If Bwood music is so popular, why don't some Pak singers start singing in that style

Bwood = Bollywood.

Bollywood music is IMMENSELY popular in Pakistan. So why hasn’t some Pakistani singer thought, “hmmm.. maybe I can copy this style of singing, and get more popular”.

Seems logical to me. Most of these current day singers are commercial artists, they are in the music business to make money. Very few are in it for the art. It’s all about the money, so why not follow the path where the money is?

Re: If Bwood music is so popular, why don't some Pak singers start singing in that st

Thats why Adnan Sami Khan moved to India.

Its not easy to sing the bollywood style. I mean you have to look for a song in any other language (spanish, english, arabic, urdu) make sure that it has not been copied yet. Then take that music, have someone write lyrics that fit that music, and then have someone sing it. I dont think Pakistanis would take that much time to go through this headache.

Re: If Bwood music is so popular, why don't some Pak singers start singing in that st

The thing is Pakistani bands have their own style.The indian bands also sing in the Bollywood style which becomes so boring after a while.

If the music I see on those music channels is called "style", then I can see why Bollywood music is so popular. That's not style, that's Bigray hoay bachay with nothing better to do, who can afford expensive music instruments.

Just about every mehendi or shaadi I have been to, they play Bollywood music. Both here and in Pakistan. I remember one time there was a wedding singer at a wedding in Pakistan. He took requests, and every single request was for some Bollywood song. At mehendis, everyone wants to dance to Bollywood music.

to sing filmi songs u need to have a particular sureeli voice and bolly excells init ..indian pop music is not dat good and we excell in pop music....but yeah if pak singers wanna sing bolly style they can surely go ahead (they have to be sureele though).....but i think that its the voice and the music which makes it a bolly song not the style....

Re: If Bwood music is so popular, why don’t some Pak singers start singing in that st

seriously? newsflash, the trend is going the opposite way! its the Pakistani music which has made a stronger impact in bollywood in the recent past not the other way around. i think bolly movies are still bigger in Pakistan as compared to bolly music, yes its very popular but it is not in direct competition with local music, they are two very different genres.

bollywood music is filmi, all about playback singing, a totally different genre than the pop music scene in Pakistan where elements of sufi, rock, semi-classical, qawali and folk are all heard distinctively and sometimes combined. overall i think our music is much more diverse and more evolved right now than the jingle sounding repetitive remixes that bolly is churning out.

Love it or hate it Pakistani music is continuing to increase in popularity, more than other genre singers in bollywood. Case in point are examples of local singers being HUGE hits in bollywood like Rahat Fateh Khan, Amanat Ali, Atif Aslam, Shafqat Ali and bands such as Strings, Jal etc

interesting read:

http://www.bollyspice.com/view.php/4-the-emergence-of-pakistani-singers-in-bollywood.html

They got popular, after getting discovered by Indians and working with their people to produce songs for their market. How is that “increasing in popularity”. This is like back in the early 00s when Latin artists were popular in the US. Who cares about Ricky Martin, Enrique Iglesias or Marc Anthony now.

^ lol thats a first. your general knowledge regarding pakistani music is really very poor. you are trying to say that Rahat Fateh, Strings, Junoon, Jal, Atif Aslam, Fuzon etc etc were *"discovered" by indians?! *

they were a huge success and houselhold names in pakistan way before their endeavours across the border, their fame in pakistan is what got them noticed in india, where they no-doubt got a lot more international exposure and a bigger platform to perform but locally they were already bigger n better. thats what i was clearing you up on, that locally our musicians do not need to be copycats to be "more popular". bolly music and our music, really apples and oranges.

this topic is a watse of space. first of all, there's no such thing as bolly music style. bolly music is second hand music since it's all ripped from spanish, feench, malaysian, pakistani, and so many other countries. I don't think there's even a single bolly song that can be called purely original.

in india, there's no literature no tv no music all they have is their film industry. even their pop industry did not flourish because of that.

On the other hand, pakistani music always had its own distinct identity. we have so many bands solo artists varied styles of music from nusrat fateh ali to strings we have so much variety and creativity.I don't see why anybody in their right frame of mind would even compare our music industry with this sham called bolly music. if it weren't for pakistani music most of their music directors would have lost their jobs since all they do is listen to a pakistani artist , remix his music and call it bolly style LOL

Thoroughly disagree. You have not yet seen some of the non-Hindi rock bands we have in India. I intend to remedy that :slight_smile: (Will edit this post when I am ready).

Edit: Indian Rock Music

Funniest post I've seen in a long time. "No literature no tv no music" LOL, you are blissfully unaware of the rich diversity of Indian culture, literature and music. I suggest you lput your pakistani bias aside for a minute and don't talk out of your hat (excellent works penned by Indian authors- both in local languages and in English can be researched online). A selection of some modern Indian rock music can be found in the thread I will attach shortly to my previous post. And let's not even get to the television bit (from first hand accounts of pakistanis themselves, pakistani women are more addicted to our 'saas-bahu' soaps, our dance contests and our vocal talent shows than Indians themselves)

Pakistani singers are talented in their own right, but Indian singers no less. I will, in due course, open a thread about classical Indian singing and instruments if the members here evince enough interest in it. Pakistani artists cross the border despite uncertainties because Bollywood is simply more lucrative for them. And not all bolly music is "second hand music". Infact you would be hard-pressed to find any music that does not build upon chord patterns, arrangements, percussion and riffs already previously attempted. Innovation is not always inventive :)

rich diversity of indian culture LOL :D .... it's you guys who need a reality check badly!!

modern indian classical music was created by muslim gharanas so thank us for giving your culture some diveristy and innovation.

secondly, nobody would be interseted in listening to ABBA in or nusrat fateh ali khan in a cheap indian remix so please don't waste time posting them here.

pakistani women are not addicted to saas bahu soaps.... Infact, people are fed up of watching indian styled soaps. this forum alone has several threads criticizing indian styled soaps. check them out to clear your confusion.

Sorry to burst your bubble lad, but it's you who needs a "reality check".

Indian classical music has its origins right from the Vedas, where the hymns from the Rig Veda were incorporated into the Samavedas as 'Samagana'. Infact 'ragas' come from 'jatis', which in turn evolved from the 'Samaganas.' And music was first formalized in India in connection with preserving the 'sruti' texts- as a result of which prosody and chanting were important- and were enshrined in the two 'Vedanganas' called 'Shiskha' and 'Chhandas'. The general notation system, which is based on the classical devnagari script, used by Indian musicians is the creation of Pandit Vishnu Narayan Bhatkhande in the 20th century. Even during the Mughal era, much of the musical forms innovated by north Indian pioneers merged with the Bhakti tradition, which is strongly related to the Vaishnavite movement and remained influential across the centuries. Infact, some of the greatest, most notable figures in Mughal courts were luminaries like Tansen, Vidhyapathi, Jayadev, Chandidas and Meerabai. There were others too: like the Sikh prince Raja Mansinh: who penned the famous 'Mankutuhal' and several other religious and secular works. Even in the 'modern' era, which is what you refer to, much of the influence originated within what is now modern India: from the Lucknowi musical tradition which gave rise to the strain of Ragpradhan gan around the turn of the century and came to influence the music of renaissance Bengal, to the seminal work 'Hindustani Sangeetha Padhathi' by Chaturpandit Vishnu Narayan Bhatkande, which consolidated the ragas as we now know them today. And contrary to your limited (and popular) belief, there are two main genres of Indian classical music: a) Hindusthani music- as described above (which originated in the Sanskrit tradition and subsequently influenced by Persian culture- particularly Amir Khosrau of the Delhi sultanate) and is today what is North Indian, Pakistani, Afghani and Nepali music; and b) Carnatic music, which originated in peninsular India, is far more structured and also evolved from Hindu scriptures bereft of any persian or mughal influence. Both primary subgenres however together comprise classical Indian music. Shuvey?

We have nothing to "thank" you for. Our Mughal heritage is as intrinsic a part of our culture as our Vedic, Satavahaana and Mahajanapada heritages, and we are proud as hell of it!

That is your opinion. Evidently, our "cheap Indian remixes" featuring "Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan" are a big hit in your country.

You think a few "threads on this forum" is reflective of the general pakistani culture? LOL ROTFLMAO. Kindly visit your local neighbourhood babushka or taai and watch them as they sit glued to the ridiculous 'Kyonki saas bhi kabhi bahu thi' or the equally idiotic 'Desh Mein Nikla HoGa Chand' during their leisure time. Infact, if I recall correctly, wasn't there a thread about 'Indian culture invading Pakistan' on this forum not so long ago? I'm no fan of Indian soap operas- infact I detest them because they are a glorified, hyperbolized perversion of our culture. But to say that the average married pakistani woman is "not addicted to saas bahu soaps" is the pinnacle of ludicrity.

LOL all rubbish...now I know where indian media get its facts from. indians in general deem themsleves as a superior race and distort history to match their prejudices. I've just one thing to say to you indian classical music is your heritage just like the Taj mahal. so always thank us for them.

depite claiming to have a diverse and rich culture, all indians can come up with are skimpily dessed up women gyrating to cheap rip-offs LOL

A culturally rich culture should atleast come up with one original flick!!!!!

Re: If Bwood music is so popular, why don’t some Pak singers start singing in that st

http://www.bollycat.com/

Khawaja Khurshid Anwar on modern indian classical music and its origins:
http://hindi-films-songs.com/anwar-1a.wmv
http://hindi-films-songs.com/anwar-1b.wmv
http://hindi-films-songs.com/anwar-1c.wmv
http://hindi-films-songs.com/anwar-2a.wmv
http://hindi-films-songs.com/anwar-2b.wmv
http://hindi-films-songs.com/anwar-2c.wmv

I agree with Wonderfulgurl. They were already very much famous and popular in Pak and in some Western Countries too. The only diff that India has made to their popularity is coz of India's huge market and the fact that indians are more crazy about music etc (part of their religion). Pakistani singers are singing in their own style, raw and ORIGINAL, which is the actual reason of their popularity and which makes them diff from Indians and ohters in Asia. If you have noticed, even indian singers are trying to copy their style. Indian pop sucks and 90% of songs are copied from Arabic or English or blah blah musics. The one they make theirselves is pure Noise.

As far as Money is concerned, then plz do not forget that Indian producers are also making huge money thru our singers too.

You guys do know that these bands like Jal, Atif Aslam, Strings etc are "borrowing" from the Western style of music right? 30 years ago, Nazia and Zoheb did the same thing. They saw that Western pop/rock was popular in Pakistan, so they thought why not sing in that style.

So if they can sing in Western style, why not sing in Bollywood style?