if you were to ...

pass away, would you consider telling your spouse before that, early on as a token of your transparent love for them, to do get married with someone else, after you pass away?

how would your spouse react to it?

how would you make her or him feel that it is and will be alright?

share your thoughts on this, if you like.

best,
Dushwari

Re: if you were to ...

It really depends on the age, in which it's going to happen.

Eventhough i would not personally want him to marry anyone else..but i will still tell him to marry someone of his choice and move on..and i would always want him to love me me and remember me forever..i would want him to tell his wife that She can never take my place...or no otehr woman can take my place..:)..and( this is something i want..but i will never say this to him to this though..iwould literally want him to have a genuine feeling for me/

Oh yah n i will make sure he ends up with a really good girl who cares for him as much as i did:)

point well taken. but its more in old age that oneneeds company than in younger age.

no?

but then, in old age, it is also assumed that children are there to take care of.. atleast in our religion and culture to some extent. right?

bkg,
typically catering to fear is not wise.
but, your opinion is respectable and understandable.

best,
Dushwari

fashionable eagle-hood, changing sides of which way the neck turns or the chin chins up.
in any event, yes children are blessings of Allah swt when they are out of harm's way and reach to be old enough by surviving life...to take care of their own aging parents.

huh?

aur nahi tow kiya? eagles dont change all the time.

Re: if you were to …

yup i will tell him to move on

time can heal all wounds:chai:

You don’t expect your loved ones to die with you. If remarrying is what’s going to keep her happy, she should do that.

I agree with AQ....it depends at what age you are talking about and if there are young or older children involved.....depends on the circumstances really.

Either way, I would tell my spouse to do whatever he felt was right for him and our children (if any). I would want him to do whatever makes him happy and whatever puts him at peace. I would give my blessings for whatever he decides (as long as it is halal).

However.....if small children are involved, I would try to encourage him to find a loving mother for our children (someone he thinks that I would approve of and like since i am picky about people in general) because all children need a mother in their lives.

It all depends on how much love there is. Prince Khurram Shah Jahaan married lots of times but on her death bed, his wife Mumtaz Mahaal asked him not to marry again and he didn't. To express his love for her built the Taj Mahal, which still proudly stands as the culmination and symbol of never ending love.

^ it's selfish in my opinion for a husband/wife who is on their death bed to ask their spouse NOT to remarry.

AE, I would disagree, respectfully… ‘Pyar sey kaho gey tu jaan bhi hazir hai’, thats one of our qualities, and I would have done the same thing if I were Shah Jahan (btw, we share the first name :hehe:)

However with that said, Mumtaz made that request because firstly SJ had many wives before her, but she was his favorite. He made a commitment to her, based on how much he loved her.

^ I dont see anything wrong with Shah Jahan (or any spouse) not wanting to remarry after their hubby/wife passes away...that's fine and dandy...and shows just how much love he had for her...but mumtaz (or any spouse making such a request) is still considered selfish IMO.

Why would you want someone you love to be alone for the rest of their life?...especially if that souse is young and what if they have children? those children should live life without a mom/dad?

ok fine so he/she doesnt remarry....that wont stop him/her from having pre-marital affairs...i think that doesnt show much love or respect for the dead spouse! :p

Bcoz of Mumtaz Mahal's request he did not marry just got new concubines.

:hehe: i knew it!

Moghuls were smart!

The love that I am talking about comes to show only after a prolonged time, and by that time most of time are grand parents. So at that time, its pointless to get married again.