Sorta offtopic but I wonder what image of God most people have in their minds
I unknowingly imagine a human-like entity and when I realise I’m forming an image of God in my head, nauzubillah, I try not to and it reminds me of someone I heard on the tele .. “if you ask a cow what God might look like, the cow would imagine a huge elderly male cow or something” =p
Re: Questions for desi atheists
Open a new thread and I will share my image of Allah(SWT).
Re: "Image" of Allah swt
Posts moved and new thread opened.
Your Image of Allah (swt)
Go for it......
Re: “Image” of Allah swt
Didn’t you dismiss that as Bull ****?
Besides that is on the assumption that it is an Abrahamic cow … Some ancient Egyptians, Romans, Greeks and Hindu cows could just have easily concluded a very lean female cow, or may be not so lean when comes to some … they think that religion is sexist …
Muzna, I opened a thread in R&S. :D (threads merged)
@ Psyah: :D Acha chalein tell us.. I would love to hear from you and Mirch bhai on this.
When you want to think of Allah (SWT) think of the Name written in Arabic …
And if you need a person to think about … then think of Muhammad (SAW) in his beauty and excellence. MashAllah.
If you need a woman figure to aspire to like a role model for sisters or a mother for the brothers … think of
Ummulmui’mineen
ok
there is person sitting in the window.. seeing car ran over an ant .. at 12.23PM 2/2/2009
There are a 200 ants in an ant university learning calculus… trying to one day crack open the secret… of black wide rolling rubber thing .. which made an ant disappear. at 12.23PM 2/2/2009
Einstein ant figure out that when ever that black thing happen there is 99.99% probability a smiler event would happen in less then second(off course cars have 2 tires)
yayyyyyyyyyyy way to go…
Psyah, that’s a good tip. JazakAllah.
Monk, y u do dis to me? :no: I’m lost! How does that relate to the topic?
No no.. you are smart cookie I wasn’t dissin you..
Those resident munker are too funny.
Peace,
**‘The Book of Virtue, Good Manners and Joining of the Ties of Relationship (Kitab Al-Birr was-Salat-I-wal-Adab)’ of Sahih Muslim hadith No. 6325
**This hadith has been transmitted on the authority of Abu Huraira and in the hadith transmitted on the authority of Ibn Hatim Allah’s Apostle
is reported to have said: When any one of you fights with his brother, he should avoid his face for Allah created Adam in His own image.
**Some muslims attribute in such way (according to the hadith) but the explanation of 'Allah SWT created Adam A.S. in His image is as under:
Some hadiths are authentically reported from the Messenger of Allah
in which he said: “If any of you strikes (another), let them avoid the face, for Allah created Adam in His image.” In another narration: “In the Image of Ar-Rahman (The Gracious).”
This does not mean Tashbih (comparison) or Tamthil (likening Allah’s Attributes to those of His Creation). According to the view of scholars, this means that Allah (Exalted be He) created Adam hearing, seeing and talking as He wishes. These are also the Attributes of Allah (Glorified and Exalted be He), for He is All-Hearer, All-Seer, Speaker and has a Face (Glorified and Exalted be He). Yet, that does not mean Tashbih or Tamthil, since the Image of Allah is completely different from the image of any creature. Rather, it means that He is Hearer, Seer, has a Face and Speaker if He wishes. Similarly, Allah (Exalted be He) created Adam A.S. in the same image; possessing hearing, sight, face, hands and feet and speech when he wants to talk.
Yet, his hearing is not like Allah’s and so is his sight and speech. His face does not also resemble Allah’s Face for there is no match to Allah’s Attributes (may He be Exalted and Glorified). Rather, they befit Him (Glorified be He) alone. The servants (of Allah) have characteristics that befit them as well. Such characteristics are doomed to extinction, defect and weakness. However, the Attributes of Allah are Perfect without defect, weakness or extinction. For that, Allah (Glorified and Exalted be He) says: There is nothing like Him; and He is the All-Hearer, the All-Seer. He (Glorified be He) says: “And there is none co-equal or comparable unto Him.”
Accordingly, it is not permissible to strike or make the face ugly.
Fatwas:
Nur Ala Al-Darb Volume 1 Chapter on Aqidah
Chapter on Allah’s Names and Attributes
The meaning of the Hadith: "Allah has created Adam on His Own Image
very interesting thread BBQ. I have never actually pondered alot over it. Like psyah bhai said whenever I think of Allah sometimes Allah written in arabic pops up in my mind or sometimes just the Haram sharif. But now that you have asked me and I have thought over it my mind just sees brilliant brilliant light that illuminates everything and makes me want to close my eyes. Even the thought gets me so overawed :)
I imagine Allah(SWT) as very old guy , very loving and caring , long white flowing beard with a smile on face sitting on a throne. One who has given everything to His kids and now watching over what they do with all that what He has provided to them.
He does not intervene till there is a compelling need to do so.
I know Allah is beyond our imagination. That is why I never saw Allah(SWT) in my dream , although I have seen Holy Prophet(SAW) in my dream.
It is limitation of my imagination that I imagine Allah(SWT) in the form and shape I do and I have no control over that.
When I was a kid, I used to imagine Allah miyan as a clean shaved, not thin but not fat, wheetish complexion old man, who is sitting UkROON on the floor, up in the sky - looking down through a dinner plate size hole at earth.
Yes my imaginations were quite detailed as of any other kid of that age ..
I always thought of him as a fair skinned man with long flowing hair and a long flowing beard.
When I was kid my brother always told me about hell and heaven and never answer whenever i asked about Allah SWT how He looks like. He told me sincerely that non have seen nor we can imagine so i never imagined.
although I have seen Holy Prophet(SAW) in my dream.
MashaAllah MashaAllah MashaAllah, I iz even more envious of you now!!
Giving Allah (swt) a shape or form is in direct conflict with the essence of tawheed. Quran states ليس كمثله شيء, meaning NOTHING is like Him. There are fundamental problems if we start giving or imagining the Creator in shapes. Upon studying the Quran one will notice how Allah (swt) has not described His self with comparisons but rather his attributes are mentioned in a sense of comparison such as the verse " Allah is the light of the heavens and earth, the example of HIS light is.........."
Here is a few traditions from the household of the Prophet Mohammad (saww):
Imam Sadiq asked a man who said 'Allah is Greater' (Allahu Akbar), 'Greater than what?' So the man replied, 'Greater than everything', to which the Imam retorted, 'Then you have defined Him.' The man then asked him, 'So what should I say?' Imam replied, 'Say: Allah is too great for description.'
Imam 'Ali said; "He who [undertakes to] describe Him has defined Him, and he who defines Him has numbered Him, and he who numbers Him has nullified His eternity. He who ask 'How?' [about Allah] has indeed sough to describe Him, and he who asks 'Where?' has indeed confined Him."
" 'Allah means that worshipped one, by Whom people are bewildered, and to Whom they are submissive. Allah is the One veiled from the grasp of sights, and the One hidden from imagination and contemplation."
[Nahjul Balagha and Kitab al-Tawhid]
Giving Allah (swt) a shape or form is in direct conflict with the essence of tawheed. Quran states ليس كمثله شيء, meaning NOTHING is like Him. There are fundamental problems if we start giving or imagining the Creator in shapes. Upon studying the Quran one will notice how Allah (swt) has not described His self with comparisons but rather his attributes are mentioned in a sense of comparison such as the verse " Allah is the light of the heavens and earth, the example of HIS light is.........."
Here is a few traditions from the household of the Prophet Mohammad (saww):
Imam Sadiq asked a man who said 'Allah is Greater' (Allahu Akbar), 'Greater than what?' So the man replied, 'Greater than everything', to which the Imam retorted, 'Then you have defined Him.' The man then asked him, 'So what should I say?' Imam replied, 'Say: Allah is too great for description.'
Imam 'Ali said; "He who [undertakes to] describe Him has defined Him, and he who defines Him has numbered Him, and he who numbers Him has nullified His eternity. He who ask 'How?' [about Allah] has indeed sough to describe Him, and he who asks 'Where?' has indeed confined Him."
" 'Allah means that worshipped one, by Whom people are bewildered, and to Whom they are submissive. Allah is the One veiled from the grasp of sights, and the One hidden from imagination and contemplation."
[Nahjul Balagha and Kitab al-Tawhid]
An addition..
"Beware of pondering over (the form and shape, etc. of) God. However, if you want to marvel at His greatness, then look at the greatness of His creation." - Imam Baqir (as)
i've since childhood been told that allahmiyan is everywhere but i dont realy get a picture in my head, i just think of heaven..