If you study here, shut up!

Matsui,

I can do what I like with my education, maybe I'll go back maybe I won't. Keep your empathy for my countrymen to yourself. You're simply a means to an end (at most), nothing more nothing less. God is the only benfactor there is.

Madhanee,

I never said I have any problems living here, some 'Americans' on this board however, do. It's a free country ain't it :)

Speaking of character I was referring to the Pakistanis who despite as you said suffered from drug/war culture brought on by the Afghan immigrants, still don't stoop to your level demanding "thankfullness" and
"gratitude".

If that's what you're looking for then ask your dog or your wife, not me.

ugh

I CANT BELIEVE i’m replying to this thread again…

Nadia matti pao yaar…Why do I have a feeling these people are just arguing for the sake of arguing? :confused: They get some kind of kick out of bugging us. You or I are not going to achieve anything by wasting our precious time posting replies to this thread. I’d rather read threads in the Joke forum to be honest.

Everytime I talk to these guys, give a logical and honest reply, I get a totally illogical reply, which basically repeats what they have said earlier in a different way. And I think, grreattt!!! JITHAY DI KHOTHI UTHAY AAN KHALOTI.

and, btw, uncle Matsui :slight_smile: what exactly makes you think you know ALL about my life and ALL I am doing and whether or not I am doing anything to bring about improvements as I want to in Pakistan. You don’t know zilch about me uncle :slight_smile: then why the assumptions and accusations GALORE :confused:

And thanks for thinking that I’m better pedigreed but to be honest just coz I got a degree from a good college and I can write fluently I’m not better pedigreed, one is better pedigreed coz of their IKHLAAQ and their EEMAAN and I’m far behind in that sadly…

OK now Irem please go out of this thread :smack:

OG i guess all criticism should come with a disclaimer that even though one may be critical of certain aspects that he/she is thankful about the opportunity to study here :) would that make it okay :D

I think the same applies to tourists too right.

^ LOL

All of us should be required to wear T-Shirts with that disclaimer. Might make a few nutcases happy :rolleyes:

what a congregation of idiots.

you who whine for some thanks for the scrumptious four course meals, and polite reminders that the dessert was delectable, if a little salty, how much coddling a day do you need? should you prefer it, would you like us to spoon with you everytime someone tells you that america has problems with its foreign policy? after all, you did subsidize our education, terribly spoil our ability to spell in english properly, expose us to some of the most tasteless pakistani food possible etc etc etc?

since when did ksa become such a great example that it is cited in every frikkin defensive post about if saudi arabia would allow students there to speak out. feck no, but they dont champion the cause of freedom of speech and human rights, invading countries, killing them so they can speak out.

ksa is a pit. a hellhole when it comes to treating everyone like decent human beings. comparing that to anyone, including pakistan is an abomination.

do you cite someone of German origin about Hitler if he has grievances about an american punching him in the nose? or for instance do you tell him to stop talking about FBI pinioning him into the ground and bashing his head in, when the Gestapo would've hit him ever so harder, in even more painful places?

AFAIK irem hasnt shouted death to america, hunt every pig eating beer breath down like the swine he is. thats impolite in my book, and combined with the constitutional right to bear arms, a little dangerous.

edit: for the record, the education i recieve here is absolutely and without question phenomenal and CANNOT be bettered elsewhere, not atleast in this century. if you ask nicely, i'll make that part of my signature. that way it will accompany all my posts about american crimes, as you so desperately seem to need it.

o ji dil garden garden kar chaddya ravage :smiley: my heart is garden garden after reading ur laater abuv :smiley:

apna ravage sher hay baaki sab heyr pheyr hae :smiley: :k:

:kaboom:

ravage aa gya maidaan mein hoye jamalo :bhangra:

[ok its almost 1am and is wakt mujhay doray partay haen:D ]

:-o

dont take this the wrong way irem but you dance like a man!

sleep well. me out too.

oye aik to tareef kee oopar se :smash:

:stuck_out_tongue:

anyways gnite ravage bhai im not sleeping right now, i wana pull an all nighter tonite :halo: :smiley:

heh. me im out to my aafis at 1pm. sweet decadence.

*Originally posted by ravage: *
heh. me im out to my aafis at 1pm. sweet decadence.

hap phun @ aaphis :D :)

Fraudz,

Thank God somebody gets it around here!

That is all I am saying.

This has nothing to do with free speech, politics or anything else.

It is the simple recognition that an opportunity has been made available after years of collective effort, and one ought to be thankful. It is not about selling your soul, grovelling on ones knees or anything else.

Americans have worked hard for centuries to build an education system. The govenment has funded it, Individuals have given to it, corporations have supported it, and it is at it's essence a force which has lifted up the world. I was offended at a supposedly "smart" kid who is so brash as to think he "earned" his education, when the efforts of thousands of people made that education possible. He just showed up and did some homework.

I also do not mind diversity of opinion on our country and it's policies. It is most appropriate when balanced with thanks for the opportunity THAT THAT SAME government (and the people it represents) have made available.

As Storch is trying to say, when in a country, be polite, be sensitive to the host, be thankful, and make sure your criticism is thoughtfully phrased, and balanced against the hospitalities of your host. Somehow we have transformed a conversation on basic human politeness into a public spasm on freedom of speech. The two are not related....

God bless the Chinese students here! They are more polite than humanly imagineable. They are thankful beyond belief for the pleasure of being in your country. They are very curious about why Americans think the way they do, and act the way they do. They may be coaxed into telling you the things they don't like, or disagree with, but in general they are perfect guests. coming from a Quasi-Totalitarian country, they feel completely liberated coming here. Most of them are more motivated than you can possibly imagine, and can be counted on to achieve top honors in almost any class. The valedictorian, and one of my daughters closet friends at her high school is Chinese, and she is sponsoring nearly everyone in her home town to come to American schools for college. That kid and her friends will become absolutely superb Americans!

*Originally posted by Ohioguy: *
God bless the Chinese students here! ................................................... ................................. .........................................................That kid and her friends will become absolutely superb Americans!

OG I wish u could read Chinese…

Go to a Chinese forum and see what they write about USA there.:D

My wife and I spent lots of time considering adoption of a Chinese child, and met a lot of Chinese diplomats and adoption counselors in the process. I love the Chinese. Absolutely marvelous people. What ever THEY say about us is probably accurate and regretably true!

OG I know how you feel, its the same way europeans feel when american tourists moan and groan about why they dont have ice, or howcome there is no mcdonalds in sight.

manners are manners, and everyone must observe them, but the example that you give of being thankful is not just for foriegn students, I think locals should be thankful too that their forefathers put the effort needed to build such an academic system.

being thankful, and disagreeing are not mutually exclusive. While I am very thankful for the wonderful education I received (although there were some classes i hardly showed up for) and the great oportunities later, I think its only appropriate that I am able to express my feelings, positive and negative about my experiences. I can be very polite but there would always be some who would not like to hear criticism no matter how sincere in nature.

*Originally posted by storch: *
I will bring this up again.

I wish to study in S.A. For beer money I need a part-time job. I figure with a million + people around for the Hajj, I should open a hot-dog stand staffed by lingerie models.

I thinks it's silly that you can't sell hot dogs there. I dissent! Very strongly as a matter of fact! I will tell them that female flesh is not obscene, for that is what I believe. They're lucky to have me there a studyin' by gum. Defend me. Tell me it's ok everyone, because it's about me and what I think, and the way I think things should be in S.A. Right?

Wieners in Mecca! Wieners in Mecca!

yeah, they should allow gay parties in Vatican and Pope should join them with beer n wine, and cows should be slaughtered in all Hindu temples, you are so right !

Mini Me,

Of course, I am happy for anyone receiving an education.

That is why the institutions are there, that was the dream of those who built them, and continue to build them.

But, once you have received something from an institution like this, it is your duty to give back, and to say thank you to those who helped create the opportunity. At the end of the day I will settle for enlightenment. I was hoping for more.

as someone said that govt susbidies educational institutes "heavily", by paying "heavy" taxes aren't we subsidizing govt.? ;)

generalisation:rolleyes:

Instead of bashing Saudi government and Saudi policies, I would agree with ravage here that beshak Saudi policies are not worth citing as the best examples but they are not as bad as “freakin bigots”. And mind it that I’m not to defend Saudi Arabia here. IT was just my opinion and as Irem mentioned earlier, I’m off to read replies in the jokes forum as this does not serve any purpose.

Frankly my conclusion is that most foreign students here on Gupshup are poorly behaved brats who figure they are owed something from the US. I say charge them double, and keep out the riff raff.....

On the top of that they spout their xenophobia knowing fully well there are no consequences.

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
Historically most dissenters brought up in a Imperial education system tended to rebel, and use the same knowledge against their former "masters". Gandhi was Western educated and almost brought down an empire (consider his famous quote, when he was asked about what he thought of Western civilisation, he said "I think it would be a good idea."). I guess it was the same accusations of being "ungratetful" that led to him being called a "half naked faqir" by Churchill.

The other side of the argument is that, foreign students contribute a lot to the US and Western economies...

well said. totally agree. no one doing no one any favours. you dont get s*** without quid pro quo

When we try to put our raw values into words, it is tempting to continue the argument… and to keep providing new reasons for every statement, but beyond a certain point, the argument gets dreary and humdrum with confusion, circularity, and self-deceit… hence, this thread is hereby CLOSED! – i basta ya