Same concept, better word choice.
So Laymen terms:
If your wife is unfaithful, first, try and work out the problem and conflict by talking to her. (Same as the first verse I quoted.) Then, if the problem persists, cut her off from “sharing beds”. And if after that she still doesn’t stop, then beat her. And even then, lightly. Not giving her bruises/ cuts/ making her look like death just passed her.
The Prophet Muhammad (SAW) said, “The best among you are those who treat their wives in the best manner.” - Al-Tirmidhi, Hadith 217
I've already read your version of the translation, you probably missed the editing. However it doesn't limit beating to just women who're unfaithful. It says to those women on whose part you see ill-conduct. That's open to interpretation. And even if it said "if they're unfaithful", it doesn't allow women to flog their husbands when they're unfaithful. Are you okay with being flogged if your husband thinks your conduct was unbecoming of his high standards.
So either I accept that it would be OK for a man to beat me, or I’m a non-believer of Islam as a whole?
And no, Islam does not condone occasional beatings. Even in the texts that both you and I quoted… it does not say “if you wife doesn’t do as you say, beat the crap out of her.”
It says, talk it out/ work it out, take something away from her, and then, if needed**,** lightly hit her.
Either way, I’m pretty sure these cowards that beat their wives aren’t think about religious allowance while hitting her. They’re just mad their chai wasn’t hot or that she didn’t call him “his highness”.
So either I accept that it would be OK for a man to beat me, or I'm a non-believer of Islam as a whole?
Sorry if that's how I sounded. What I meant was, stop being apologetic. The religion says hitting is allowed.
And what's light? Who defines light?
It's hard to take a religion seriously when it has teachings like this. You might be okay with spousal abuse, I'm not.
So I’m sitting here arguing with you over this, you’re defending it based on what you thing the scriptures are saying… and you think I’m OK with domestic abuse? LOL…
Well, if we’re going to sit here and choose to cling onto just one excerpt, then here’s another translation, which goes into detail about what is considered “ill-conduct” in this verse.
Feel free to read the entire fatwa. It goes into the nitty gritty.
Fatwa is someones interpretation of the Surah. Someone more extreme could issue a different Fatwa. The verse is open to a diverse array of interpretations.
I guess I should just give up. I'm not in the mood to explain why I have a problem with the religion. Good for you that you have faith.
a husband slaps her wife and says "banda osi ko marta hai jis say pyar nahi karta"
wife punches him a few time till hes breathless and replies"tou aap ko kya lagta hai ke main aap say pyar nahi karti"
and please beat each other and justify with religious statements. Everyone needs a beating these days.
BRB leme beat my wife because she doesnt understand I dont like garam masala in my food. Zuban say thori samjhay gi begum aur humanity naam ki cheez tou hai nahi aaj kal.
In my opinion our Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) was walking / talking Quran.
We should not just extract quotes and put it here because without the knowlege of Hadith and Islamic Jurisprudence...and a lot more...we cannot exactly understand the true meaning of a verse.
There is no Verse / Hadith or any prove that the Prophet (Muhammad) did hit his wife. That is the only prove for me that the husbands should NOT hit their wifes.