Sheeda, my history teacher reference were for the personalities from the past. Edhi sahab is a current person, so obviously not part of our history.
Mohammed might be controversial according to some, but many historians considered him a very impactful person.
Diwana, my criteria of a great Muslim is someone who fought for human rights or serve humans regardless of their religion or nationality. Could your find me one such person from history?
Re: If Islam is such a great religion, why did we fail to produce great muslims
The character of muhammad sallal laho alehe wassallam was so strong…muslim today follow islam but our character make us questionable…cant we make our as good as it is supposed to be the character of any Muslim…may Allah make us strong n powerful Muslim..Ameen
Then I am hopeful you would consider every Muslim conqueror, ruler or fighter who fought against previous bad regimen (regardless of which religion they belong to) as the one who fought for human rights…including the Prophet SAW himself.
Tariq bhai say Tariq Bin Zyad story of burning the boats controversial.
Joke aside:
Even Auragnzeb (After his ancestors had failed) is made controversial and he did try to abolish the ultimate human rights violation acts of Sati in India, long before British forces came in to power.
Edhi’s foundation was founded in the 1950s. That’s a long time ago and very much a part of our history and should be in the textbooks, no? But then again, who said textbooks or that even history itself is not biased? As the saying goes, it’s written by those in power. I looked at the list of international awards that Edhi has received and there are many of them. One among them was British, but I didn’t see any from the US or perhaps I overlooked it. So, there you go, TLK. He would be an example of a great Muslim who “fought for human rights or served humans regardless of their religion or nationality” as that is what you’ve listed as your criteria.
And if he doesn’t cut it then maybe it is because you have attached two shartain/conditions to “greatness.” A Muslim figure cannot be “great” if they are not recognized and respected by the West and if they don’t have a squeaky clean image. The latter is tough because humans that are lesser than the prophets are very, very, fallible. As for the former, why is validation from the West so important…or why is it so important that its absence makes one question the validity/greatness of their religion? Perhaps the people in power or the forces pulling the strings do not want Islam and Muslims to be recognized globally for humanitarian efforts and want the faith and its followers to be seen as barbaric.
To do apples to apples comparison, it may be best to do an analysis post industrial revolution. The names mentioned Jesus et al - are way too much in the past. Difficult to be objective wrt those personalities.
Even better would be to restrict to last 200 years.
While I don’t have stats to back this, it is a good bet that the vast majority of pioneers in the modern era are far from religious. They focussed more on Science and disccovery.
Neil degrasse Tydon is not a believer. But he is full of wisdom.
Reality is you wont find lot of innovators among religious scholars - be they Hindu Muslim Sikh Christian etc.
You are correct.
in post1 except for Theresa, the others were civil rights people. Mandela Gandhi King ( who was a Gandhian). Though King was a reverend, his emphasis is on civil rights. ( I hear Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan also known as Frontier Gandhi was on par with Gandhi. I would include him. Not Jinnah who was Nehrus equivalent).
Other than such leaders the ones who make impact are innovators.
Both civil rights leaders and innovators are not typically driven by religion. There aren’t confined to bounds of ONE specific religion. They don’t say my religion and my book is perfect. And other books are flawed They are bigger than that. They constantly keep learning. From ALL sources. And it shows in their output.
When and where you think muslims suffered in such conditions where they would need mendela or king ?
just curious.
If muslims did not suffer like that, then why is that ?
just curious.
^Are you implying that people living in Afghanistan (the majority of which did not support the Taliban) did not suffer during that era and that suffering is limited to exploitation of the masses by the rich?
ok Boss here is your answer, muslims society is some what self tuning. Even at their lowest point. Things never get too out of control. All that is done through non-super-hero common people.
So we are like birds or ants working towards some thing, not even knowing it on rational level.
some what when God promise israel that he would give the message in the hands of gentiles.
Muslims in the modern world are selfish as far as the powerful ones are concerned … Islam is demonised by the media … The majority of the Muslims are self-absorbed and do not have the himma of helping whole societies … Many active Muslims today are better known for their political stance or religious stance and that is never going to accrue a universal crowd … The accrual of a universal crowd in the world today is no longer possible … Unless it fits a personality who does not sell his/her religion. There are many active Muslims who are helping impartially but they will not be given any limelight … The Mandela story can be found many times over in Guantanamo … But since they represent an ideology which is unlike the ideology of neutral morals such as race … Then they will not be raised on a pedestal … Especially if they do so they would have to demonise themselves … Mother T … Is the last of a previous era too … She had a following … Her own Christian devotees made her famous … Muslims prefer to operate under the fame radar … And truly Islam was so great that such people were everywhere and are still around … And they have no need to be famous or recognised … Because their drivers and motivation lie not in impressing the world of humans … And even if they are seen and given limelight like Edhi Sahib … No way will they be given the attention they deserve … By the West.