If Benazir knew this would happen...

Re: If Benazir knew this would happen…

It seems to be true that PPP leaders are showing little regard for those killed and injured in this terrorist attack, thus far.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\10\20\story_20-10-2007_pg7_27

Some PPP workers demoralised

By Shahzad Shah

KARACHI: Some workers and supporters of the Pakistan Peoples Party were demoralized as they felt they had been neglected by their leaders at hospital. “We have not been contacted nor has anyone enquired about our health so far even after so many hours,” said Imran, 25, a PPP supporter from Malir while talking to Daily Times at Civil Hospital Karachi Friday. He said that it did not matter to him as he belonged to Karachi, but he showed concern over the conditions of those injured workers who belonged to other provinces.

Another PPP worker named Ameer Muhammad, a resident of Lahore, said that what ever happened that night could never be forgotten. He said that Bhutto was fortunate and had a narrow escape for which he thanked God. But Ameer seemed a little disappointed with his leaders from the Punjab and Sindh. He demanded they make certain arrangements for their return. Meanwhile, Pakistan Muslim League leader Senator Nisar Memon visited JPMC and inquired about the health of those who were injured. While talking to them, Memon expressed his full support for the PPP workers and supporters and condemned the attack on Benazir’s rally.

The only PPP leader to visit at JPMC and CHK was MNA Pir Fazal Shah. He was unhappy with the local leadership of the PPP and demanded the party leaders establish blood donation camps at every hospital. He also urged them to visit the workers and supporters instead of sitting at Bilawal House. On Friday afternoon, Nafees Siddiqi visited JPMC

Re: If Benazir knew this would happen...

I don't recall Musharraf putting so many peoples' lives at risk just so that he could have the self-centered night of glory as his carriage travelled at snail speed through a city, that quite frankly, doesn't give a crap. No cities do - this event has disrupted life and the safety of its citizens.

The government has offered Benazir to fly her from location to location as it had information that an explosion was in planning. It had warned Benazir, but she was too proud to listen.

This event is a catastrophe and she hasn't even BEGUN her work here in Pakistan. To top it off, her party is sitting at Bilawal House and nearly no arrangements have been made to visit those injured and console families whose loved ones have died. Instead, after the attack, Benazir was being interviewed and acutally SMILING and happily chattering on about how people have come from all over Pakistan to see her (not to mention that's a LIE, as she paid people to come).

Musharraf's government has NEVER done anything so crazy and pointless before. Lives may have been lost in recent years, but at least there was a REASON for the deaths (i.e. fighting extremists taking over a masjid, etc).

There was no reason for such a massive loss of deaths and damage to city property - she just wanted to have a slow parade so that she could get her publicity.

Oh no. No no. The government is precisely trying to cut down on the people behind these attacks. But you know what? When they take action, people poo poo them, saying "Hai, Allah, hamare musalman bhaiyon ko maar rahe hain". Nevermind becharara musalman bhai has a grenade in HIS hand and doesn't care if it hits YOU, as long as his pro-jihaadi message gets carried thru the world.

No one is saying don't hold elections, etc. The government was trying to arrange full security for Benazir, and trying to arrange for a speech session where people would have been safer. Instead she exposed herself in the bus, and had so many people milling around her as she slowly crept thru city. SLOWLY. Could she at least have driven her truck faster? Why so slowly? Clearly, do you not smell the scent of pride and showing off?

Or do you not have a problem with self-centered prideful leaders who think politics is their playground?

Iman se, she could have just joined the cat-walk if she wanted that much attention.

http://www.softcom.net/webnews/wed/ai/Ayb111338548.RVFH_HSI.html

http://www.boston.com/news/world/asia/articles/2007/10/18/loyalists_turn_out_to_welcome_bhutto/

She should have taken the government offer of being flown by helicopter the 10 miles from the airport to the Quaid’s Mazar. Also, the PPP welcome rally could have been held at one of Karachi’s big parks, where people could have been searched before entry. But she and her party leaders chose otherwise, and also ignored the repeated government warnings of likely suicide bombings and we have 140 innocent people dead, and 550 injured.

I am not advocating BB's cheap publicity. Read this thread and everyone has used it to score political points. How are we any better than the politicans we so despise.

BB haters are taking comfort in putting the blame on her and trying to score points so are Mush supporters trying to hide the govt failures in this operation by posting news items blaming other parties. We need to rise above this and think of Pakistan.

Yes BB might be wrong and yes the govt might have fialed in providing the security properly but lets not lose focus on one point and that is **the underlying threat to our nation and way of life posed by the guys carrying out these acts. That where our focus should be. If we keep this tradition of point scoring and not addressing the root cause there willl be no Pakistan left. Lets get our priorities right.

[quote=ehsan;5384271 but lets not lose focus on one point and that is the underlying threat to our nation and way of life posed by the guys carrying out these acts. That where our focus should be. If we keep this tradition of point scoring and not addressing the root cause there willl be no Pakistan left. Lets get our priorities right.

Yes indeed.

Kindly enlighten me where did you find my priorities wrong...

I condemn the terrorist for trying to impose their ideology on us forcibly and by scaring us through these acts all in the name of Islam...

I condemn BB for being insensitive to public safety sitting in her rocket proof float to gain some vulgar media attention inspite of the clear threat....

I refuse to condemn the govrnment in this case as nobody in the world could have stopped whatever happened. They can be wrong on a lot of things and I am very vocal in condemning them mostly but here they could not do anything....Nobody in the world can stop suicide attacks like these if you provide your supporters to these terrorist on a platter and than use the incident for point scoring like BB has done.....It's disgusting...she used her supporters as sacrificial animals>>>

By the way just claiming to be a patriot is not enough....and it's not being a BB basher just for the heck of it....BB is equally responsible for this loss of life....and must be condemned equally>>>>

This thread is hatemonger thread against BB and PPP. Most want in this thread that why BB was not killed? Aren't these sentiments except Ehasan and Spock's lead to support such terror act and killing of innocent people? My question is why BB or NS or anyother leader should not come to their own land?

The governement was aware of these types of threats two times but it did nothing to protect its citizens - first time on May 12 and then on October 18.

Farid Bhai, BB was in self-imposed exile - no one stopped her from coming to Pakistan. She herself chose not to come. NS voluntarily left Pakistan - everyone has seen the documented evidence.

Yes absolutely.

• Benazir was warned repeatedly by the government to delay her return.
  • She admitted before her return that suicide bomber squads would target her.
  • The government offered to transport her by helicopter from the airport to Quaid's Mazar.
  • The Sindh authorities had advised the PPP to hold their welcome rally in one of Karachi's big parks instead.
  • The govt assigned a massive 20,000 police force and rangers to guard her procession.

She chose to ignore the advises and warnings by the govt and local authorities, and put her EGO before the people.

It is her now her party leaders who are showing blatant insensitivity, and are now more content sitting in Bilawal House supping tea with her and soothing her ego, rather go visit injured party workers in the hospitals.

No. Both were forced out of country. BB came in Pakistan under a deal with Mush. Otherwise she would have either killed like her father or landed in a jail without trail. Even after deal she was main target for killing on 18th Oct where tons of innocent people died. NS was kicked out by the government though your "God Bless Free Judiciay" gave clear ruling that there was no bar on him to come home. But "God Bless Mush" gave a damn about "God Bless Free Judiciary".

That document (agreement) is violation of Constitution. NS was illegally dethroned by your "God Bless Mush". Later 9/11 incident, Your "God Bless Bush" made him imortal King of Pakistan. And God Bless Reign of Terror continued.......

Reza I am surprised at our nation....

If this would have happened in any other country the person who took this the decision to put people lives at stake would have been really grilled and taken to task...why she did not take precautions to ensure safety for people...a lot of police and security people also got killed in line of duty....why BB insisted on playing this vulgar drama....really disgusting...I hold her responsible for all this loss of life...for me she is a killer>>>

2 Likes

Leaders of our age...they themselves live in fortified palaces...travel in fortified/aromoured vehicles...and expose people naked to the fidayeen...just because of their stupid thoughts...people are fool and will remain dumb for the sometime to come...wow... :D

Raza and others, there are too many questions, too many why’s. Despite the fact that we all know the answers perhaps too well, why then we are repeating it over and over again.And I am not saying it sarcastically!
I have stopped questioning myself but it seems as if I have failed to supress that urge, the simmering anger that stems from the feeling of helplessness and the apparent non-chalance on part of our leaders. Why O Why?

BB says that Indian government also warned her of attempts to assasinate her, in Karachi and Larkana. In Larkana the assasin would be dressed as a police officer.

The Indian government must have a good intelligence setup in Pakistan or possibly is behind the events somehow.

UUUUUUH, maybe because they've robbed the crap out of it before, and never gave back anything.

Farid Bhai, for this alone Pakistan should be forever grateful to the USA.

At least now Pakistan has Free Media, Free Judicary, and Unprcedented Economic Growth. :k:

Yes indeed. God Bless USA and God Bless Pakistan. :jhanda:

I wish I could achieve 2000 posts just by repeating god bless musharraf, free judiciary and free media :)

http://www.gulf-times.com/site/topics/article.asp?cu_no=2&item_no=179675&version=1&template_id=41&parent_id=23

PPP leader accused of irresponsibility

Some Pakistanis are not happy with what they referred to as the irresponsibility that Benazir Bhutto showed towards the country she says she loves. Some citizens are angry because they say Bhutto had the audacity to encourage such a large rally even though she knew of the political instability in the country. “If Benazir were a responsible leader she would not have created so much hype about her return after a ‘self-imposed’ exile,” opined Mehmood Rana, a 34-year-old citizen. Rana said he felt Bhutto should have started her election campaign with dignified rallies in safe and restricted areas instead of “putting the lives of her supporters and workers in jeopardy knowing fully well that there were warnings of suicide bombings from the Pakistani and British intelligence.” “Sherry Rahman commented that the government’s security wasn’t competent enough and held government agencies accountable for the blasts despite their warnings,” said Ozair Shafi, strongly disagreeing with the current blame game.

Some civilians blame the public for the disaster, which should have been foreseen. “I believe the people of this country don’t deserve a democratic government because, since the inception of Pakistan, the same leaders have been going back and forth. And every time the leaders go out of power the public cries about the injustices they had to endure, but then they accept more from the same,” said Ibtisaam Saleem, 26. “People feel that even though Benazir was wrong for encouraging the rally, the public is just as responsible because they went through so much trouble for an already tried and tested, and might I add failed, leader,” said Mustafa Qureshi, a senior citizen. There are concerned parents who feel that media coverage on television should be limited. “Somebody needs to impose strict law in Pakistan so we can claim damages for the media’s horrific live coverage this year,” said Sukaina Alam, a lawyer and mother of three. “Schools shut down during the chief justice’s rallies and now for Benazir’s homecoming. The children have been flicking through channels seeing awful sights of a dysfunctional governmental system,” said Sukaina, adding that while media coverage has been exceptional, there should not be a need for such detail.

“I was on 26th Street near Ideal Bakery earlier today with my two children in the car and a riot erupted. I was horrified for the sake of my children and I only blame Benazir for causing so much misery by coming back here,” said Rukhsana Shahid, a concerned citizen. She said that if just within 12 hours of Bhutto’s return there was so much fatal drama, what guarantees could she give the people if she were to come in power? “I saw people dancing and singing on the roads and kept on praying for this rally to end without as much damage as was expected but I woke up in the morning to see that the situation was much worse than I had imagined,” said Khadeeja Ilahi, a senior citizen. Khadeeja said she had been a staunch supporter of the PPP in the time of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto. “That is what inclined me to put my faith in Benazir when she was elected for the very first time. I gave her my vote the next time around as well thinking that she would have gained more experience by then,” she said. “Now I simply fail to understand why anyone, especially after the events of October 18, would want to give her a third chance,” she added.