Ideas- by Gul Ahmed!

OK i went back to Idea-by Gul Ahmed to get more clothes but i end up buying nothing :(. I just realised that they do have amazing prints but the print quality is poor esp for the clothes that ranges from RS12,00-Rs1800. I was utterly disappointed as i was ready to loot the store-LOL. But ya i noticed that nobody else really noticed the printing faults…i think i perhaps noticed them because i have knowledge of printing and infact have done my thesis on it. I remember just 2-3 months ago for my thesis i rejected so many clothes because of the printing quality but i see that worse printing was done for GulAhmed. I am really shocked:halo: and now i believe that the printing guy who i worked with was right when he told me that if i go on with this attitude of wanting the printing perfect than i will loose all the money on samples alone :(.

TO relieve my self of utter disappointment i ended up buying clothes from my fave shops Khan Baba and Saleem Fabrics:).

Re: Ideas- by Gul Ahmed!

Maham S.,

buying clothes out in the open market and from many shops with price competition at times is an adventure and does weigh you down when you have to bargain with shop keepers.

but if you can identify some good honest shop keepers and a seam stressor, then still u will save money than buying things from boutiques.

best,
Dushwari

^ yes i know but yar its too damn hard to roam around all those gallis lukin for clothes. last time i went liberty was few weeks ago and i was abt to die...lol it was so tiring and i think i went there after like years but yes u r rite i was actually able 2 find shirts worth only Rs. 300 and they had such amazing prints, fabric was ok too and the printing quality was just ok...i got 5 shirts for me and it was only Rs 1500 where as these branded lawns cost that much only for the shirt and even more for the better quality clothes.

So ya if you have the patience and the himat to bear going around lookin for nice prints than the non branded clothes which we get off the khans are the best option :D. Also another problem with me is that i have very sensitive skin so the fabric should be 100% pure cotton for summers (as adviced by the doc) or else i get a reaction :(.

Btw do you live in pak?

What do you mean by "bad printing quality"? How does an average customer with a non-textile background tell that it's bad printing quality? I mean when I shop in Pakistan obviously kapra and color is the first thing you look at, hell I dont know much about textiles but I can tell bad kapra from good. Since all kapra comes wrapped in thaans, sometimes they do have obvious printing faults so my mum usually makes the shopkeeper unwrap it all, and give us the pieces from the other end of the thaan.

Gul Ahmad is a reputable name, and it's really disappointing that they are selling bad quality prints for such prices.

By the way, how much is stitching these days? Last year I paid around Rs130/suit for decent silai.

silai’s just about the same still for a simple suit :hinna:

You know back in 2004, I paid Rs.280 for simple stitching of some suits which was done by a lady that has her own workshop and employed karigar's. She gave even the most simple prints such a elegant finish with gala designs, and piping et al. so it was worth it. Even when I give those clothes for naap to the tailors, the gadhay can't replicate it! Argh.

Well by bad printing quality i mean the lack of sharpness, clearity and brightness in colors. I don't think only people who have textile background will be able to spot the lack of good printing quality...i think any1 with a keen eye for quality of printing will notice it. And like i said i myself am disapppointed that a huge name like Gul Ahmed has let go on the printing quality. But i see every1 going crazy for their prints so maybe i am wrong when i say that an average person can notice the lack of good printing!?! or maybe they just dont care as long as it says Gul Ahmed :D.

Khumar- where do you get your clothes stitched from? My tailor charges Rs 180 for a simple suit which really means simple as in no fancy neckline and no piping...if you want even piping it goes to Rs 220 and more. And this tailor of mine is just an average tailor nothing great about his work.

dunno some dude in liberty market. he’s actually my cousin’s tailor. do NOT give any darzi more than 2 suits at a time cuz they end up ruining them :naraz:

^ ya they do...i m actually on a lookout for a cheaper tailor because its not fun paying even this much for tailoring :D lol...now i m feelin bad cuz what if i was a tailor n people wudnt be willing 2 pay me even that much.....hawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! :(.

the darzi isn’t that bad. i mean he knows tricks and what not, but i was really dissapointed when he messed up my kameezain (didn’t put the right colored kapra where it was supposed to be), and sari and what not, all because he passed the order to some under-tailor :rolleyes: they do that a lot. my other cousin gets her done from some tailor in PU. he’s pretty good as well, and as far as i could tell reasonable.

PU? Thats the common abbreviation for PUnjab University :D.
What the worst these tailors can do is make the shalwar into kameez or vice versa...argh!!!!!!!!

newayz so ya did you check out gul ahmed's lawn @ their store?

^ don’t ge tme started on darzi stories.

I wanted a skirt. even drew the guy a picture. Kya mila?? some shapeless sack!!! :naraz: the guy made alot of stupid mistakes and guess what his name was? “ACCHA” :smack:

yup that's what i meant...punjab uni.

i wish i could. except that would mean me having to catch the next flight to lahore :P you should have taken some pics so you chould have shared them with us.

Back in January, I got some swiss lawn outfits from Gul Ahmed Fair Price shop (Karachi) and quality was just superb.. yeah the style was last year since it wasn't the season but print quality was just as good as it used to be! I also bought some cut pieces to get some shirts made copying NY&Co style and tailor did an awesome job saying fabric was good!!

Sehar.. I got really good suits stitched for 150 in Punjab and this darzan in Karachi did a horrible job but charged me 200.. I would have never paid for a lousy job but someone picked it up for me so couldn't say anything...I haven't worn that outfit even once!!You should never try a new darzan in Pakistan!!! :-(

Gems - where is the Gul Ahmad Fair Price shop? Which area of karachi?

Hain acha...PU ne tailors bhi rakhney shoro kar diyen hai-LOL!.

Oh ok for some reason i felt u were in Pakistan. How could i have gotten pix? LOL...

haww…ACCHA? LOL funnie! BUt i have also heard Aachi hehe for a female name.

Last yr's quality was fine and much better than this year from i remember. However i think i m perhaps just one of those who is more concerned about these details so all you guys pls don't go by what i say and actually see it for yrself and decide if the printing matters 2 u or not...because the prints are awesome.

lol PU nay nahin rakhay, woh PU main baithta hai. Been there for years now.

With your cell phone camera aur kis tarhan

but y? lol they wud have thought i m some designer stealing their patterns lol...even if they dun say anything it nt rite to photography! i got one suit na i can scan it if u want but its also on the website :D