Imam al-Mahdi (AS)

Sunni brothers/sisters: before i start with this, first i would like to ask u somthing

who do u think Imam al-Mahdi (AS) is?
what do u know about him?

pristine, ahmed g, ahmed, communist, cooldude, maximboy and others ..i just want to know what do u know bout Him..lets just say what my sunni friends have to say first

p.s. if u dont know anything bout Him..do tell

[This message has been edited by Sherazz (edited November 17, 2000).]

(wooh, this feels better.)
i'll be the HONEST ALIM this time,
i dont know much about him...i've heard his name from some shia' freinds and some "hari pagri waley" friends in our group....

after we're over this honesty phase, can we get back to the comparison of ISA/Quran/Mahdi???plz...thanks..

chill, relax, be patient

Originally posted by X_Communist:
** after we're over this honesty phase, can we get back to the comparison of ISA/Quran/Mahdi???plz...thanks..**

come lets talk about Isa(as) on another thread.

whoa,
relax is my middle name....
itz all good...
its just that u created a new thread to the ISA/MAhdi incident from the old thread....and i would like to get to the pt.instead of testing our honesty (although it seems like a nice start, i admit)

laterz

oh no zalim.
sheraaz opened this thread to talk about ISA/MAHDI ....what would be use of another one?

its not testing bout our honestly..i know some sunnis believe in Imam Mehdi..so i just to get everyones opinion about this first..then we can continue..so i will stop now and give the others a chance to write bout this..thanks for being patient

de nada.

** Some references from Sunni ahadith books about Imam Mehdi (a.s)**
The Prophet (PBUH) said: "We the children of Abd Al-Mutalib are the
Masters of the inhabitants of Heaven: Myself, Hamza (RA), Ali (AS),
Jafar (RA), Hasan (AS), Hussain (AS), and Al-Mahdi (AS)."

Sunni reference: Sunan Ibn Majah, V2, Tradition #4087

The Prophet (PBUH) said: "The Mahdi will appear in my Ummah. He will
                appear for a minimum of 7 or a maximum of 9 years; in that time, my
                Ummah will experience a bountiful favor like never before. It shall
                have a great abundance of food, of which it need not save anything,
                and the wealth at that time is in great quantities, such that if a
                man asks the Mahdi to give him some, and the Mahdi (AS) will say:
                Here! Take!"

Sunni reference: Sunan Ibn Majah, V2, Tradition #5083

Remark: According to Shi'i sources, the Government of Peace and equality that Imam Mahdi will establish will last hundreds of years with no rival, and
           then the day of Judgment will be set. What is mentioned in the above tradition as 7 or 9 years is related to the length of time that Imam Mahdi will fight
           to conquer the world when he starts his mission.

The Prophet (PBUH) said: "We (I and my family) are members of a
                household that Allah (SWT) has chosen for them the life of the
                Hereafter over the life of this world; and the members of my household
                (Ahlul-Bayt) shall suffer a great affliction and they shall be
                forcefully expelled from their homes after my death; then there will
                come people from the East carrying black flags, and they will ask for
                some good to be given to them, but they shall be refused service; as
                such, they will wage war and emerge victorious, and will be offered
                that which they desired in the first place, but they will refuse to
                accept it, until a man from my family (Ahlul-Bayt) appears to fill the
                Earth with justice as it has been filled with corruption. So whoever
                reachs that (time) aught to come to them even if crowling on the
                ice/snow."

Sunni ref: Sunan Ibn Majah, V2, Tradition #4082, also in the History Tabari

[This message has been edited by Cool Guy (edited November 19, 2000).]

cool guy mere bhai do minute sabar ker lo meri jaan...first lets just see how many sunnis actually know bout Imam Mehdi and how many dont..let them first answer that..then we can continue and tell them exactly Who is Imam Mehdi..just thora sabar ker lo yaar

ok

Another sunni hadith on Imam Mehdi (a.s):
In a tradition upon whose authenticity all Muslims agree, the Holy Prophet has said:

"Even if the entire duration of the world's existence has already been
                exhausted and only one day is left before Doomsday (Day of judgment),
                Allah will expand that day to such a length of time, as to accommodate
                the kingdom of a person out of my Ahlul-Bayt who will be called by my
                name. He will then fill out the earth with peace and justice as it
                will have been full of injustice and tyranny before then."

Sunni Reference: Sahih Tirmidhi, V2, P86, V9, P74-75 (There are many more.)

[This message has been edited by Cool Guy (edited November 19, 2000).]

The whole thing or concept about Mehdi has no basis in the Quran. It is therefore not an essential element of Muslim faith.

[62.2] He it is Who has raised among the Unlettered people a Messenger from among themselves' who recites unto them His Signs, and purifies them, and teaches them the Book and wisdom, although they were before, in manifest misguidance. **
[62.3] **And among others from among them who have not yet joined them. He is the Mighty, the Wise.

The verse signifies that the Message of the Holy Prophet was meant not only for the Arabs among whom he was raised but for all nonArabs as well, and not only for his contemporaries but also for the coming generations till the end of time. Or the meaning may be that the Holy Prophet will be raised among another people who have not yet joined his immediate followers. The reference in the verse and in a well-known saying of the Holy Prophet is to the Second Advent of the Holy Prophet in the person of the Promised Mahdi in the Latter Days.

Says Abu Hurairah: One Day we were sitting with the Holy Prophet when Sura Jumu'ah was revealed. I asked the Holy Prophet, 'Who are the people to whom the words And among others from among them who have not yet joined them, refer'. Salman the Persian was sitting among us. Upon my repeatedly asking him the same question, the Prophet put his hand on Salman and said,*`If Faith were to go up to the Pleiades, a man from these would surely find it'* (Bukhari). This hadith shows that the verse applies to a man of Persian descent.

This point is further supported by other hadiths. For example: in Traditions we read that Imam Mahdi will be from Ahlay Bait. Here different books share different entities thus all ahadith, which clashes with other should be neglected and the one which supports should be encouraged. In this regard one expression which goes very well with the commentary of the above verse is a very well-known saying of the Holy Prophet(sa);*“ﺐﻴﺒﻟﺍﻞﻫﺍﺎﻨﻣﻥﺎﻤﻠﺳ” *i.e. Salman is member of our Household.

So at the dusk of Islam, a man from Persia will regain the old Islamic values, and this man will be Imam Mahdi.

[This message has been edited by Zalim (edited November 17, 2000).]

"The verse signifies that the Message of the Holy Prophet was meant not only for the Arabs among whom he was raised but for all nonArabs as well, and not only for his contemporaries but also for the coming generations till the end of time. Or the meaning may be that the Holy Prophet will be raised among another people who have not yet joined his immediate followers."

You have given two different interpretations. It is clear that the second interpretation that you have cited is absolutely unfounded.

The Twelfth Imam
Imam Mehdi (AS)
Introduction
First Heavenly concealment: 8th of Rabi-ul-Awwal, 260 A.H.

Final Heavenly concealment: 10th of Shawwal, 328 A.H.

There existed a good deal of harmony and uniformity between the aspects pertaining to the births of Prophet Muhammad, the last Apostle of Allah and Imam Mehdi, the last Apostolical Imam. Just as the coming of the Holy Prophet was prophesised well in advance by the preceeding Prophets similarly the impending news of the gracious birth of Imam al-Mehdi was foretold by the Holy Prophet.

Innumerable traditions in this context, quoted right from The Holy Prophet from the glowing contents of many books of Masanid, Sehan, and Akhbar and of Shia Scholars existed. Many Sunni scholars have accumulated these traditions in complete volumes also.

*Imam Mehdi (a.s)'s Birth *

He was born on the 15th Shaban 255 A.H. in the city of Samarra. The momenton us and singluar aspects of his birth greatly resembled those under
           which the Prophet Musa was born. The birth of Hazart Musa had signalled the downfall and extinction of the empire of Pharoah, who had ordered the
           slaying of all the newly born children of Bani-Israel. The Abbaside kings were similarly apprehnesive of the continuous traditions of the Holy Prophet
           about the birth of Imam Mehdi, who was to bring about a curse to their (Abbaside) very empire. They were, therfore, laying in ambush to discover the
           birth of the Imam and to put an end to his life. But the event of the Imam's birth was enveloped and shielded by the same Divine protection and
           miraculous phenomena which had makred the historical birth of Prophet Musa. His birth remained strictly confidential and his nursery shrouded in
           secrecy except to a few devotees.

The Imam's birth had coincided with the reign of al-Mutamad, the well-known Abbaside king. He, being aware of the prophecy of the twelfth Imam's
           birth occuring in his reign, was extremely worried and anxious to trace him out.

But on the death of Imam Hasan Askari, when he was informed about the Imam's funeral prayer having been conducted by his four year old son, his
           perplexity knew no bounds.

It struck his mind that this very boy must be the Imam, but he managed to hide his inner concern at the news of the existence of the young Imam. In
           order to get confirmation that the young Imam did in fact exist, he ordered the arrest of the Imam's mother, Janab-e-Nargis Khatoon.

Originally posted by stunned:

• The whole thing or concept about Mehdi has no basis in the Quran. It is therefore not an essential element of Muslim faith.

• You have given two different interpretations. It is clear that the second interpretation that you have cited is absolutely unfounded.

I suggest you to browse the Islamic textbooks first. There is not a single person in this Ummah who deny the advent of Promised Mahdi.

If you want, I can prove it from Quran only about Promised Mahdi (and the second interpretation of this verse too) but the debate will jump beyond the topic of this thread, so for now lets concentrate on those who believe in Mahdi. The rest will be discussed relevantly.

I agree with you brother Zalim

for the first time…lol
I am thinking about agreeing with you more now.

sunni hadith on Imam Mehdi (a.s)'s reappearance
The Messenger of Allah said: “The world will not perish until a man
among the Arabs appears whose name matches my name.”

Sunni reference: Sahih Tirmidhi, V9, P74

Also:

The Messenger of Allah said: "Mahdi from my family will bring about
                a revolution and will fill the world with justice and equity before
                which it was filled up with injustuce and inequity."

Sunni references:

1. Musnad Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, V1, P84
           2. Jami'us Sagheer, by al-Suyuti, PP 2,160
           3. al-Urful Vardi, by al-Suyuti, P2
           4. Kanzul Ummal, V7 P186
           5. Aqd al-Durar Fi Akhbaar al-Mahdi al-Muntazir, V12, Chapter 1,
           6. al-Bayan fi Akhbar Sahib al-Zaman, By Ganji Shafi'i, Chapter 12
           7. al-Fusool al-Muhimmah, by Ibn Sabbagh  Maliki, Chapter 12
           8. Arjahul Matalib, by Ubaidallah Hindi hanafi, P380
           9. Muqaddimah, by Ibn Khaldoon, P266

Also Ahmad Ibn Hanbal narrated that:

The Prophet (PBUH) said: "Allah will bring out from concealment Mahdi
                from my Family and Progeny before the Day of Judgement, even if only
                one day were to remain in the life of the world, and he will spread on
                this earth justice, and equity and eradicate tyranny and opression."

[This message has been edited by Cool Guy (edited November 21, 2000).]

Who is Al-Mahdi Muhammad bin Abdullah (RA)
All those who are gifted with sound comprehension know that the Mahdi who the Shiites are waiting for, does not and did not exist. The Muslim Ummah has faced numerous hardships and calamities because of this mystical belief that the Shiites carry and propagate regarding this Mahdi.
In the Shiite mythology, believing in the Imams is a cornerstone of their faith. However such mythology is similar to Greek and Persian mythology, as well as the beliefs of the other nations of Al-Jahiliyyah.
The Sunnis believe that Al-Mahdi will be an ordinary man, born to an ordinary woman raised by ordinary men and living an ordinary life with the people of his time. He will not live in caves, as the Shiites believe. They are waiting for their Mahdi to appear from an alleged cave, where they claim he has been in hiding for over ten centuries.
In reality, Al-Mahdi will be an Imam and a Khalifa, among other Khulafa who establish Allah (SWT) Sovereignty. However, what differentiates Al-Mahdi from other Khulafa is that he will meet Jesus son of Mary (AS)
Also, Jesus, the Prophet of Allah, will pray behind Al-Mahdi. Allah will give Al-Mahdi the ability to righteously rule the Muslim Ummah in the span of a night. He will fill the earth with justice, as it was filled with injustice. He will lead the Muslim Ummah to great conquest. A Khilaafah That Follows the Guidance of the Prophet (PBUH). The Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) mentioned that just before the end of this world, the Muslim Ummah will be ruled by a Khilaafah that will follow the guidance sent with the Messenger (PBUH) of Allah (SWT).

[This message has been edited by Musalman (edited November 17, 2000).]

Zalim bhai that was awesome

i didnt expect u saying all that..JazakAllah brother

Musalman bhai speak for urself only..dont tell us what shia believe..us shia will say what we believe later

communist i hope u are taking notes..these are our sunni brothers talking bout Imam Mehdi..and u should know the importance of our Imam

i m still waiting to hear from my other sunni brothers