If you were discriminated against by a teacher at school?

How would you behave? Would you inform the headmaster? Or your tutor?

It happened to me today and I found out she didn’t only discriminate against me but against some other hijaabis as well, so I’m considering to take some measures…

There are a few things you can do.

First, I would talk to your parents. Perhaps you can set up a meeting with the parents of the other girls, the girls themselves, the principal and the teacher in question?

I would also consider thinking very carefully about everything that happened and writing it down in an organized manner. Write a letter detailing what went on and send it to all of the members of the school board, the principal, perhaps even the mayor? If the principal doesn't do anything about it, then that way, someone will stand up and take notice because no one likes the cloud of a possible discrimination suit looming over their town/municipality, especially during elections (that's assuming that your town/municipality is in the middle of the election cycle).

Stick to the facts in the letter. Don't exaggerate. Mentioning words such as "discrimination," "religion," usually makes most politicians and school board members pay attention and pushes them into action. You may even want to consider implying in your letter that you'll go to the media if there isn't a satisfactory result.

These are all suggestions. In some places, it's enough if you have a parent/teacher/principal meeting. That'll usually get the teacher to stop being an idiot and watch herself. In other places where there's a lot of discrimination and politics going on, it's not that easy and it takes more (letters, talking to the media, talking to a lawyer) to make anyone pay attention.

In fact, if you have a lawyer in the family or as a close friend, I think you should go to him/her after talking to your family and ask that person to write a letter. Once they see that "Esquire" signature, they WILL pay attention. And get some names/emails of local reporters and radio personalities beforehand as well.

Good luck.

And I'm sorry this happened to you. I'm a hijabi as well and I've dealt with my share of stupidity.

Edit - one more thing. Don't give anyone a reason to point fingers at you. You behave yourself and conduct yourself with dignity (which I'm sure you are). This way, you will clearly be the better person and if something more should come of this, you and others will be able to say that you're behavior was unassailable.

Re: If you were discriminated against by a teacher at school?

The main problem is mistral: My family is non-Muslim, so they won't support me at all hence they will tell me if I hadn't worn it I wouldn't have got myself into that situation.

The second problem I did indeed snap back at her, I didn't insult her but my voice raised up and I told her it wasn't any of her business what I was wearing.

She simply walked across me and asked whether I was a student at that school and I said yeah sure I was and why she was asking me that then she said "Oh because of the way you run around here dressed like that" I said "What is so wrong about that?" Then she answered "Well it's not like this is Iran" and then I lost it and told her what sort of business she had with my clothes she replied by saying this was indeed her business as she was a professor at that school and then I answered once more saying still that didn't grant her the right to make any stupid remarks about my clothing. She was already leaving when I mentioned that.

The thing about that teacher is she herself is NOT German she only teaches Spanish and is from South America, totally ignorant about Islam.

I broke down into tears and my friend came to console me(my friend is not even a Muslim) later I was told by fellow Muslim students how she had made comments such as "No I won't allow a window to be opened you take off your headscarf" once a hijaabi girl had asked whether she could open the window during class. My Moroccon friend had been told by her "To please take off those sort of clothes during summer, just take them all off" she further had explained how she "would not allow such a thing(headscarf) at school if she had the responsibility".

Unfortunately vacation are starting next Monday so I have only little time, but I guess I should really do something no?

If this is true discrimination, and your not just over reacting then, Oh hunnyy you need to get her straightened out. If that ever happend to me I would not sit down till she /he's ass was fired.

I'm not over-reacting, I might have screamed too much but she really had no right to make the "Iran" comment, what on earth was she thinking? The other problem is in Germany teachers can't be fired, they can only be transferred to another school. :( The German prof of my friend said maybe I should take the opportunity to give a speech about why we are covering up, the craziest thing is my school is in the middle of the immigrant quarter of our town, so many women with hijaab are running around there I just don't get it. That woman has been teaching for years if she had truly been interested she could have informed herself, plus teachers should be neutral, if she doesn't like it fine, but stop making harsh remarks I'm not calling others names am I? :(

I guess I'll wait until Friday and then ask my tutor about further steps. You know I'm 20 but she even says those kinda things to girls far younger than me. It shouldn't be this way.

Ok.

That changes things a bit. So you're going to have to go this alone. I'm sorry about this. I really am. But I know one more important thing about you that I didn't know before. You're strong. Very strong. It takes somebody with true steel in her spine to do what she believes is right, even though her family won't support her.

Now, as for what you said...you shouldn't have snapped back. But you weren't exactly wrong. It IS none of her business what you wear and she had no right to say that to you.

Take a breath, put aside your hurt, and write everything down. Clearly, concisely, and in an organized way. If you're a good writer, then you should be ok. If you're not that great, take it to someone who is and have her help you out. Do you know ANYBODY in the legal profession? If you do, have that person help you write it. Lawyers are very good at writing those types of letters.

Even if you don't, and if you send it to the headmaster and copy the members of the school board, local politicians who have a hand in the running of the school, and local media I guarantee you that they will take notice.

And if your friends who have had similar experiences at the hands of this backwoods hick of a professor are willing to join you, I'd suggest you get them together so you can all write that letter together. The more signatures and stories you have, the more powerful it will be.

Good luck dear.

And I just read your last post, what the hell are you waiting for. Stand up for others Muslims who get discriminated all around the world. A hijab is not just a piece of cloth on your head, its the true representation of a Muslim, and shows that we are not weak. You fight for your rights and you make a change in peoples ideologies about Muslims. As a hijabi we should be leaders in making a difference for Muslims. Sorry to go on a rant, but i find it to be very imp to stand up strong as a hijabi.

And as i said it before i would NEVER let a teacher like that, go on easy.

I live in Germany. Momentarily Hijaab is debated a lot on here. Maybe you have heard that an Egyptian woman was murdered in a courtroom here last week. The guy stabbed her 18 times. She basically died for she was a Muslima who observed Hijaab, she had sued him for insulting her and calling her names and he was supposed to pay the fine. However see how it ended for her but insha'Allah Jannat awaits her.

I believe that was another reason why I was reacting so emotionally given all the injustice to women in headscarves, so when she made that remark I realised such people probably believe it's our own fault if we are harmed wearing this you know?

Jazakallah khair for saying I'm strong, it's not easy to be the only Muslim in a family...I fought so much for hijaab and abaya and still my dad brings it up everytime we fight, alhamdulillah I've remained firm in my beliefs. I was quite young when I reverted I knew it was a challenge and I endured a lot, but today I felt it was just enough so I snapped back.

Thought about this some more. Here are some more suggestions.

Write everything down RIGHT NOW so you won't forget important details. Talk to your friends who had similar experiences and ask them if they'd consider joining you. Those who agree should be asked to immediately write things down. You'd be shocked at how quickly people can lose track of details.

Once this is done, make an appointment with the headmaster as a group. Tell him/her what happened. All of it. You have the right to a discrimination free experience at school. You should tell him that. And write down everything that went on in the meeting. In fact, I would suggest that all of you take a notepad with you to this meeting and write everything down as it's happening. Even if you can't do that...PRETEND like you're writing everything down. This will make him take notice, trust me.

If he doesn't really act like he's going to do anything...give it a week. Ask for another meeting. Repeat everything I've suggested above. If he stalls or gives you a lot of b*s*, now it's time for you to send that letter. And before you send it, write down that you have gone to the headmaster two times, and that he hasn't taken any action. If he says anything dumb or discriminatory during those meetings, make sure you mention that in the letter as well.

Hope this helps.

Its truly amazing of how your a muslim, and here in the US we have the freedom and the freedom to fight for our rights, without a fear. So maybe thats why i'm soo into being strong and open about this. So what are your choices, who can you go to? How old are you? Hun this is the challenge, and you have to face it head on, otheriwse you can just sit back and let them say things to you and other muslims and maybe cry a little or even say something to them back, but it will not solve anything in the long run!!

I believe that was another reason why I was reacting so emotionally given all the injustice to women in headscarves, so when she made that remark I realised such people probably believe it's our own fault if we are harmed wearing this you know?

The hell with that. Would these people say that to a nun, who Allah forbid, was murdered because some monster had a problem with her wimple? No. They wouldn't. Because they're a bunch of raging hypocrites who look for any and all excuses to make us look like barbarians.

I would take a stand on this one. Not all people are like your idiot teacher. And those people would be very much interested in putting a stop to this nonsense.

You should report to the headteacher.

Here in Germany there is not much you can do about such an issue, the one thing I can do is first talk to my tutor, then to the school counselor who is a preacher(but he likes me as I handed him a report on women's rights in Islam) and then maybe further steps will be taken I don't know if my friends will join me most of them say "Don't care about her words she's just a stupid ****" however I feel such people shouldn't be allowed to teach if they can't be neutral she simply crossed her limits today, I am NOT even her student she only gives Spanish class and can talk very little German only, it's ridiculous that she is telling me something like "that isn't Iran here" I'm not Iranian nor have I ever lived somewhere else(those 11 months in India barely count they were the first months of my life) I speak German fluently and that woman sort of discriminates against me for my dress? Oh and if I hadn't been a student what did she think I was? The cleaning lady? Yeah for only the cleaning ladies are allowed to work at school wearing a hijaab...No teacher is allowed to observe Hijaab by German law. It's terrible :(

For me this is much different I chose this deen and I love it so much it helped me always and I fought for this hijaab with my family, I actually LOST my whole family because of this piece of cloth my dad begged me to take it off yet I refused. I see so much khair in it alhamdulillah. I only have my father, my khala hasn't seen me in 2 years and I am not sad about it I feel I gained more by gaining Islam.

Here in Germany there is not much you can do about such an issue, the one thing I can do is first talk to my tutor, then to the school counselor who is a preacher(but he likes me as I handed him a report on women's rights in Islam)
I understand. I did a lot of research on this subject a few years back and I know it's tougher in certain European countries like France and Germany.

But it won't get better if we all sit back.

I grew up in a small town in the States and there's a lot of racism/politics there. For years, my parents put up with horrible comments and bad treatment at the hands of the local citizens and politicians. They didn't want to say anything because like a lot of desis, they don't want to rock the boat.

And then one day a few years back, one of the local town workers was completely disrespectful to my mother. I happened to catch him in the act. What blew me away is that he did it so casually and openly...like he knew that no one would say anything and he wouldn't get in trouble.

You know how people say all the time that "I snapped?" I really snapped. I felt something inside me completely break and I felt anger the likes of which scared me. NO ONE does that to my mother.

And then I went down to my computer and wrote a very dignified and very nasty letter to the town officials...about 8 copies in all.

I got a call from the mayor the day he received the letter. There was a lot of sucking up on the government's part.

And now that same bigot of a worker is all of a sudden as sweet as pie to my family and there are some new rules in place in the local government that prevent such a thing from happening again. They even set up a mediation program to help people sort such things out.

And all in a town that's so biased and political at times, that people were shocked that those changes came about from a simple two page letter.

You never know Tayyebeh. All changes don't come because someone larger than life is causing all sorts of drama. Some of them do, but a lot of the good changes you see in the world today are the results of ordinary people like you and me, doing ordinary things like picking up a pen (or logging on to the computer).

Don't think there's "not much you can do." You said your school is in the immigrant quarter of town. That probably means that a lot of immigrants go to your school, vote for the officials, have a voice, have positions of power. If word gets out to them about this...you never know what could happen.

Yeah that's right our headmaster actually is a member of a party and once ran for elections so you could have reason concerning the politics issue. I've been considering to make it public at the mosque I remember how my friend once mentioned to me there was a school that wouldn't allow girls to observe pardah although there is NO law which enabled them to NOT do so, so they made it public and the school officals became scared thus didn't bother anymore I have to do the same I guess, should talk to some log from there inshallah kuch kuch hota hai. There HAS TO!

:hugz:

Send your headteacher an email/letter writing the whole incident out properly, like every single bit she said, her facial expressions, your replies and her reactions. It’s better to have it as a email/letter because you can later refer back to it if you ever need to. Then when your headteacher recieves it (mention something about how he can send for you to speak to you in person) he should want to see you. If for any reason he doesn’t, then go to him yourself and ask him whether he recieved your email/letter. He has to do something about it because the teacher really was bang out of order!

I’m really sorry that your family won’t support you. I pray that Allah always watches over you, because you have some real faith there mashAllah.

give them a smile.
talk to them, and get to know their point of views. discuss, evaluate. give their POV SOME importance.

ps. they dont know, so get your self noticed.
ps2. have faith on ALLAH SWT.

omg, don’t get me started about Germany. :mad:

you should definitely speak to the principal or headmaster. once in highschool, i had taken two weeks off to go to pakistan during the school year and i came back and was sitting in my Art class and was laughing and talkign in class with other people (who were all white) and the teacher got mad and started yelling at me, out of all the people that were talkign and yelling and then he said something, 'and ill send u right back on the plane where u came from.' i didnt say anything to him but there was pin drop silence in the room and right after the class ended, a lot of people met me outside (pretty much all the white kids that were also talking) and said i should go tell the principal or my hs counselor about it. when i went home i told my parents and the next day my dad took me straight to the principal's office and the principal called in my counselor and the Art teacher. he was reprimanded because we also said 'there were many other students in the class that heard him say that and u can bring them in to confirm it' they then transferred me into another Art class whos teacher was amazing and she said that ur not the only one hes discriminated against. i found out later that he was not only racist but also sexist. he would make crude remarks to many females specially the cheerleaders. 2 yrs after i graduated i heard he got fired.

even if she cant get fired but only transferred to another school, it will definitely teach her a lesson to keep her disgusting racist remarks to herself. u should definitely speak to someone thats in a more senior position than her that can actually take steps to reprimand her.

I would be totally outraged if any of my teachers had said something like that to me or any other girl!

I would not let it be, she needs to be known that she cant go around dictating what she believes to be right. You really should voice your concerns with ur head.

Thank god nothing like that does happen here in london. If it does then the teachers dont have much of a leg to stand on