Ideaz needed 4 Official Lunch

in ma firm v get alternate saturdayz OFF, da saturdayz v work a person is held responsible 2 arrange 4 da lunch dat day. da conditionz included r k da lunch must b home made n it is preferred k sum special dish is made which is not eaten normally u know like behari kabab, khatti daal, Chicken Chowming etc.
it gives us a fair idea abt each other’s community’s cuisine coz sum 1 is hyderabadi, sum 1 is behari, panjabi, dehli walay n a variety of many other.
ab tis saturday it’s ma turn :smack: n i dun hv da any idea on wat 2 make :bummer:
ab if it was a dawat @ home tau wud hv been bv ez but bringin all da cooked food frm home totally a different business. i mean 1 becomes restricted in da number n varitiez of dishez due 2 all da logistix n handlin efforts involved. so i was lookin 4 sum ideaz on wat 2 cook which can fill da tummiez of around 30 ppl in addition 2 soothe their taste budz :help:

sum optionz which i thot abt were

1. Chicken Biryani + Zarda ( believe m or not but i can cook zarda which even i can eat myself :smiley: )
  2. Chicken Shashlik + Chicken Fried Rice + Pudding
  3. Chicken Karahi + Acchar Gosht + Firni

is say ziada hamara dimagh kaam nahi kar raha n all of da bv mentioned seem so routine say, wat 2 do na ??? :S

p.s. i know m stressin a lot on chicken n meat but all my colleguez r guyz n they prefer Nihari n Payay even in June ki chalchalati garmi :smack2:

Re: Ideaz needed 4 Official Lunch

Chicken Paprikash or white badami chicken with naan / tandoori roti or plain rice / kaju wale rice.
Hari chutney and Tzatziki (sp?)
And pan cake with ice.

too annoying to try to read, what kind of crap is this?

^^^ lol............ they are the youth of today

mama....... wait till your kids become teenagers!

a true representation of your writing style would be fried chicken for lunch.

^ :hehe:

Funny

I recently had a dawat at my place and honestly the hardest part is deciding what to make, this is what I ended up making.

Appetizers
Grilled Shrimp on skewers makes a lovely presentation too. (Even though I hate shrimp with a passion)

Vegetable rolls

Main Course:

Chapli Kabab

Chicken Tikka, but at the end you add bell peppers and tomatoes and cook for a less than a mintue, the color the bell peppers and tomatoes looks lovely.

Naan, since your in paksitan, I would go for those yummy naan they sell in the Bazar or nothing beats homemade roti.

Daal , because there is always that vegetarian. ( who doesn’t love daal)

Rice, just plain in simple ,my favorite is with chick peas.

Dessert
I’m not good with desi desserts, all I did was grill peaches and apricots and serve them with vanilla ice craem.

Let me know if you need recipes. Good luck!

Over my dead rotting body would I EVER allow my boys to present themselves ANYWHERE in such an illiterate manner. "Kids today"?? HOGwash!!!

^^^ with that attitude lady, I reckon they'll do it out of spite AND they will talk in pink too.:D

Karma...... will come back to haunt you:)

Mamaof3 :slight_smile: with all due respect … Calling her illiterate between the lines iz not very literate either. Plus, dont bother so much, Its just her style of chitchatting on a friggin virtual internet forum thread (sorry abt my french). Actually, come to think of it, Brits might perceive Americans as “illiterate” when they skip Ts and Gs and pronounce Zed as Zee.

:blush:

luved da badami chicken idea :hug:
wat’s Tzakati ?? :konfused:

wid all due respect mam i can’t recall invitin u here :bummer:

so sorry if aap r not young any more :smiley:
khair i ain’t offerin u any of da delicacies in future :snooty:

wow dat’s y like GS na, koi bhi masla hau GS hay na :hug: i mean tx alotttttttttttt 4 all da help
chapli Kabab seemz a betta idea then Chicken Tikka coz kindda big quantity which i hv 2 make, tikkaz kau BBQ karna aik separate issue hay, if it wud hv been @ home tau i wud hv luved it lekin bringin it 2 office is not feasible @least 4 m :bummer:
n haan i ain’t makin Rotiz for 30 ppl any way, i’ll go 4 da plain naan’s :halo:
tx 4 remindin m abt da vegetarian part, now i’l consider sumfin 4 em 2
s far s da dessert is concerned ice cream will melt till i reach my office which is definitely s far s jupiter but i’ll try ur recipe @ home
can u plz also share da recpie of chapli kabab n vegetable rolls, i know how 2 make em lekin their is always room 4 sum xperiment in cookin na

Oh my God, long posts in black are hard to read and this one's....... i have a headache already.

^ handz her a full pack of Panadol XTRA ^

gulp gulp gulp… swallows all the tablets with a big glass of water*

it’s still the same :bummer: what’s with this pink style?

That’s simplified raita, Its too easy and should taste better with desi style yogurt minus the liquid

Here you go:
3 glasses yogurt
1 small cucumbers
2 Clove garlic
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
1 Teaspoon olive oil
1 Teaspoon dill

Squeeze the moisture out of the cucumber in a towel, add to the rest of the ingredients, mix well. Dill and oil is optional. Add salt to taste. This will take you less than two minutes :slight_smile:

*n how can you even think about Chappals when I’ve suggested badami chicken :snooty: Here you go anyway.

1 kg qeema
3 med size onion
2 med size potatoes
1 med size tomato
Salt, crushed red pepper, zeera and dhaniya
Fresh coriander, green chili
2 tbsp besan (optional)
2 eggs

Chop onion and potatoes very finely, and squeeze liquid.
Chop tomato finely, chop coriander.
Mix everything. Leave for a couple of hours if you have time else make medium

size kebab and fry or bake. Baking is easier. Just place kebab on baking try and bake on 275 till done.

You can ‘garnish’ kebab with masala, and eat them with roti or if there isn’t enough salt etc, try this.

Chop two tomatoes, green chili, fresh coriander, zeera, dhania and salt.
Fry tomatoes with green chili, zeera, dhania and salt till tomatoes are done, add kebab and let it simmer for 5 min. Garnish with chopped coriander.

i know m nashukri lekin can i hv badami chicken 1 too, kya pata i’ll change my mind :halo:

Kya yaad kareiN gi aap bhi :p

Baadami chicken

Chicken 1 cut into 10 pieces
Oil 1/2cup
Almonds 20 blanched, grinded and mix it with Curd 1 cup
Boil egg 1 for garnish
Salt 1 tsp Ievelled
Ginger 1" piece
Garlic 6 cloves
Hara Masala (green chili, fresh coriander, spring onion and mint)

Put about 1 cup water in a pan and add chicken with grinded Hara Masala and salt and cook on low flame.

Then add in curd and almond mixture stir well and cook covered on low flame.

Heat 1/2 cup oil in a fry pan add in 1 tsp crushed garlic and fry till golden.

Add to the chicken and cook till gravy thickish like Korma.

Serve garnished with boiled egg