I've read some posts and some responses, I admire your desire to go to Pakistan and live there and help their economy. However, your deeper motives are less admirable.
As a British Paksitani myself I don't care if anyone dislikes me or does not accept me. We should really show these people care and compassion. There are many 'goray' up-north who are begging for hope and guidance. There is a melting pot of 3rd class whites living amongst yet segregated from the insular desi communities that on the whole are self-sufficient business owners (taxis, restaurants, clothing outlets, cash&carry, etc). Yet, we find it is okay to give our 16 year olds beamers and allow our sons to go and date white girls from the estate, then expect that they won't resent us. We need to play the game better than any social worker, any child minder, any environmental officer better than any police officer by being pillars of our communities and being firm with kindness in the face of hatred aimed at us.
We can go to Pakistan to help its economy ... however it is the not the economy that needs the boost. It is not important that the high academic achievers jump ship, but if even the poor people had a bit of moral fibre the escalating problem would cease. There you will see houses with broken roofs yet with 39 inch widescreen TV sets. Every channel blasting music. Not a cop you will find that will not take bribes. And not a family member found who will help for free.
If you go there you will either have to become like that yourself or face the music if you don't.
May Allah (SWT) always keep you in His shade and may you please forgive me.
.......We can go to Pakistan to help its economy ... however it is the not the economy that needs the boost. It is not important that the high academic achievers jump ship, but if even the poor people had a bit of moral fibre the escalating problem would cease. There you will see houses with broken roofs yet with 39 inch widescreen TV sets. Every channel blasting music. Not a cop you will find that will not take bribes. And not a family member found who will help for free.......
He didn't ask about conditions in Pakistan.
It is a much more satisfying life when you believe your work makes a difference and that can be achieved in a situation where there is room for a lot of improvement. It is much easier to stay in England and issue fatwas on shortcomings in Pakistani society than to try and help.
Instead of encouraging people who want to make a difference where it really matters, we get a lecture on why not to do anything about it.
Firstly sorry to everybody PMing me, I can't PM yet but if you send me your emails I can reply that way.
@ psyah bhai- Walaykum Asalaam- there are many people around the world looking for hope and guidance including people in Pakistan. The point I'm making of moving is not about being liked or disliked but acceptance and there is a major difference between the two. If don't get a job in Pakistan because someone has bribed their way in I can live with that but do be rejected because I'm not the right skin tone is different matter entirely.
I don't know ANY muslim parent that gives permission to thier children to go out and date white girls or boys. Secondly if a desi is driving around in BMW it's becuase he can afford to not because he's stole it, so why the resentment? May be those people should look at the Asian's who spend night and day working and they too could buy a BMW??
Many Asian people are pillars of their communities. There are a lot of people doing a lot of great things- take a look at the Bradford Curry Project.
A strong economy can alleaviate a lot of social ills. Many Pakistan's problems are due to this, the bribery, litracy rates, diseases, electricity, kidnapping and so on.
Nearly all the things you describe, the leaking roof, tv, music and family not helping are not exclusive to Pakistan look around they are happening as frequently in the UK too.
InshAllah if you and I pray Allah guides me I won't have to change!
And kakaballi hit the nail on the head about the staisfaction, the day I can see that I've helped create a hundred or so jobs will probably be the proudest day of my life.
Pai Jaan , have you seen confused desis British Born , specially that Nautanki Mod of voice gallery here who was saying that she hate gandai mandai log of Pak because her parents were too from that country or others 3rd class citizens who come here after engoying some Chars or Pung etc. Mir Puriyai or all those who ran from here now face the same confusion to which country , which identity and which spectrum they really belong to. Becoming Naudultiya dosent mean that 3rd class citizenship status is also improved neither one can escape by saying I dont care if they dont like me etc.
That UK-US Pako blend now questions about thier confusion of Identity and representation.How many poor in UK have illegitimate offsprings and what about the stats of highest rate among teenagers of UK in whole europe.
I have not given a bribe in my whole life and go out of the way to help strangers yet my own family members and not me there are countless people who help others. TV sets , Music
Actually I would go to Pakistan and teach also. It is the poor who need it the most. Amongst the teaching I would include morals, ethics and caring as integral parts of the syllabus.
It just seems to me as an observer that place is undergoing some sort of azaab and in such places I do not advise going. If you can tough it out then go and make a difference; personally I have young children and will only consider doing such a thing later on in life.
InshaAllah
Peace brother Asif
I’ll be shorter than I was last time. However, this time I’ll say yes go, help them, make them honest people that will help them more than making them economically successful.
Unless of course you intend to run the position of Chancellor, the effect you will have is that the few who associate with you will become better off. Until the banking system changes … until people stop exchanging US and UK currency in Pakistan on the black market, the economy as a whole is not going to strengthen.
There are many £ billionaires in Pakistan but they unable to quench the thirst of the country. So go there and make them honest like a Muslim aught to be and inshaAllah I’ll come and join you soon.
Peace desert bird … May Allah (SWT) keep you protected.
Actually I would go to Pakistan and teach also. It is the poor who need it the most. Amongst the teaching I would include morals, ethics and caring as integral parts of the syllabus.
It just seems to me as an observer that place is undergoing some sort of azaab and in such places I do not advise going. If you can tough it out then go and make a difference; personally I have young children and will only consider doing such a thing later on in life.
InshaAllah
A couple of questions:
Do you know there would be a 'later on' in your life?
Do you believe there are no people with young children in Pakistan?
Do you know there would be a 'later on' in your life?
Do you believe there are no people with young children in Pakistan?
Peace kakaballi
Hasty decisions are from Shaitan. To make life changing choices one needs to be aware of what he is doing.
No ... I do not 'know' there will be a later on in my life ... that is why I said inshaAllah. Please check my post again.
And for those people who are in Pakistan, they are raised there, they have immune systems acclimatised for that environment. They have a lifestyle within that area. I would not recommend families with young children coming all the way to UK either.
Also, my children are my priority, it would be wrong for me to focus on others be they Pakistani or otherwise whilst neglecting or shifting focus away from my children when they need us the most in these years.
^ Eduction was a priority, family is a priority, career is a priority, a comfortable retired life would be a priority, grandchildren would be a priority.... and since Pakistan is not a priority, please do not discourage those who do have a soft heart for the country.
We keep on ranting about what's wrong with Pakistan sitting lazily in our comfort zones. If none of us never does anything about a place with so many problems, why expect those problems to be solved? Waiting for farishta intervention?
I think you should go if you don't feel home here in UK where you were born and raised. Most people with families come back after 6 months because of too much kharcha on electricity and schools.
^ Eduction was a priority, family is a priority, career is a priority, a comfortable retired life would be a priority, grandchildren would be a priority.... and since Pakistan is not a priority, please do not discourage those who do have a soft heart for the country.
We keep on ranting about what's wrong with Pakistan sitting lazily in our comfort zones. If none of us never does anything about a place with so many problems, why expect those problems to be solved? Waiting for farishta intervention?
Zyada jazbati honay ki zaroorat nahi hai. You think that we don't have a soft heart for pakistan? Well, we while living here, probably do more than what you can do for Pak and its people by sitting in Pakistan. Everyone that I know here in UK, taxi drivers se lay ker doctors tak, sends money back home for better health and education of their poor relatives.
@psyah- Lol, my economics and finance aren’t my strong points. I have to disagree the Finance Minister can simply try to create the environment, it’s up to the existing businesses to show how successful the market can be. Take for example Mobilink (subsidiary of the Egyptian Orascom) the first mover in the Pakistani Telecommunication market and it now has encouraged the like of Telenor (Norwegian) Ufone (PTA and UAE’s Eisalat) and Zong (Chinese). Giving the Pakistani consumer, not only choice but low prices and the creation of jobs, all because Mobilink showed them how it’s done.
And I’m sure if those billionaires wanted they could make a big difference but that’s if they wanted and this is down to an individuals choice and not something anyone else can influence.
@hareem01- Ok I agree many people send money back to their **own **relatives, but isn’t that a case of teach a man to fish? How long can the remittances last? What are the chances of third generation British Asians sending money back home to distant relatives? Why not help the country stand on its own two feet?
As far as other people going back to the UK, I can’t comment. But the six months I spent in Pakistan as a child I learned more there than anytime in my junior school in the UK and speaking with and reading the work of people who attended universities like SZABIST and LUMS, I really think it’s unfair to paint all the education in Pakistan with the same brush.
I'm not in a position to offer you any advice regarding your situation...just wanted to wish you best of luck.. InshaAllah it'll all work out for you. :)
@psyah- Lol, my economics and finance aren’t my strong points. I have to disagree the Finance Minister can simply try to create the environment, it’s up to the existing businesses to show how successful the market can be. Take for example Mobilink (subsidiary of the Egyptian Orascom) the first mover in the Pakistani Telecommunication market and it now has encouraged the like of Telenor (Norwegian) Ufone (PTA and UAE’s Eisalat) and Zong (Chinese). Giving the Pakistani consumer, not only choice but low prices and the creation of jobs, all because Mobilink showed them how it’s done.
And I’m sure if those billionaires wanted they could make a big difference but that’s if they wanted and this is down to an individuals choice and not something anyone else can influence.
@hareem01- Ok I agree many people send money back to their ownrelatives, but isn’t that a case of teach a man to fish? How long can the remittances last? What are the chances of third generation British Asians sending money back home to distant relatives? Why not help the country stand on its own two feet?
As far as other people going back to the UK, I can’t comment. But the six months I spent in Pakistan as a child I learned more there than anytime in my junior school in the UK and speaking with and reading the work of people who attended universities like SZABIST and LUMS, I really think it’s unfair to paint all the education in Pakistan with the same brush.
@hareem01- Ok I agree many people send money back to their **own **relatives, but isn’t that a case of teach a man to fish? How long can the remittances last? What are the chances of third generation British Asians sending money back home to distant relatives? Why not help the country stand on its own two feet?.
sidebar here, but overseas Pakistanis and Pakistan descendants do more than just send money to their relatives. Major service organizations working in Pakistan get a huge chunk of their funding from these groups as well. Its a diff topic, but I just wanted to make a small correction here.
Priorities are established by our religion not by personal choice. They can … but then we would be doing an injustice to alter the order. It is unfair to say ‘comfortable retired life’ is a priority and this end is never my intention.
As I said before to me material gains is not my measure of success … rather it is the passion for effort, to desire to be honourable, honest and dignified.
I believe tarbiyya is the one important inheritance that we can leave behind for our children that is in our control but wealth on the other hand is already written down for us.
Many people less educated earn more money than many very educated people. Our aim for education hence should not be for money but for tarbiyya and learning about our greater purpose as part of humanity.
Peace firenze
It’s not a matter of advice it’s a matter of money. If a person goes to Pakistan waving money around then they will say “Yes boss, whatever you say boss”, to those who bring the real issues to light they are told “pay up or go away we don’t need your advice” …
Frankly, the best tool to helping the Pakistanis become self-sufficient is to end the corruption. Pakistanis do not need us to tell them how to make money they need a clear system that is not bypassed that allows public spending to go to where it needs to go without individuals in the supply chains creaming amounts off, pocketting from the budgets.
Peace Asif
Job creation is not a solution to the problem. Job creation for a few could escalate the problem. Mobilink however successful they are … are successful for themselves. Giving the Pakistani consumer not only choice **but low prices **- this is market speech ‘choice’ is distraction and ‘low price’ leads to waste and disregard of possession.
“Mobilink continued its three prong approach which focused on acquiring new customers, retention of existing base and usage enhancement. The launch of revival campaign with strong media backup helped increase the active subscriber base,” it further added.
Mobilink, amid tough competition in the cellular phone market, managed to post a 0.3 percent growth in revenue in Q3-2009. It has earned Rs 64.1 billion in Jul-Sep 2009 as compared to Rs 63.9 billion income recorded in the same period last year.
However, the rupee depreciation against dollar has dragged the company’s revenue in the red. In terms of dollar, Mobilink’s revenue earning has fallen sharply by 15.7 percent in Q3-2009. It earned $787.99 million in the Jul-Sept 2009 as compared to the revenue generation of $934.59 million in the corresponding period of last year. "
The major cause for decline of the country’s economy is the state of affairs of the nation on the international arena. Mobilink may have made a difference to themselves, but Pakistan as a nation continues to suffer, marked by the depreciation of the rupee. Until the government becomes stable and until people stop bombing the place then we won’t get foreign investment.
Those who see potential gains from the high risk situation will go there needing to hire a securty outfit to keep themselves on their seats. That is why Iraq is lucrative at the moment. High risk high reward.
Then we need to look at the culture we are creating by encouraging the luxurious use of cell phones even amongst children … yes we’ve been there talked about it … Great West monoculture here we come!