How r u all? Hope u all doing well..ok we have shifted to New home and we decide for Quran koani but we shifted late so now Ramadan is coming MASHALLAH and we decide for iftar party and dinner. So it will 25 guests. Problem is that what type of menu should we arrange for iftar and dinner? My inlaws don’t like lots of iftari but my family likes. I have to put both of these or only iftari?
My menu ideas is:
IFTARI:
dates, juice, pakoray, spring rolls, fruit chat and samosa
DINNER:
Biryani, salad and sweet dish.
Or should I change like small pizza,chiken wrap,chana chat for iftari.and for dinner some bbq?
Need advice. And how much things should I purchase means quantity.
And there will be only 2 kids.
Samosay aur spring rolls, agar dekha jaaye, to dono aik hi cheez hain. Yani k they are both a pastry jis ko filling k saath bhara jaata hai. Is liye dono main se sirf aik ko rakho. I also like the second option for iftari (pizza, chicken wrap and chana chaat) as long as the pizza is light and not heavy. Any of the two iftar options is fine.
For dinner, agar ho sakay to aik salan kar lo and add rotiyan. Barbeque and biryani both include dry meat, so barbeque rehnay do. If you wanna keep the dinner simple, but complete then I think rice (biryani), a salan, rotis, salad and raita is a good balance. One sweet dish is fine. Don’t think any special arrangement needs to be made for two kids, maybe watch the mirchain level.
Do whatever you’re comfortable making. You’ve already been given options for iftari here, don’t overthink it. For fried items, I usually plan on 2-3 person, depending on what the rest of the meal is and if I want a lighter or heavier spread.
Making pizza and chicken rolls for 25 people sounds a little labor intensive to me so I would probably stick to chanaa chaat.
Samosa/spring rolls/pakoray (choose 1)
chanaa chaat
cut up fruit
kajoor
sharbat/juices
Itna zyada mat socho. You already have an iftari menu and it’s fine. During Ramzan, people are busy with their ibadat and fasting can be tiring and it throws the schedule off a bit, is liye make things simple for yourself. Just make one type of pakora. If you do different types of pakoray, then you will worry about having enough of each type of pakora for one person. Pakoray, samosay, and fruit chaat are fine for iftari.
Honestly, looking at our parents health and that of the uncles and aunties around us, we need to move away from all this heavy, oily, cheesy, deep fried, carb-heaviness.
If there’s one time we should be escaping heavy foods and letting our bodies breathe, it’s Ramadan.
Think abiut how all this food promotes cancer and heart disease!
Make light foods and let Ramzan be a time when we can detox our bodies for once. Light food = better ibadat as well
^ I think a bit of indulgence is fine when you are having an iftar dawat. But yes, apart from the dawat, lighter meals would be better to break fast with.
you can make individual plates for iftar for your guests. thats how my mom does it every time we had iftar party. she will put 1-2 dates, couple of pakoras, a samosa, and some chaat in each plate and hand them out to all the guests near iftar time. this worked out for us because everyone had their iftar plates already handed to them on time and there was just enough for everyone.
Handing over the plates is not a hit idea for me as many people have slective choice of eating, also the quantity of food is a concern, Host always puts more for the guests and it gets too heavy sometimes to finish. Talking about myself I was handed over handeed over a plate in iftar party and i could not finish out, there were some things in plate i dont even eat and there was no plate around to separate it from my plate. I told my host I cant eat this much but she was like its not this much and seriously when its food im not curtious at all I only eat what I like.
As for your menu Omit either spring rolls or samosas. Just make one kind of pakoras mixed veggie kind of Spinach. aaloo and pyaaz waaley all mixed. You can make chicken bread, that quite filling and you can make its filling and even dough before hand. If not just go with fruit chaat and dahi baras. I dont make fruit chaat here as im alone and for 25 guests u have to make a lot of it. I just keep fruits.
For dinner i second to have some salan with nans as all dont eat rice with fervour.
Light dinner…biryani and raita + salad or pulao, light chicken curry, raita, salad, and naan.
Light Iftari…Cut up fruit or fruit chaat, chana chaat, dahi baray, samosay or spring rolls with chutneys.
I would offer dates to open the fast and then put out the iftari items and dinner at the same me. Since, magrib is around 9:15-9:00pm, it doesn’t make sense to first offer iftari items and then dinner.
Offer Sharbat, milk, lassi (whatever) with dates, read namaz and have dinner.
I would say the second option: chicken curry, pulao, raita, salad and naan.
Iftari: Cut up fruit is definitely easier than making a fruit chaat. Out of the two chaats, the chana chaat is easier to make whereas fruit chaat is more labor intensive. Hmm. You can do cut up fruit and chana chaat. Skip the dahi baray because I think tend to be heavy or more filling and since chana chaat being a protein is filling enough. Sooo…imo…cut up fruit, chana chaat, and samosay will make for a filling but light iftari.
Our maghrib is close to 8:30, so we can serve iftari, break for Maghrib, and then serve dinner an hour later. But if you keep the two meals separate, then it’ll delay the dawat…people will stay longer and leave later.