Idea suggestion required

Hi all,
I want to build a non profit website where I want to upload video and audio,
The scope will be videos to help the students and job searchers initially to provide general ideas on job search, office environment, carrier path, quotes, logistics, purchasing and finance.
Since I plan to do this on non profit basis, I want to understand what latest technologies are available to generate videos and audio and manage website of such nature, fortunately I have it background and have worked on website but I am not necessary a graphic designer
Appreciate some leads and further ideas surrounding these from experts? Stating with idea of domain name.
Thanks in advance

Re: Idea suggestion required

i suggest u post this in the computer related forums to get better answers :)

I agree coz even tho i have designed a website before (IT ALevels :D and got an A for it, double :D) i have no idea what ur on about

^thumbs up to what:@:

The Idea accha hai...lekin implement kaise karenge??:D

kisi ne idea nahi diya, hes asking for 1 :smilestar:

thanks, just want to go ahead and start making it it iwll be a long term goal i see two stuff
a) get teh basic website in place and than start creating my own video may be one or two video a week on differnet topic and post it only and advertiset it via some low cost, hopefully it is as easy as this?

How about using a CMS to implement?

can u elobrate on CMS?

—> CMS: Joomla!

it’s got everything you need to get started, and then get it going!

you’ll need a domain and hosting services as well, which is not free. So how do you plan to cover those costs?

Irf: A CMS is a content management system.

Giz: I was thinking of suggesting a CMS more like PostNuke… i’ve never experienced Joomla before… :hmmm:

thanks i will check it, for domain, hosting and any other minor cost, i can pay from my pocket, my intention from this is to seek Reward of Allah and blessing towards my father, who passed away an also long good health life to my mother and all muslims in general

Then you haven’t anything yet :wink:

Once you go Joomla, you wont want anything else!

okay got this from their website

That much for their history. Errrrm it was a result of someone’s frustration.

You should visit this page: Joomla! and this: http://extensions.joomla.org/

See what it offers. I don’t think needs any further introduction.

Some of the website running on Joomla:

Universities:
Colleges & Universities - Joomla! Community Showcase

Job sites:
Employment - Joomla! Community Showcase

Welcome

e-Commerce
Prodaja ra?unara - DataLink kompjuteri Podgorica, Crna Gora

i also did some quick research on Joomla, my next qustion is to chose a best hosting provider? i also noticed i can get around 6 USD per month, if i pay annual with joomla pre installed, is it worth paying little more to get it preinstalled rather than doing the hassel on your own?
please sugguest some hosts, also mine willb e online audio and video site so how much band width should i go with per month? if i link to youtube than i will probably not have to worry about bandwidth?

MashaAllah Alhamdulliah. All the best luck in achieving what you aim for. If you need any more help, feel free to PM me. I can help you installing joomla, etc.

I guess u cud make video's upload em on utube.
on the other hand make a free website with window's live and later upload ur video's from youtube on ur website.

**Before selecting a CMS
PostNuke, Joomla or WordPress

You should search for their plugins for Audio and Video Support...

If there are no plugin available for ur chosen CMS .... then it will be worthless

plug in for audio and video? in which sense? basilly i need audio and vido, thinkin about joomla? any thing i need to be worry about?