if your family was wiped out would you move closer or away from religion?

Re: if your family was wiped out would you move closer or away from religion?

and how will you show ur hatred and anger against God? by writing books against islam? by preaching hatred against those who are religious? by demonizing the phrophet? :stuck_out_tongue:

ur comments do help me to understand the plight of palestinians and their anger and hatred towards the israelis.

i understand what you are saying lajawab and i take your advice...:)

I don't understand why so many children died. Yesterday, I saw pictures of masoom bodies being pulled out from school buildings that had collapsed.

But then, you know what? They're going straight to heaven. They didn't have to deal with any misery growing up. Maybe they are the luckiest ones.

Pyari ..u are right. the only thing that we can say is that everyone dat died goes straight to janat. it heart breaking though when you look at the devastation.

Well not everyone necessarily. But the kids at least. I hope.

I agree with the person who said that the pain is of not being able to help as ppl can still be saved. I don't care about the rest.

To me Islam is a cultural and political identity. I am not too big on the spiritual side (I believe in the basics I guess), although I will defend the integrity of the basic beliefs. Thus in such a situation, I would move further away from God.

Don’t ever write that on Gupshup again if you don’t want to get flamed! The sheep here will kill you for such statements.

^what are the other sheep supposed to say when someone claims to be a sheep (muslim) but walks like a dog? :-) If u represent a muslim then it is more than an identity. You have certain obligations towards the teachings too.

The point is..it's only fair to see things within the context of the islamic teachings. It may not be suitable for everyone. If it doesn't make sense to you then you should invest more time to make sense of it. If it still doesn't convince you, then the least you can do is let the teachings be...why compare humans with robots. That's an insult to islamic teachings

I will say this again; Imagine losing a mother or a father in such a disaster. Put your feet in their freakin’ shoes first and then talk about how you won’t feel angry and disillusioned. Really.

^ This was not the first time somebody lost a loved one. The issue of being disillusioned really comes down to the level of Imaan in you.

There are people who rebel after their gf/bf cheats on/leaves them...and there there are some who have Imaan, so strong, even a clamity like the this earthquake wouldn't be able to shake.

This is nothing compared to what the companions of the Prophet went through in their Makkan life, and yet when they used to complain to the Prophet regarding what was happening with them, the Messenger of Allah (sas) face used to turn red with anger, and he would say, the People before you would be combed with iron rods, such that the flesh and the nerves would seperate from the bones, and their skulls would be ripped apart but they wouldn't leave their deen.

So to be patient is a requirement of the Deen, under any circumstance. Jannah, of all things, doesn't come cheap.

Well…I am not a Muslim…but since the topic is not specific to ā€œIslamā€, I will say that I will indeed exit religion in the event of the situation described. I have been already struggling with it.

Sometimes I wonder why we pray to God. If God was indeed the merciful, fair and compassionate that we are told he/she is …How can one justify deaths of small infants/kids…bad things happening to good people…etc…I know ā€œreligiousā€ people will find ways to explain these situations but to my logical mind it is little more than vague BS.

Personally, I think religion is the resort of the insecure (again this is not specific to any one religion).

At a different level, I think we like to believe in GOD because knowing that there is somebody up there watching us gives our life meaning. The fact is - just like a mouse’s life is as meaningless as an ant’s, so is a human being’s life as pointless as any living being. The only difference being that we humans are intelligent enough to have created an imazinary GOD for ourselves to bring order to our lives.

nice to see my post has created such varying responses and good responses too...

I agree the responses are interesting... let's call death what it is from 'islamic' perspective (I'm assuming u are referring to Islam in this thread).

No one in his right mind would be 'happy' about these deaths. Anger and mourning is as human as it gets...nobody is asking us to suppress it...however how u see death matters.

If you are a negative person you will see death as life 'taken away' from you, however Islam teaches a positive perspective. It tells you "tum khuda ki amanat ho aur tum nay lot kur ossi kay pass jana hai". Now this could be hogwash for some...but for some it could be everything.

Again, we should respect how people view life. The easiest thing to do in this situation is to reject god..since it feels logical and natural reaction to the disaster..but when you see people taking the 'difficult route' and seeking forgiveness for their loved ones then we should respect their stance rather than calling them delusional idiots.

Accidents of all kinds happen all the time, sometimes planes, cars, incorrect medication, people loose life in one way or the other. Natural disasters do the same. There is no ā€œreplacementā€ for the loved ones whichever way we loose them. The times a loss of innocent life makes me angry are bombings (war/suicide attack). God tests human being in different ways sometimes by rewarding him (health, wealth) and sometimes by taking back, its upto us to appreciate what we have been rewarded, but its more common to see human being complain about losses.

the game, it is Allah's rehmat.. we humans are getting so impatient and I include myself in this list.

Recently, I went through a horrible time of my life. (not as horrible as the earthquake victims, but nevertheless horrible) it made me realize some hard facts about myself. I didn't have the urge to please Allah. I tried to find out how can i make things better, read Quran, read Hadiths and talked to other ppl who had usefull thoughts to share. All in all, i started praying namaz and then when the worst came closer i started praying alot of nafls like 10 to 15 rakats of nafl namaz .. i was afraid but i had hope in my Allah and i knew whatever happens HE will hold me through it since it is HIS mercy.

Finally the day came.. and the worst of my imagination happened.. i was upset but something in me forced me to turn back to my Allah and i cried cried like i had never done before, didn't knew what to do but I still had that little hope from HIM. I remember, i was smiling the next day and ppl kept asking me how can u smile? i couldn't explain i just had that feeling in me that everythign will be OK. and sure enough it was.. 6 months from that day I was out of the worst of my life time into the absolute best - I had never even imagined it will be like this.. its great and all thanks to ALLAH ..

This isn't suppose to be a touchy story, its reality and i know many many people who go through even tougher times than what i had to experience .. but bottom line is that all this makes u grow closer to Allah and appriciate HIS mercy.

I am sure if you go to the devestated area and ask the victims who survived, they will say.. "Allah ka raham tha".. they will be praying more and more for maghfira

Ask those who lost their love ones and they will say that Allah ki marzi thi.. they will have tears in their eyes but a strong hold of Imaan in their hearts. It is Allah who gives us the strength to live and its Allah who tests us. And as HE said in Quran .. " Allah knows, and ye know not." (2:232)

Please pray for yourself and others who are suffering. And inshaAllah things will get better. I once heard some elder telling me that Qiyamah won't come as long as there is atleast one person on this earth who prays five times a day and makes dua.. and i always think that it is someone else's prayers that saves me time and time again. May Allah bless us all.

SOrry for the long post.

I have seen people dying..I have seen people crying..and I think the only hope we have in difficult times is ALLAH...Although man has progressed so much but still we r nothing but pieces of a toy in front of him...even if I would have lost my whole family,my believe on ALLAH would have increased further...
all those people who actually become against Allah after such tragic r loose heart people

long post but the best post of this thread…

Ansoon made a very good point yes, but I will say this again Guy1, you did not lose a family. You are talking about if you would have, but you have not. I will leave the thread at that.

the game, have you lost any member of your family? (May Allah protect them all with HIS mercy)