"The fist of his actions for which a servant of Allah
will be held accountable on the Day of Resurrection
will be his prayers. If they are in order, then he will have
prospered and succeeded: and if they are wanting,
then he will have failed and lost. If there is something
defective in his obligatory prayers, the Lord
(glorified and exalted be He) will say: See if My servant
has any supererogatory prayers with which may be
completed that which was defective in his obligatory prayers.
Then the rest of his actions will be judged in like fashion."

Hadith - Qudsi 9

If anybody goes against Koran and Sunnah. Muslims must not follow it.
Be it the teaching of Four Pious Caliphs. They can make mistakes.
They were humans, not Prophets or Angels.

First Koran and than Sunnah.
As for taraweeh prayers agr HIMAAT hue than i will pray other
wise i will not.Meaning that Taraweehs are optional.

This is a reply for INTUIT.

Intuit the website that you have posted is extreme website.
It seems to be spreading hate.

In response to Hadith posted by Intuit

I think(my opinion), if the action of Hazrat Umr Farooq(r.a)
was done in the life time of Prophet Muhammad(SAW) than
it can be followed with out any question.

Make sure that your replies are ETHICAL.

Taraweeh

Asalam-o-Alakum rehman1,

Some says 3rd year of his Khalafat. and some says 10th year of his khalafa Umar ordered people to pray taraweeh in congregation in the mosque after the Isha’ Prayer.

It was not prayed in two years of the caliphate of Abu Bakr, nor in the first ten years of the caliphate of Umar al-Khattab. The Prophet SAWW prayed eleven rakah of nawafil in the later part of the night and certainly not in the earlier part when taraweeh is prayed.

You can also confirm it in Tareekh-ul-Khulafa by Jalaluddeen Suyooti (d. 911 hijra) and Murooj-uz Zahab by Mas’oodi (d.346 hijra).

I am sorry to say. Your personal opinion is not compatible with most of the Sunni school of thoughts. This is I am writing after having a recent conversation with a representative of Quran Academy. They relayed Taraweeh prayer on paltalk during the month of Ramadan this year.

Healthy discussion is highly appreciated.

regards

wasalam

[email protected]

I'll start with whether tarweeh is maukadah or not...... as Rehmanbhai and faisal bhai pointed out.........

It is in ahnaf that taraweeh is sunnah e maukadah........

i was able to find following.....but inshallah will give u more on the topic as i get more time.....

HAdrat Imam abu hanifa , when asked about hadrat umer raziallah action regarding tarwaeeh said it is sunnah maukadah ......as hadrat (Usman, Ali,Ibne Abbas, Talha)rizwan ullahe ajmain agreed on this and they all accepted it as sunnah maukidah .. so this is sunnah maukidah

ref:almukhtar...and Qadoori .... 2 of the most authentic sources of hanafi fiqah....

the diffrentiation in fardh wajib etc is not always clearly mentioned in hadith ...ulema agreed on the status of particular aamul lated by taking account of all relvent matters......

Sahih Muslim
Book 30. The Excellent Qualities Of The Holy Prophet (pbuh) And His Companions. Hadith 5706.
Anas b. Malik reported Allah's Apostle (may peace be upon him) as saying: Some persons from amongst my associates would turn to my Cistern; when I would see them and they would be presented to me, they would be detained in the way while coming to me. I would say: My Lord, they are my companions, they are my companions, and it would be said to me: You don't know what innovations they made after you.

the hadith is not about sahbah...it is about later ummah......wamalina

Re: Taraweeh

INuit…yes ahnaf consider that the ijmah of sahbah on some issue is binding…

this is quite logical…sahbahs were not (nauzobillah) such pp who will accept any change in islam with out opposing it …as hadrat Abu bakr raziallah said that whosoever gave a rope in zakat in HAzoor :saw: time should give this otherwise i will call jihad on him…such were the spirits of sahbahs…and then we had HAdrat Ali raziallah who would have never compromised on islam so …there r valid reasons that it is sunnah given proper shape as the time required and when sahbahs saw that it will be better …

I wanted to know the difference between QIYYAM and TARAWIH.

Answer :

Praise be to Allaah.

Salaat al-Taraaweeh is classified as part of qiyaam al-layl; they are not two different prayers, as many people think. Qiyaam al-layl during Ramadaan is called Taraaweeh because the salaf or early generations of Islam (may Allaah have mercy on them) used to rest (istaraahu) after every two or four rak’ahs, because they made their prayers long in order to make the most of this season of great reward. They were eager to earn the reward mentioned in the hadeeth: “Whoever stays up and prays at night in Ramadaan out of faith and in the hope of reward, all his previous sins will be forgiven.” (Reported by al-Bukhaari, no. 36). And Allaah knows best.

I hope this helps.

Sahih Muslim
Book 30. The Excellent Qualities Of The Holy Prophet (pbuh) And His Companions. Hadith 5706.
Anas b. Malik reported Allah's Apostle (may peace be upon him) as saying: Some persons from amongst my associates would turn to my Cistern; when I would see them and they would be presented to me, they would be detained in the way while coming to me. I would say: My Lord, they are my companions, they are my companions, and it would be said to me: You don't know what innovations they made after you.

Thanks for Clarification.
Jazak Allah

Re: Taraweeh

*Originally posted by inuit: *
Asalam-o-Alakum rehman1,

Some says 3rd year of his Khalafat. and some says 10th year of his khalafa Umar ordered people to pray taraweeh in congregation in the mosque after the Isha’ Prayer.

It was not prayed in two years of the caliphate of Abu Bakr, nor in the first ten years of the caliphate of Umar al-Khattab. The Prophet SAWW prayed eleven rakah of nawafil in the later part of the night and certainly not in the earlier part when taraweeh is prayed.
You can also confirm it in Tareekh-ul-Khulafa by Jalaluddeen Suyooti (d. 911 hijra) and Murooj-uz Zahab by Mas'oodi (d.346 hijra).
I am sorry to say. Your personal opinion is not compatible with most of the Sunni school of thoughts. This is I am writing after having a recent conversation with a representative of Quran Academy. They relayed Taraweeh prayer on paltalk during the month of Ramadan this year.

Healthy discussion is highly appreciated.

regards

wasalam

[email protected]

The view that Taraaweeh prayer is a bid’ah is not valid. Rather we should ask whether it was one of the Sunnahs of ‘Umar ibn al-Khattaab, because it was not done at the time of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) but it was done in ‘Umar’s time, or was it one of the Sunnahs of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him)?

Some people claim that it was one of the Sunnahs of ‘Umar, and they base that on the fact that ‘Umar “commanded Ubayy ibn Ka’b and Tameem al-Daari to lead the people in praying eleven rak’ahs.” He went out the same night and saw the people praying, and he said, “What a good innovation this is.” This indicates that it had not previously been prescribed…

But this opinion is da’eef (weak), and those who say this are ignoring the reports proven in al-Saheehayn and elsewhere, that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) “led his companions in praying for three nights, and on the third or fourth night he did not lead them, and he said: ‘I am afraid that it may be made obligatory upon you.’” This was narrated by al-Bukhaari (872). According to a version narrated by Muslim, “But I was afraid that prayer at night may be made obligatory upon you, and you would not be able to do it.” (1271). So it is proven that Taraaweeh is part of the Sunnah of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him). The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) referred to the reason why he did not persist in it, which was the fear that it might become obligatory; he did not say that it is not prescribed. This fear no longer applied following the death of the Messenger (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), because when he (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) died, the revelation ceased and there was no longer any concern that it might become obligatory. Once the fear that it might become obligatory was no longer present, because the revelation had ceased, then the reason for not doing it was also removed, and so it was restored to its position of being Sunnah.

Please, read it carefully. Hope this is helpful.
What i understand is that Taraweehs are not obligatory.
Taraweeh is Sunnah of Hazrat Muahammad(SAW).
He sometimes prayed alone and sometimes with gathering of people.

So Muslims may or may not offer. If they offer it ALLAH(SWT)
will give us more SAWAB.

As far as the question about Hazrat Umr(r.a) is concerned, if he
revived a part of SUNNAH so what wrong with that.
And reviving Sunnah of Prophet Muhammad(SAW) is not bidah.

And Intuit is more interested in Hazrat Umr(r.a) not about
Taraweehs. I wonder why.

take care
looking forward for a hate free discussion.

*Originally posted by rehman1: *
**Sahih Muslim

Thanks for Clarification.
Jazak Allah

Rehman Dude! you already ruined a post (Kumayl). Now here you come again. Keep it up. :)

by the way about your above comment on the Hadith posted by bao bihari, please read it again. specially the lines in red.

Dear Zero
Allah (SWT) Sabr karne walloo ke sath he.
Or me Sabr per yakeen rakhthaa huuu.

**Praise be to Allaah.

Taraaweeh prayer is Sunnah according to the consensus of the Muslims, as al-Nawawi (may Allaah have mercy on him) said in al-Majmoo’.

Taraaweeh prayer was encouraged by the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), for example when he said: “Whoever spends the nights of Ramadaan in prayer out of faith and in the hope of reward, his previous sins will be forgiven.” Narrated by al-Bukhaari, 37; Muslim, 760

So how can it be a bid’ah when the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) encouraged us to do it and the Muslims are unanimously agreed that it is mustahabb!

Perhaps the one who said that it is bid’ah meant that gathering to offer Taraaweeh prayer in the mosques is bid’ah.

This too is incorrect, because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) prayed Taraaweeh in congregation with his companions for many nights, then he stopped doing that lest it be made obligatory upon the Muslims. Then when the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) died and the revelation came to an end, this concern was no longer an issue, because it could not be made obligatory after the death of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him). So ‘Umar (may Allaah be pleased with him) gathered the Muslims to pray Taraaweeh in congregation.

The time for Taraaweeh prayer is from after ‘Isha’ prayer until dawn comes.

There is no specific number of rak’ahs for Taraaweeh prayer, rather it is permissible to do a little or a lot. The two ways mentioned in the question are both permissible.

That should be based on whatever the people in each mosque think is suitable for them.

The best is that which was proven from the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), which is that he never did more then eleven rak’ahs when praying qiyaam al-layl, in Ramadaan or at other times.

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen said, after mentioning the number of rak'ahs in Taraaweeh prayer:

The matter is broad in scope. No one should be denounced for praying eleven or twenty-three, because the matter is broader in scope than that, praise be to Allaah.

Fataawa al-Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen, 1/407

And Allaah knows best.

Islam Q&A **

Re: Re: Taraweeh

Am I the only one who finds this a bit confusing?

I mean, yes the Prophet :saw: prayed taraweeh at some time with jamaat. And then he didn’t pray at some other time, fearing if he did it regularly, it will be deemed obligatory by the ummah. So it remains a sunnah. Thats fine.

But you can’t then make it obligatory, after his :saw: death. Can you?

Praying it may be sunnah (mu’kadda or ghair mu’kada or naffil) I am not sure.. but praying it in Jamaat is certainly neither obligatory nor Sunnat mo’kada.

And since I subscribe to sunni school of thought, so praying taraweeh in jamaat is not only permissible, but we make an effort to do it as well. But that still does not make it obligatory, does it?

Correct me if I am wrong.

Jazak Allah

BRO DHULFIKAR

Jazak Allah

Re: Re: Re: Taraweeh

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Am I the only one who finds this a bit confusing?

I mean, yes the Prophet :saw: prayed taraweeh at some time with jamaat. And then he didn’t pray at some other time, fearing if he did it regularly, it will be deemed obligatory by the ummah. So it remains a sunnah. Thats fine.

But you can’t then make it obligatory, after his :saw: death. Can you?

Praying it may be sunnah (mu’kadda or ghair mu’kada or naffil) I am not sure.. but praying it in Jamaat is certainly neither obligatory nor Sunnat mo’kada.

And since I subscribe to sunni school of thought, so praying taraweeh in jamaat is not only permissible, but we make an effort to do it as well. But that still does not make it obligatory, does it?

Correct me if I am wrong.

Its not obligatory like Fard Namaz.Lekn Pak ke Maulvis zara wakhre type ke he.
Please, tell me what is Sunnah mukada.

Re: Re: Re: Taraweeh

Dear Mod
please, let this discussion to be continued even if turns out to be
a bit ugly i-e If some people decide to vent out there frustrations.

i have learned a lot.

My understanding is… that

Sunnat mo’kada is a sunnat which the Prophet :saw: never missed, like 2 sunnat namaz before 2 farz of Fajr. Or two sunnat namaaz after three farz of Maghrib. Since the Prophet :saw: never missed those, so muslims make an effort not to miss them either. Though, if you don’t pray them, there is no gunah, because it is not farz.

**Sunnat ghair-mo’kada **are those which the prophet :saw: prayed some times, and did not pray another time. Like the four sunnat before four farz of Asr prayer.

**Naffil **are those prayers, which muslims can pray any time (except a few specific times like just before maghrib) and they are over and above farz and are for getting more sawaab. Like the nawafil, which most people pray after Zuhr, Maghrib and Isha prayers. Or any other time, day break (Ishraaq?) etc.

Never argue with the idiots. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience.

ahhmm!! No one’s addressed. :wink: