IDEAS--A Success Story

International Defence Exhibitions and Seminars

14-17 Sep 2004
Karachi Expo Centre

IDEAS 2002& 2003 gave Pskistan’s military exports huge boost and this year it is going to be bigger and better. inshallah

Ever since the introduction of Pakistan’s defence industry in IDEAS 2000, Pakistan’s defence exports have doubled, providing an even greater opportunity for the international companies to render support and services, leading to the manufacture of finished products.

Continuing with the results achieved through IDEAS, Pakistan’s export target for the year 2003-04 is US$ 147 million, which is expected to further rise to the level of at least US$ 500 million (i.e., 1% of the US$ 50 billion global arms market) during the next five years

Exhibit Profile:

1. Aircraft & Air Force related Systems
  2. Naval Systems including all types of Crafts
  3. Air Defence Systems
  4. Electronic Warfare Systems
  5. Aerial & Ground Mobility Systems to include Aircraft & Helicopters
  6. All types of Fighting & Logistics Vehicles, Tanks, APCs, IFVs, etc.
  7. Radar Systems
  8. Artillery Systems
  9. Missiles
  10. Armaments, Munitions, Weapons & Electronic / Optometry devices
  11. Surveillance equipment to fight & identify all types of terrorist, ethnic, sectarian & law enforcing activities
  12. Equipment & supplies to support humanitarian relief operations.

This year Pakistan will exhibit production model of Al-zarrar tank and next year fighter planes inshallah :jhanda:

link

brochure

I 'll be going to the exhibition but I want to attend the conference that would proceed that. So, just keeping my fingers crossed so that I can get an invitation too.

Arey ghairay log nahi ja saktey wahaan :snooty:

Its all by invitation. You can go if you study in some tech/engineering school.

For the people of karachi

Please avoid using Shahra-e-Qaid-e-Azam and other main roads leading to Expo centre during the busy hours. Please keep a vigilant eye on any suspicious activity and report it imediately as many foreigners are in our city. May Allah save us from any un-toward incident. ameen

there was some sort of an explosion at the xpo centr today, no news yet on what happened. theres a lot of tight security all around the area.

Code, Minerva,
guys how do we get the invitation or passes to attend? im dying to go but have no idea where to get the invitation.

Nahi yaar :eek:

Please check again. It should not happen :frowning:

Re: IDEAS–A Success Story

Huge boost? How many $$?
What are the targets for this year??

Checked out their site. Doesn’t give much info.

http://www.ideaspakistan.com/pakistan.htm

Haris, they 'll open it for the general public too but I guess by that time quite a few things would have been removed. I mean the weapons and stuff. I would be there inshAllah from day 1st but I don't know how to get an extra pass. :(

Re: Re: IDEAS–A Success Story

Continuing with the results achieved through IDEAS, Pakistan’s export target for the year 2003-04 is US$ 147 million, which is expected to further rise to the level of at least US$ 500 million (i.e., 1% of the US$ 50 billion global arms market) during the next five years

minerva,
i see, but i guess there would be no fun with half the stuff gone...if you find out nay way to acquire pases please let me know, thanks!

since yesterday choppers have been hovering right over our home at just afew hundred feet above ground, they take a round over the stadium and go over to the expo centre and soldiers drop from thje chopper with a rope. tanks and armoured vehicles keep grouling and practising, other soldiers are busy practising their firing skills on targets. in the morning they even fired some sort of tank shells which sent a loud noise and a slight shockave all over. great fun! we have entire battalions of rangers and police all over the area, bunkers with MGs and radios set up everywhere, constant patroling. roads are blocked in all directions, causing massive diversions. its going to be like this till 17th. quite cool actually being able to see all the security in such an imp area…but, no passes to attend the real thing yet!
this sucks really!!! :smack2: :mad3:

Musharaf Opens IDEAS-2004

“We are now looking at exporting defence-related products and at developing collaborative initiatives with other countries.”

He said Pakistan already had a history of exporting weapons to a number of Afro-Asian countries.

He particularly spoke of Pakistan’s defence collaboration with China and France. China helped Pakistan develop its Al Khalid tank, which the president called simply the world’s best.

*He said that Pakistan had developed its Mashaq and Karakorum light aircrafts a long time ago and had now started to experiment with bigger planes such as the Thunder. He said it was remarkable how low-cost Pakistan’s project was to modernise the Al Zarrar tanks, which “Pakistan can be proud of”. He also spoke of building the Navy’s capacity by introducing F22P frigates. He appreciated France in particular for helping Pakistan build its Agosta 19-B submarine. *

He said that over time Pakistani experts had specialised in weapons from the US, the UK, France, China, Russia and Korea. He said they were in an excellent position to use that expertise in developing and promoting Pakistan’s own defence products.

Speaking in the ‘honour and integrity’ vein, the president said that even sanctions imposed against Pakistan had certain positive effects. “It helped us indigenise our weapons production and it gave us the courage to maintain a credible deterrence and move towards self-reliance.”

Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz in his message to the exhibit, said IDEAS 2004, which was one of the major international defence exhibitions in the region, would help Pakistan develop and gain recognition in the international market.

IDEAS 2000 and 2002 provided a breakthrough for the local industry by opening up markets across the globe, Aziz said.

Within a few years, Pakistan has gained recognition as one of the region’s important manufacturers and an exporter of defence equipment, he said. He said the government was fully committed to promoting commercial activity in the manufacturing sector and finding better exports opportunities.

The seminar provided an intellectual backdrop to IDEAS 2004, said Director General of Defence Export Promotion Organisation (DEPO) Major General Syed Ali Hamid in his welcome address.

Gen Hamid said in the last decade global security had changed drastically, complicating the tasks of governments and their armed forces in creating and maintaining an effective deterrence to existing and emerging threats.

Later, the president witnessed a display of Al-Khalid, Al-Zarar tanks and armoured vehicles.agencies

Haris and Minerva !

Please share some exclusive pictures. Thanks :)

Well, nobody is allowed to take any pictures and Haris civilians aren’t allowed. :bummer: sorry.

^this sucks real bad :(

Haris if you can send me ur id card number and cell number, I might be able to do something tomorrow. I didn’t have your contact otherwise aaj tow I could have got one for you. Being a woman they would have given me some priority…I just wished I had some contact with you and all along I was thinking about you today while I was there :flower1:

Agar kal kuch ho saka tow I won’t mind standing in the line considering you are really keen on attending that :slight_smile:

Arey baba koi chakkar chalao :smack:

Koi army main reshteydaar nahi hai kia.

Or I have to check my sources in RAW :halo:

^haha! waise i wonder, could any RAW agents have visited the place inspite of such security?

and Minerva,
thanks again :k:

Haris, I asked them and they said there was no one available to go out with the card or look up for you. I think you undertand its a long way from the expo to the gate and then from the gate to the civic centre. I think the security is tight now due to the fact that its the last day. Phir koi VVIP aa raha hoga. When that happens they don't even allow people who have stalls inside to step in.

Khair, I like the younger lot on GS and am just glad to know some cool people around. :
Now that I know your interests, I will make sure to let you know about any such conference or workshop beforehand.

Code, naheen baba. We are ordinary folks, awaam hain awaam. Card tow banwadiya, but I couldn't hand it over to him, which sucks.

minerva,
Hi! yeah i totally understand how heavy security there was in the area, my home is right behind the place and even pedestrians had a tough time moving around, i think there were roughly over 2 battalions of rangers in the streets behind the expo centre to the national stadium! but that was good actually; better safe than sorry, good thing nothing bad happened. aan attack etc would have smudged pakistans image again.
so thanks alot for trying and helping me out! you did youre part perfectly and that meant alot :slight_smile:
InshaAllah next time i’ll make sure i use ALL my connections a month in advance :smiley:
and yeah, i’d definitely be very pleased if you do let me know and keep me updated on other events, conferences, seminars, and workshops etc. that would be of my interest. :k:
thanks alot!

and look what i found guys!

pictures of the event!
[thumb=H]5130340518355_4551254.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]5130341118355_9961239.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]5130398918355_9003406.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]5130399118355_3110133.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]5130399218355_8437678.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]5130399418355_5703572.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]5130402818355_4355919.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]Al-Zarrar[1]18355_9242436.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]5130932718355_4856989.JPG[/thumb]