Re: If you became the leader of pakistan tomorrow.....
Will anyone put an end to Indian trolling?
I guess not!!
I will remove all Jagirdaars from Pakistan. Eliminate the feudal system completely. Secularise Pakistan's constitution completely. Make more provinces for more development. make a new economic plan. Give more incentives for foreign investment.
But who am I kidding. It's impossible for me to become the President of Pakistan because I'm Christian and the current constitution says only a Muslim can become President or PM :(
It seems it is impossible for the ordinary muslims to become the leader too. This right is reserved for just the elites and their offsprings. The horrific truth is that Bilawal Bhutto may actually become our next leader...
But please don't give up hope. Our time may not come but our children, (regardless of their faith) might become the leaders in future. Only 50 years ago who would have thought a kenyan muslim's son would be the leader of America...
to do all that you will need money
which means spending cuts in some areas, where?
and increase revenue in others..getting 90%+ hadd-haram tax cheat pakistanis to pay taxes may be a good start (yes I understand that a good portion would be below poverty line and not pay any taxes)
*..and for jobs in factories etc, you will need training and good management, otherwise, what products will be made at what cost and would they be competitive in quality and price against imports or will you protect local products, will they be competitive globally as exports. * not to say this is impossible, but we need to shift our focus on education from the typical primary to college type of things to formalized and standards based vocational training
and really this tax mess has to be sorted out, why blame zardaris and chaudhries for corruption **when the majority of the people in that country cant be bothered to pay taxes**
these our technical issues which are dealt by the experts in that field. I once heard an agricultural expert on Pakistani TV. He said that we not only have the capacity to produce enough wheat to feed the whole population of Pakistan but enough surplus to export twice that amount. Surely the leader's job is to have the vision and the will to make his countrymen do the job.
Why should Zardari et al not get the blame? Has he actually declared all his assets and paying the taxes due on those himself? Through the sales tax alone, percentage wise the poor people probably end up paying more than Zardari from their income. Also all pakistanis employed by the government get their income tax deducted from their salaries. This includes doctors, nurses, and even ordinary clerks. I just cannot see how the ordinary pakistani can be blamed for things that are clearly for the leaders to sort out.
Anyway another thing I would do in the first week, is to make the law that only people who have BA degree or above are eligible to vote. This way the illiterates cant vote for illiterates.
Why should Zardari et al not get the blame? Has he actually declared all his assets and paying the taxes due on those himself? Through the sales tax alone, percentage wise the poor people probably end up paying more than Zardari from their income. Also all pakistanis employed by the government get their income tax deducted from their salaries. This includes doctors, nurses, and even ordinary clerks. I just cannot see how the ordinary pakistani can be blamed for things that are clearly for the leaders to sort out. .
sorry you missed the point.. I am not saying the leaders are not to blame...they get their share of the blame, the point was that a nation where the overwhelming majority of people dont bother to pay their taxes to the nation can look in the mirror as they pass the blame. They have a pretty big hand in what is wrong in the nation.
..and yes I fully realize there are people who get taxes deducted from their salaries, but that is a tiny portion of the total population. There is a significantly larger group which does not pay taxes. When we add people stealing power, water, telecom services etc, taking shortcuts by paying ppl off, being active promoters and participants in corruption, then while it may feel good to point to the leaders and say they are bad, but it does not absolve the nation of its own misdeeds
these our technical issues which are dealt by the experts in that field. I once heard an agricultural expert on Pakistani TV. He said that we not only have the capacity to produce enough wheat to feed the whole population of Pakistan but enough surplus to export twice that amount. Surely the leader's job is to have the vision and the will to make his countrymen do the job.
Nit just a vision, but a plan and that basically means showing the nation what they will do and how. once the nation gets beyond sloganeering and ethnic politics, even those that claim to have solutions need to be asked to provide more concrete direction. maybe not to the nth level of detail but what will they do, where, when, how. everyone talks about improving healthcare or education, okay great..so if its education, where will the schools be opened, when, who will staff the where will teachers come from, how will they be trained, where will funding come from. A 'vision' of improving education is all good, motherhood and apple pie stuff.. but how that vision will be realized is a whole diff ball game
Re: If you became the leader of pakistan tomorrow…
:k: Bermuda triangle, YES! please make it a bigger company and add a few american dada’s too
they all need a long long vacation ![]()
I will put a robot in charge who will make decisions based on logic and will not be swayed by religion or corrupted by power and money:D
If I became the leader of Pakistan, I would...
1) Suspend democracy and the constitution. Disband all political parties. Fund a secret police to observe and contain all political opposition. Henceforth pakistan would be ruled with the iron fist. Since democracy in Pakistan is a vehicle for the like of Zardari and Nawaz Sharif to continue and dominate rule, it obviously does not work.
2) Turn the presidential palace into a free medical clinic / hospital for the poor.
3) Build a small, modest 2 bedroom house for myself to live in, albeit with tall blast proof security walls around and large grounds around to create a flat, open security zone around the house that no one could sneak across unobserved.
With that done....
4) Implement the death sentence for corruption. Set up a tip line that anyone can call to report any goverment official who asks for a bribe. A special agency will carry out an undercover investigation to attempt to record this person and catch them in the act of requesting a bribe, or accepting a bribe if offered. If they are caught in the act, summary public execution will follow the next day.
5) Seize possession of most agricultural land from large land owners to break feudal power. This land to be rented back to peasants by my government at cheap prices. All income gained from this rent is to be used to subsidise agriculture for the poorest peasants.
6) Revamp the tax system to acknowledge the difficulties of collecting tax in Pakistan. All income and sales taxes to be eliminated - instead, customs duties and corporate taxes raised. All goods/services in Pakistan should be sold at a much higher price, with taxes being collected when they are made/imported. To compensate the people, they will pay no tax at all.
7) To counter the smuggling that this will cause, an increase in funding to customs agencies.
8) Increase the salary of the police.
9) Require all masjids, churches, temples, gurdwaras, and other places of worship to only deliver sermons that are approved by the goverment. A special police department to be set up to enforce this.
10) Revise the blasphemy law to strengthen the burden of proof that is required to convict someone of blasphemy. Introduce a clause that allows a guilty individual to admit and recant blasphemous speech and accept weeks of receiving religious teaching in prison instead of death.
I will fist fix our foreign policies. I would want my nation to appear as sincere and honest friend of any and every nation of the world (yes, that includes Israel, India and Afghanistan too). When you fix your foreign policies, you need to spend less on your defense and more on the more important matters like education and health.
I would give all the minority Provinces what they are demanding. If Balochistan wants bigger share of natural gas profits, I would do that as they deserve it.
I will make sure that we pass a bill where, to register a political party and especially to take part in election, you need to prove some support of general public at national level. That will eliminate 272 parties getting one seat each in national assembly and lota baazi starts. To stop lota bazi, we want some party wining major 2/3rd seats and that can only happen if we have only 2 or 3 parties contesting.
I would cut down budget to minimum so we do not need any more qarza.
I would pass another bill that makes it a law for every political party to have an open internal elections every 5 years to chose their leader.
if TLK becomes leader of Pakistan, as emperor of India, i will send him two haathis and five motis (pearls, not fatties) as franship gift.
I just hope that india does not get such a kanjoos emperor.
Ask for the 5 fatties as well and close the deal!
If I become leader of Pakistan, I will do loot khasoot, fill up my bank accounts, move the assets overseas, throw any political opponent in jail, get kickbacks for major contracts, borrow millions from banks and then not pay.
hey hey hey....at least admire me for being honest!!!!
That's just the first week....
When you get to "what will you do in the first 3 months" thread, i'll pop back in and give numbers 2, 3, and 4. :D
6) Revamp the tax system to acknowledge the difficulties of collecting tax in Pakistan. All income and sales taxes to be eliminated - instead, customs duties and corporate taxes raised. All goods/services in Pakistan should be sold at a much higher price, with taxes being collected when they are made/imported. To compensate the people, they will pay no tax at all.
You realise you're emphasising a system based wholly on indirect taxes? How is that supposed to bring relief to the poor? At least with income tax you have your income bands and tax rates set accordingly. If it were down to me I would try to invest all resources into bringing the income tax system up to scratch and bringing the self employed under the tax net. I'd make sure property tax was properly implemented and tax the agricultural landlords too. At the same time, I'd try to eliminate sales tax or any other form of value added tax from basic necessities (food, clothing, fuel etc.). The vast majority of the country's consumers are poor and are unfairly forced into paying the same amount of tax on their purchases as the rich.
Other stuff I would focus on would be infrastructure development in the form of providing good public transport systems in urban areas. A standardised bus transit system in each city with a rapid mass transit system in the form of underground/overground rail in cities. This would go some way in bringing down traffic and pollution levels.
I would rehaul the education system. Cut the army budget in half and divert the resources towards developing schools in every part of the country. I would propose a curriculum rehaul in accordance with the standards required of education today around the world.
Of course to ensure all this the first step would be a major revamp of all government institutions. The Federal Board of Revenue has made some progress in terms of automating the filing of returns and making the process easier but there is a long way to go yet and that can only be achieved with the right personnel. Inefficient resource hogging institutions like Pakistan Railways and PIA would have to go through major restructuring to set them on the path to recovery. Again all this requires the hiring of people at merit and not waasta. This would also effectively deal with the deep rooted problem of nepotism in government institutions.
Lastly, I would try make the judicial system truly independent and ensure the enforcement of every decision made by the courts of Pakistan. I would also bring about land reforms to start rooting out the feudal system.
Edit: Forgot to mention. Enforce child labour laws with an iron fist. No kid to ever be seen in a workplace when he/she should be attending a public school. Any employer of a child labourer, or of any form of bonded labour should be sentenced and fined heavily.
sorry you missed the point.. I am not saying the leaders are not to blame...they get their share of the blame, the point was that a nation where the overwhelming majority of people dont bother to pay their taxes to the nation can look in the mirror as they pass the blame. They have a pretty big hand in what is wrong in the nation.
..and yes I fully realize there are people who get taxes deducted from their salaries, but that is a tiny portion of the total population. There is a significantly larger group which does not pay taxes. When we add people stealing power, water, telecom services etc, taking shortcuts by paying ppl off, being active promoters and participants in corruption, then while it may feel good to point to the leaders and say they are bad, but it does not absolve the nation of its own misdeeds
Nit just a vision, but a plan and that basically means showing the nation what they will do and how. once the nation gets beyond sloganeering and ethnic politics, even those that claim to have solutions need to be asked to provide more concrete direction. maybe not to the nth level of detail but what will they do, where, when, how. everyone talks about improving healthcare or education, okay great..so if its education, where will the schools be opened, when, who will staff the where will teachers come from, how will they be trained, where will funding come from. A 'vision' of improving education is all good, motherhood and apple pie stuff.. but how that vision will be realized is a whole diff ball game
I agree with all your points, however I do think that a leader just needs a good team of experts who make these plans. I'm sure Obama's health care reforms were not thought out by him personally being a lawyer himself, he just had the vision and a good team of experts from that field. As far as education is concerned I propose a very simple idea: Every little place in pakistan does not have a school, but they always seem to have a masjid. Just provide these masjids with computers and internet. So education can be through distance learning. I would give this mammoth task to Sal from the KHAN ACADEMY.. no Im not advertising on his behalf but do think he is a hero of sorts...
Anyway, you have been the devil's advocate up until now but still haven't answered the original question. what would you do if you were the leader???
You realise you're emphasising a system based wholly on indirect taxes? How is that supposed to bring relief to the poor? At least with income tax you have your income bands and tax rates set accordingly. If it were down to me I would try to invest all resources into bringing the income tax system up to scratch and bringing the self employed under the tax net. I'd make sure property tax was properly implemented and tax the agricultural landlords too. At the same time, I'd try to eliminate sales tax or any other form of value added tax from basic necessities (food, clothing, fuel etc.). The vast majority of the country's consumers are poor and are unfairly forced into paying the same amount of tax on their purchases as the rich.
Agreed that was the intent of my comment earlier make salaries electronic so income tax becomes automatic. It can be set-up in a week but it will take months to enforce.
to phr log Jardari ko bhool jaein gey aur hr sms main pktun ka naam he hoga ![]()
seriously sb se peley lions,cycles,teers,patangs and all fake parties ko khatem kr dounga ![]()
Shall a play The bureaucratic snob here and start writing a fine note on all of your day dreams ... :D
Leaders are nothing in the country - where establishment is the real power :)
It is good to hear all these plans - but why dont some of you step into the real world and make me a budget for Pakistan considering tax measures , you would like to implement :)
Ye day dreams nae hain. If u belong to any party, do pray for me k me khudanakhwasta leader na bn jaon ![]()
Thanx aap ne khud hi solve kr dia is prb ko.
Agr real power establishment hai to phr hm in jokers aur leaders ko q paal raey hain.
Kick them off.