I'm done being a nice guy

So, my cousin’s husband recently immigrated here. I rarely ever have contact with that cousin’s side of the family but I decided to be a nice guy and helped this fellow get a job.
Not only that, for 7 months, everyday me and my wife picked this guy up in the morning and dropped him off at work and picked him up at night and dropped him home.
The cousin and this fellow live only 1 mile away from us.

Anyway, recently my wife had a baby and this guy (or my cousin or anyone from that side of the family) have not bothered to give us a phone call, let alone visit us.

Does anyone else have cheap matlabi relatives like this?

Re: I'm done being a nice guy

That is abominably rude...

Dont say anything to them...pretend as if everything is normal...show them they're not important and niether is their "Congrats".

I would make them feel like SPAM.

Don't we all do ?

I am done being a nice guy too. Let me give your cousin a ride once...just once... MUAAHAHHAHAAAAH !

maybe he needs a ride to come to your place to congratulate you guys.

btw happy new baby!

Zxcvb,

You will get your reward from Allah for the kindness you have your shown your cousin and her husband. And that's the important thing. There could be possible reasons for why you have not heard from your cousin. Perhaps they don't know about the delivery of your baby. I know it's hard to believe this.....but sometimes we **SINCERELY forget **about the important occasions of other people (wedding, birthday, anniversary, new home, new job, baby, etc.) Perhaps they simply forgot about it. Or maybe since they are trying to settle down in a new country, they are so busy with adjusting that they haven't been able to visit you yet.

You know the situation better than I do. If you KNOW for a** FACT** that your cousin was** FULLY AWARE** of the birth of your baby and has been aware FOR A LONG TIME (maybe several weeks).....and she still doesn't have the decency to AT LEAST congratulate you over the phone........then YOU CAN FORGET ABOUT THEM!

You should do good things for others without expecting any service/material gains in return. But there is no excuse for BASIC RESPECT. Celebrate your happiness with your family and friends that SINCERELY appreciate you and are happy for you. These are the people that matter most in your life. There is more pleasure in sharing your special moments with people who care about you than with people who don't respect you.

dont allow some jacque arse to change who you are, but learn from it and just gauge people better, be willing to walk away when someone shows that they can not be counted on or are not sincere.

i agree! if i were in your situation i would wait to see what they have to say for themselves whenever you two actually meet again.

I would also make sure that they even knew that you had had a baby; sometimes people don't find out until they're made aware by a phone call, or the obligatory mithai box etc...

BUT if they did know and they just got too busy? I'd let them know what I thought of them, and then not bother with them again.

X2,

I like your creative/fancy spelling of Jack-ass. I think I'm going to steal it. It's more fun saying it this way.

aww that's a terrible experience. Like someone said above, don't change the way you are though

redvelet- it started off as a nickname for one of my fench classmates named jacque :)

zx- do find out what their situation is, they may have had some situation on their end. I remember one time when I had been in touch with some distant relatives in my city and was planning to have them over for dinner, asked about dietary restrictions and all, then we had an ectopic pregnancy and were caught up in that. next time I ran into them, the bhabhi ji asked me rather sarcastically what happened, itnay baray plan thay, dietary restrictins aur kya kya, phir kya bana.

It was offensive to me, and I just responded, obviously we were dealing with something, why else would someone who was so focused on stuff disappear, actually I am surprised that you did not check on us why we fell off the face of the planet all of a sudden.

just make sure they dont have something going on that u dont know about.

^ Poor Jacque, LOL!

ok .. are you an woman or a man first decide that. because if you are a male ..who cares? enjoy ur own life, u have been blessed just keep ur focus on that

LOL ur gross haha but it's funny

I agree with PS. Make them feel like scum by not acknowledging that they did this. And next time u know not to help.

^ Agreed!

I agree with ya. There may be a situation at their end.

Also as someone said above, you are blessed with the most precious gift from Allah so enjoy the life and leave the whining for wife as she is best suited for that.

X2, off topic I wanted to ask you for a long time... Is your nick influenced by 'Ibn-Safi's' character X2 in his novels ?

he has been brain washed by his wife. only women can bring up such things. period.

u picks him up for the past 7 months…cant u see his matlab parasti rite over there :mad:

Ha ha ha! I was thinking the exact same thing! Lol! :)