to remain. Then, there will be a reign of tyrannical rule and it will remain for as long as Allah wills it to remain. Then, Allah will raise it up whenever He wills to raise it up. Then, there will be a Caliphate that follows the guidance of Prophethood."

Then Hudhaifah said, "The Prophet stopped speaking." [As-Silsilah As-Sahihah, vol. 1, no. 5]

The reason behind mentioning this Hadith here is to state that Al-Mahdi will live in the last period of rightly guided Caliphs that the Messenger of Allah sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam mentioned himself sallallaahualayhi wa sallam.

In this Hadith, the Messenger of Allah divided the history of the Muslim nation into the following stages:

1. The reign of the Prophet Muhammad

2. A Caliphate that rules according to the guidance revealed to the Messenger of Allah sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam This period is called the reign of the rightly guided Caliphs, starting with Abu Bakr, then Umar, then Uthman and ending with the murder of Ali bin Abi Talib, may Allah be pleased withthem all. Some scholars included the short reign of Al-Hasan bin Ali, the grandson of the Messenger of Allah sallallaahualayhi wa sallam These are the thirty years which the Messenger of Allah sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam stated comprised the reign of the rightly guided Caliphs [The Prophet sallallaahualayhi wa sallam said? "The Caliphate will remain in my nation after me for thirty years. Then, it will be a monarchy after that." Ahmad, Tirmidhi and others, Sahih Al-Jami` ' As-Saghir no. 3341].

3. The reign of unjust rule. This reign contains some injustice to a varying degree between one king and another. This period started after Al-Hasan bin Ali and includes the Umayyad, Abbasid, Mamluks and until the fall of the Ottoman State in the twentieth century.

This period includes all states that ruled in the Muslim World during those centuries. However, we exclude the reign of those rulers whose rule was similar to the rule of the rightly guided Caliphs, such as the reign of Abdullah bin Az-Zubayr and Umar bin Abdul-Aziz. These two are considered among the just Caliphs from among the tribe of Quraish who ruled or will rule the Muslim nation.

1. The reign of the tyrannical rule. This period started in the end of the Ottoman state and continues. We ask Allah that He saves us from the evils of this period and that we witness its end soon.

This reign includes all the regimes that ruled the Muslim World, whether imperial, party oriented, governments controlled by the disbelievers, like those after World War I, populist or republic, which all sought to deprive Allah from His right as the Only Legislator in all matters of life and religion.

When the Messenger of Allah sallallaahu `alayhi wa sallam mentioned the periods that this nation will experience, he categorized them according to the type of government, whether unjust, or that which follows the guidance of the Prophet, or autocratic and tyrannical, as we experience today.

1. The return of a Caliphate that rules following the guidance of the Prophet sallallaahu `alayhi wa sallam This period requires the Muslims to be prepared and strive for its imminent coming, by spreading the knowledge of the Book and the Sunnah and the way of our righteous ancestors, As-Salaf As-Salih. This is because nothing can resurrect this nation except that which resurrected its ancestors. Until this final period comes, the religion will become a stranger, the same way it started in Makkah, a stranger to its masters and slaves, the powerful and the weak, its women, and its children.

Those who will strive to establish this righteous period are those ghurabaa strangers as the Messenger of Allah sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam called them, who will carry this religion with knowledge, sound comprehension and determination. They will willingly sacrifice their well-being, face hardships, and persecution, with patience and steadfastness. They will follow the advice of the Messenger of Allah sallallaahualayhi wa sallam when he said,

"Therefore, hold fast to my Sunnah and the Sunnah of the rightly guided Caliphs, hold it between your front teeth! And beware of innovations (in the religion), for every innovation is a bid'ah, and every bid'ah is a deviation, and every deviation is in the Fire." [Sahih Al-Jami ' As-Saghir, no. 2549]

The ghurabaa are the ones who, by the will of Allah, will correct that which people have altered and changed of the Sunnah of the Messenger of Allah sallallaahu `alayhi wa sallam after his departure from this earthly life. They will fight in the sake of Allah and dominate those who oppose them. They will be unrelenting even in the face of those who abandon or defy them, until Allah brings about His Decree (the Hour), while they are steadfast on this path.

We ask Allah, the Praised and Ever-High One, that He grants us steadfastness on the path of His Messenger sallallaahu `alayhi wa sallam and the path taken by the companions and those who followed theirlead until the Day of Judgment.

Originally posted by Zalim:
** This point is further supported by other hadiths. For example: in Traditions we read that Imam Mahdi will be from Ahlay Bait. Here different books share different entities thus all ahadith, which clashes with other should be neglected and the one which supports should be encouraged. In this regard one expression which goes very well with the commentary of the above verse is a very well-known saying of the Holy Prophet(sa);*“ﺐﻴﺒﻟﺍﻞﻫﺍﺎﻨﻣﻥﺎﻤﻠﺳ” *i.e. Salman is member of our Household.

So at the dusk of Islam, a man from Persia will regain the old Islamic values, and this man will be Imam Mahdi.

While to my knowledge, this person has been reffered to as "Imam Abu Hanifa" (Rahmatullah Alaihe)....

I beleive in a "recruiter" coming to re-unite the muslims but I dont believe that his name will be a distinct one (as you said, Mahdi), i dont think he will be from the Prophet's family..(Watcher, how would you know?..I mean, if he (mahdi) is to be from teh Nabi's family, we should be able to trace the family linkeage TODAY! If you refer to the "syeds" I really feel for you, because I have known some Syeds who have openly admitted that its just a name they ADOPTED!)I hope u see where im gettin at...plz read my post about the NABI finding out thru ALLAH (ALLAH"S WORDS) that ISA is to come!..if ALLAH's WORDS included MAHDI, it would have been in the QURAN not the SUNNAH!

so, any disputed issue ppl?..or anything contradicting?...plz offer info...

X-communist Dear,

Coming of Imam Mehdi is a belief you will find in all of the Hadiths books(bukhari, muslims). Just because, shias are linking him to their advantage doesn't mean we should negate our belief in bukhari or muslim hadiths books. Its a universaly accepted belief, you don't have to believe if you don't want to. I don't wanna force ya.

Sherazz, read surah 53 an-najm (all of it)
verses#2-3 read> 2.your companion* has not strayed, nor has he erred,
3. Nor does he speak from [his own] inclination.

See, when Prophet speaks he speaks from the will and want of Allah. So, when he said this hadiths concerning mehdi, he made it because Allah wanted him to make it. It does not mean that he knew the future or unseen. ONLY ALLAH knows future and unseen.

Take it easy...

*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*

----*Priest-OF- Painful Truth*----*

watcher buddy,
nope, not in sahih BUKHARI..no mention of mahdi....yes mention of a man,,,but nothing about relative of PROPHET or namely MAHDI....nothing....if you would be kind enough to supply the reference from bukhari plz.

sheraaz/shah, you still havent answered any of my questions regarding this post or the others (namely : matam,bukhari,ISA/mahdi)

x communist i have answered everything..now if u dont want to believe me then there is nothing i can do about it..first of all i dont even have to bring things from ur books..we have our own..but still my shia brothers have told u many things from ur books..even ur sunni brothers have..u seem to be the only here who doesnt believe in Imam Mehdi..i told u to look it up under Ghusul ..i dont need to do my homework from bukhari..do u do it from our books?

*Sunni hadith on reappearance of Imam Mehdi (a.s) from there own books...more stuff here *
The Messenger of Allah said: "The world will not perish until a man
among the Arabs appears whose name matches my name."

Sunni reference: Sahih Tirmidhi, V9, P74

Also:

The Messenger of Allah said: "Mahdi from my family will bring about
                a revolution and will fill the world with justice and equity before
                which it was filled up with injustuce and inequity."

Sunni references:

1. Musnad Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, V1, P84
           2. Jami'us Sagheer, by al-Suyuti, PP 2,160
           3. al-Urful Vardi, by al-Suyuti, P2
           4. Kanzul Ummal, V7 P186
           5. Aqd al-Durar Fi Akhbaar al-Mahdi al-Muntazir, V12, Chapter 1,
           6. al-Bayan fi Akhbar Sahib al-Zaman, By Ganji Shafi'i, Chapter 12
           7. al-Fusool al-Muhimmah, by Ibn Sabbagh  Maliki, Chapter 12
           8. Arjahul Matalib, by Ubaidallah Hindi hanafi, P380
           9. Muqaddimah, by Ibn Khaldoon, P266

Also Ahmad Ibn Hanbal narrated that:

The Prophet (PBUH) said: "Allah will bring out from concealment Mahdi
                from my Family and Progeny before the Day of Judgement, even if only
                one day were to remain in the life of the world, and he will spread on
                this earth justice, and equity and eradicate tyranny and opression."

Originally posted by Sherazz:
**Sunni brothers/sisters: before i start with this, first i would like to ask u somthing. who do u think Imam al-Mahdi (AS) is? what do u know about him?

pristine, ahmed g....**

Al Mahdiy is true. Prophet Muhammad mentioned about him in the hadith that "He (Al Madhid) will appear and his name will be as mine (Muhammad Bin ^abdillah) and his lineage goes back to the Prophet and he will rule earth…”

Al Mahdi will come and Muslims will stand beside him. He will came as a Khalifah to Muslims and the Shi^ah and Sunnah will support him. I hope the Shi^as don’t’ think that he is from Al Shi^ah.

We believe in him as the Prophet said about him. He will be a fair Khalifah and a great leader. Let’s not go further than this, and let’s remember that Al Mahdiyy might occur at our time, and let’s remember that his army will all be pious and sincere people and that we have to be there, so we need to prepare our selves in the belief and Iman.

(O, you probably don’t want to ask Al Wahhabiah about him.. They don’t like him!!)
May Allah keep us stead fast to Islam.

Allah Knows Best.

ahmed g bhai forget wahabia, ur sunni brothers and sisters arent sure about this either..shia only means follower (Of Imam Ali)..Imam Ali is our first Imam, Imam Mehdi is our 12th and last Imam..Imam Mehdi is from Bibi Fatima..our Prophet is same so our Imam is same..but bhai why do some sunni dont believe in Him..thats really sad

agreed

jazakAllah ahmed and sheeraz bro

I will certainly come up with more references soon, Insha-Allah!

mashaallah!