Imam al-Mahdi (AS)

Masha Allah sheeraz betay, buhut khoob jawab derahay ho bhai, Masha-Allah. Maula salamat rakhey tumhain. Your parents must be proud of you bro

Brother Sherazz said:
"communist i hope u are taking notes..these are our sunni brothers talking bout Imam Mehdi..and u should know the importance of our Imam" UNQUOTE

Correction, Brother Sherazz, Al-Mahdi Muhammad bin Abdullah (RA) is not YOUR Imam, at the time of his appearance he will be the IMAM / Khalifa of the entire Muslim Ummah. The Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) mentioned that just before the end of this world, the Muslim Ummah will be ruled by a Khilaafah that will follow the guidance sent with the Messenger (PBUH) of Allah (SWT). As such there will be no question of Shia / Sunni, true Islam will be established by the will of ALLAH (SWT) and on the basis of teachings and tradition of the Messenger (PBUH) of ALLAH (SWT).

[This message has been edited by Musalman (edited November 17, 2000).]

correct musalman..it will be OUR IMAM..i will go on with the detail once i hear from some more people..pristine, cooldude, ahmed g aap log khariyat say to hain na

even if somone doesnt know anything at all, they should still say somthing

thanks cool guy uncle

Maula aapko bhi salamat rakhay

Sunni Documantation on Imam Mahdi (AS)

For our respected Sunni brothers, there are six authentic collections of traditions based on the Sunni standards for verifying the authenticity of a tradition. These six books are: Sahih
          al-Bukhari, Sahih Muslim, Sahih al-Tirmidhi, Sunan Ibn Majah, Sunan Abu Dawud, and Sahih al-Nisa'i. I just quote few traditions from these six books to prove that a knowledgeable
          Sunni brother/sister can NOT deny that:

1. Mahdi is going to come in the last days to make a universal Government,
          2. Mahdi is from the Ahlul-Bayt of Prophet,
          3. Mahdi is from the children of Fatimah (AS), the daughter of Prophet,
          4. Mahdi is different than Jesus (the messiah),
          5. Jesus will be one of the followers of Imam Mahdi and prays behind him.

The following are only some of the traditions out of many, about Imam Mahdi, and are ALL traditions that the Sunnis admit to their authenticity and existence:

The Prophet (PBUH) said: "Even if the entire duration of the world's
               existence has already been exhausted and only one day is left before
               Doomsday (Day of judgment), Allah will expand that day to such a
               length of time, as to accommodate the kingdom of a person out of my
               Ahlul-Bayt who will be called by my name. He will then fill out the
               earth with peace and justice as it will have been full of injustice
               and tyranny before then."

Sunni References:

1. Sahih Tirmidhi, V2, P86, V9, PP 74-75
          2. Sanan Abi Dawud, V2, P7
          3. Musnad Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, V1, P376 & V3, P63
          4. Mustadrak al-Sahihain, by al-Hakim, V4, P557
          5. Al-Majma', by Tabarani, P217
          6. Tahdhib al-Thabit, by Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani, V9, P144
          7. Sawaiq al-Muhraqa, Ibn Hajar al-Haythami, P167
          8. Fathul Bari, by Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani, V7, P305
          9. al-Tathkirah, by al-Qurtubi, P617
          10. al-Hawi, by al-Suyuti, V2, pp165-166
          11. Sharh al-Mawahib al-Ladunniyyah, by al-Zurqani, V5, P348
          12. Fathul Mughith, by al-Sakhawi, V3, P41
          13. al-Hafidh Abul-Hasan Muhammad Ibn al-Husayn al-Sijistani al-Aburi
          14. al-Shafi'i (d. 363/974). (who said the above hadith is related by
              numerous authorities and were spread far and wide by many narrators).
              and also in the works of Ibn Habban, Abu Nua'ym, Ibn Asakir, etc.

*More sunni references *
Also:

The Prophet (PBUH) said: "Al-Mahdi is one of us, the members of the
                household (Ahlul-Bayt)."

Sunni reference: Sunan Ibn Majah, V2, Tradition #4085

As we see Imam Mahdi is from the Ahlul Bayt of Prophet Muhammad, so he can not be Jesus (the Messiah; al-Maseeh). Mahdi and Messiah are two
           different personalities but they come at the same time, Mahdi as Imam and Jesus as his follower. The following tradition clearly mentions that Imam
           Mahdi is one of the children of the daughter of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH&HF):

The Messenger of Allah said: "Al-Mahdi is one of the children of
                Fatimah (the Prophet's daughter)."

Sunni reference: Sunan Ibn Majah, V2, Tradition #4086

If it is an essential belief... why is it not discussed in the Qur'an? It is obvious that even though the said books are all filled with the cited references, but because the Quran does not make it essential to believe in such a legendry being, then it is not essential for Muslims to believe in it.

ok..now that H>ISA is mentioned by cool guy(why do i get teh feeling cool guys is just another nick for SOMEONE ELSE?) In the Quran, we are told of ONE AND ONE SOUL ONLY that was taken from the earth and not declared DEAD!. ...that would ofcourse be ISA! How does MAHDI come into the picture? Is tehre a verse of Quran that reflects upon MAHDI living for so long and yet re-appearing centuries later (notice, teh Quran does light upon such thougths for H>ISA)

so whats the deal? (and dont bother to give me al-islam.org, 'cause i dont believe in it....try to give some SOLID references plz.)

stunned, exact timing…exact approach

Guys,drop it okay?
It's a shia belief end of story.Let's move on.Thanks.

x-communist...

I am honored by the coherence in our message and timing.

stunned, let it be my pleasure.

ahmed...if you care about neither side...then dont try and stop each side from seeking knowledge, k?

in other words, butt out!

The Holy Prophet Muhammad(SAW) has prophesied about several events that will occur just before the advent of the day of judgment. Among these, Rasulullah(SAW) has foretold the advent of one of his descendants, Al Mahdi (the guided one), which will materialize when the believers are severely oppressed in every corner of the world. He will fight the oppressors, unite the Muslims, bring peace and justice to the world, rule over the Arabs, and lead a prayer in Mekkah at which Isa(pbuh) (Jesus) will be present.

Throughtout the history of Islam, a few individuals -- driven either by the desperate state of Muslims in their community or a selfish pursuit of power and prestige -- laid claim to being Mahdi and found a following among the uninformed masses who were looking for salvation from the heavens. For some of these individuals (like Bab of Iran or Mirza Ghulam of India) the claim to being Mahdi was just a stepping stone to the development of heretic sects which broke away from the fold of Islam. Thus, it is at least prudent to visit the facts of this prophecy and avoid falling pray to false claimants that will appear from time to time.

As Muslims, we should remember that the prophecy about Mahdi is one that will come to pass. This prophecy, however, does not absolve the Muslim ummah from its duty to strive in the cause of Allah(SWT), oppose injustice, and seek peace and betterment of human condition. Centuries have passes from the time of the holy Prophet(SAW) and there is a good possibility that many more will expire before the advent of Al Mahdi. Muslims who are negligent in their duty hoping for a savior are committing a grave mistake and are not following the divine decrees ordained in Quran or taught by Rasulullah(SAW).

The following are the collection of Sahih (authentic) Hadith regarding Mahdi.

Hadhrat Abdullah bin Mas'ood(RA) reports from the Prophet(SAW), who said:

The world will not come to pass until a man from among my family, whose name will be my name, rules over the Arabs.
(Tirmidhi Sahih, Vol. 9, P. 74; Abu Dawud, Sahih, Vol. 5, P. 207;
also narrated by Ali b. Abi Talib, Abu Sa'id, Umm Salma, Abu Hurayra)

The Prophet(SAW) said:

Allah will bring out from concealment al-Mahdi from my family and just before the day of Judgment; even if only one day were to remain in the life of the world, and he will spread on this earth justice and equity and will eradicate tyranny and oppression.
(Musnad Ahmad Ibn Hanbal, Vol. 1, P. 99)

Hadhrat Ali(RA) narrates that Rasulullah(SAW) said:

Even if only a day remains for Qiyamah to come, yet Allah will surely send a man from my family who will fill this world with such justice and fairness, just as it initially was filled with oppression.
(Abu Dawood)

Ali b. Abi Talib(RA) has related a tradition from the Prophet(SAW) who informed him:

The promised Mahdi will be among my family. God will make the provisions for his emergence within a single night.
(Ibn Majah, Sahih, Vol. 2, P. 519)

Hazrat Umme Salmah(RA), Prophet's wife, narrates that she heard the Prophet(SAW) say:

The promised Mahdi will be among my progeny, among the descendants of Fatima.
(Abu Dawud, Sahih, Vol. 2, P. 207; Ibn Majah, Sahih, Vol. 2, P. 519)

Rasulullah(SAW) announced:

The Mahdi will be of my family, of the descendants of Fatima (the Prophet's daughter). (Sunan Ibn Majah, Vol. 2, Tradition No. 4086)

The Prophet(SAW) taught:

Al-Mahdi is one of us, the members of the household (Ahlul-Bayt).
(Sunan Ibn Majah, Vol. 2, Tradition No. 4085)

Abu Sa'id al-Khudari(RA) narrated that the Prophet(SAW) said:

Our Mahdi will have a broad forehead and a pointed (prominent) nose. He will fill the earth with justice as it is filled with injustice and tyranny. He will rule for seven years.
(Abu Dawud, Sahih, Vol. 2, p. 208; Fusul al-muhimma, p. 275)

Hadhrat Abu Saeed Khudri(RA) relates that Rasulullah(SAW) said:

Al Mahdi will be from my progeny. His forehead will be broad and his nose will be high. He will fill the world with justice and fairness at a time when the world will be filled with oppression. He will rule for seven years.

Hadhrat Umme Salmah(RA) narrates that Rasulullah(SAW) said:

After the death of a Ruler there will be some dispute between the people. At that time a citizen of Madina will flee (from Madina) and go to Makkah. While in Makkah, certain people will approach him between Hajrul Aswad and Maqaame Ibraheem, and forcefully pledge their allegiance to him.

Thereafter a huge army will proceed from Syria to attack him but when they will be at Baida, which is between Makkah and Madina, they will be swallowed into the ground.

On seeing this, the Abdaals of Shaam as well as large numbers of people from Iraq will come to him and pledge their allegiance to him. Then a person from the Quraish, whose uncle will be from the Bani Kalb tribe will send an army to attack him, only to be overpowered, by the will of Allah. This (defeated) army will be that of the Bani Kalb. Unfortunate indeed is he who does not receive a share from the booty of the Kalb. This person (Imam Mahdi) will distribute the spoils of war after the battle. He will lead the people according to the Sunnat and during his reign Islam will spread throughout the world. He will remain till seven years (since his emergence). He will pass away and the Muslims will perform his Janazah salaat.
(Abu Dawood)

The holy Prophet(SAW) said:

A group of my Ummah will fight for the truth until near the day of judgment when Jesus, the son of Marry, will descend, and the leader of them will ask him to lead the prayer, but Jesus declines, saying: "No, Verily, among you Allah has made leaders for others and He has bestowed his bounty upon them.
(Sahih Muslim)

It is reported from Abu Hurayra(RA) that the Prophet(SAW) said:

What will be your reaction when the son of Mary (Jesus) descends and your Imam is from among yourselves?
(Sahih Muslim, bab nuzul 'isa, Vol. 2; Sahih Bukhari, kitab bad' al-khalq wa nuzul 'isa, Vol. 4)

The holy Prophet(SAW) said:

What would be your situation if the Son of Mary (i.e. Jesus) descends upon you and your Imam is from among you?
(Bukhari, kitabul-Anbiya, Chapter Nuzul Isa bin Maryam)

According to these reliable, authentic, and universally accepted narrations, Mahdi will:

Be from among the family of Prophet(SAW), among the descendants of Fatima(RA);
Have a broad forehead and pointed noise;
Appear in one night;
Appear just before the day of judgment;
Have same name as hazrat Muhammad(SAW);
Escape from Madina to Makkah where people will pledge allegiance to him;
Receive pledge and help of Iraqi people;
Fight in battles;
Rule over the Arabs for seven years according to Sunnah;
Spread justice and equity on earth;
Eradicate tyranny and oppression;
Lead a prayer in Mekkah which Jesus(pbuh) will follow in;

NOT be the same individual as the Promised Messiah (Jesus).

Good luck. Take it easy.

*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*

----*Priest-OF- Painful Truth*----

the same old story again...
guys... dont you read the posts?

why dont you give precise answers...???

X-communist,
The belief that imam mehdi was raised like Hazrat Isa and will come back is a shia one.No use arguing with them on that.
For sunnis Imam Mehdi will be a person who will be born in his own time.Get it?
You can't make shias believe that so drop it.
What does it matter who Hazrat Isa will pray behind?Nothing to do anything with Who is mehdi etc.This is as simple as that.
So end of topic.Okay?
What else do u want to know?

Do you really believe that Hazrat Isa who is masoom meaning sinless will offer namaz behind a Bunda who will not be masoom. come on , is that what you have learned so far? Only a masoom will lead another masoom. but what can I say, you believe that even Hazoor(PBUH) is not masoom(astugfirallah) according to your books even Hazoor used to make mistakes like starting namaz without ghusul or waddu, please don't you say that it is not true because i have a pakistani urdu digest which says all that.
Wassalam

There's a lot of crap in the world which speaks a lot of ....So for God's sake dont give references to some stupid magazines that u have read...

Only those who have sound refences should post anything on this form!!!

[This message has been edited by Girl from Quraysh (edited November 18, 2000).]

these ignorant people will never get it no matter what u say pizza bhai

my sunni brothers and sisters differ on this big issue..all the shia believe in one thing..so why sunnis have different things to say

watcher what do u have to say to stunned and x communist..do they know somthing that we dont?

First of all…

I am not a Sunni or Shia. I have a feeling that both are catch all terms and are not really useful guides to understanding the truth of the the advent of Imam Mahdi. Brother Sherazz, I apologise since I’m not answering your specific question. As I said, I am not too sure what the respective beliefs on the isuue of Imam Mehdi.

Again, this question is another instance of the role of the Qur’an and Sunnah. As many have you have already pointed out, it is important to derive the correct context of this issue using the Qur’an and the Sunnah.

The following is a response of a scholar on this issue. The article has been provided below the links for your covenience.

http://www.understanding-islam.com/rpr/pr-007.htm

Question:

I was wondering what the arguments were according to the Qur’an or Hadith concerning the return of Hazrat Isa and the Imam Mahdi. I was wondering what the arguments were against this theory?

Reply:

The main argument regarding the return of Imam Mehdi and Hazrat Isa (pbuh) is that their return is mentioned in the Hadith (narratives ascribed to the Prophet) literature. There is, however, no such indication in the Quran. There are a few Ahadith in Bukhari and Muslim, which foretell the advent of Imam Mehdi and Hazrat Isa (pbuh) a little before the end of the world. That is the only argument in favor of this concept.

As far as its opposition is concerned, there are a couple of arguments, which are presented against this idea. The main argument against the advent of Imam Mehdi is that none of the Ahadith, which informs about his coming have reached us through reliable sources. There is, however, no mention of his return in the Qur’an and therefore, the advent of Imam Mehdi cannot be termed as a part of the Islamic faith or considered as an element of the Islamic beliefs.

As far as belief in the Second Advent of the Christ is concerned, some questions need to be thoroughly answered before such belief could be established. Firstly, why does the Mu’ata by Imam Malik – a book of Ahadith, which was compiled before Bukhari and Muslim – does not contain any such hadith. Secondly, why does the Qur’an not mention that it is necessary to believe in the second advent of Hazrat Isa (pbuh). In fact, the Qur’an has not even mentioned anything to imply the second advent of Hazrat Isa (pbuh) at all. Lastly, had there been anything like the return of Hazrat Isa (pbuh), there were numerous occasions in the Qur’an, which would have been suitable for its mention. For example the passages which are in denial of Hazrat Isa`s (pbuh) crucifixion and the ones in which a dialogue, which shall take place between Allah and Hazrat Isa (pbuh) in the hereafter is quoted. It is actually quite interesting that the Qur’an has summarized the whole life of the Christ, some events that took place after his death and some of the events that will take place regarding the Christ in the hereafter at two separate instances and yet there is no reference to any Second Advent in either of these verses.

I hope these arguments answer your question. Please get back if any part of it remains unclear.

Amar Ellahi Lone.

Sorry about the long article. I hope you found it interesting.

This link below refers to further clarification regarding the advent of Hadhrat Isa (a.s.):
http://www.understanding-islam.com/rpr/pr-013.htm

They shoot partypoopers, don’t they?

[This message has been edited by Mr Partypooper (edited November 18, 2000).]

Bhai Dr Who, what do you believe in? is Rasool Allah(PBUH) free of all mistakes and sins or he is just like you and me fully capable of making mistakes with worldly desires.
please answer after researching your deen.
while you are at it please also let me know if Rasool Allah(PBUH) was illiterate(naozobillah) or he knew everything in this Universe. actually I will not restrict this question to only Dr who but anybody can answer it from Ahle sunnat sect.
Wassalam