ICL reveiled the roster: Inzi, Yousuf, Razzak confirmed

Re: ICL reveiled the roster: Inzi, Yousuf, Razzak confirmed

^ We still have to hear what Yousuf has to say. We are giving our virdicts without even listening to the 2nd party.

Also If you consider joining ICL as "non patriotic" then I guess you also consider Imran, Majid , Miandad etc as non-patriotic coz they joined the Carry Paker Cricket and PCB banned them...do you?

^ True but lets not overhype words like patriotism. It's only natural to expect our players to be patriotic (and I am sure most of them are) but once you have been playing for a while, once you have become an established member of the squad you just treat cricket as a job, as your rozi roti and stop worrying about what it means to fellow Pakistanis, what the media and fans might think or say. Yousuf being passive by nature I am sure was influenced even persuaded by Inzi and Razzaq among others (? Saeed Bhai) to join ICL and if he had any prior doubts about joining ICL (i.e. before the Twenty-20 squad was announced) the PCB made his job easier by omitting him on dubious grounds. He was probably very hurt by the decision. Not saying one should be materialistic but I am sure most of us would find such a lucrative offer (of Rs 3 crores/annum) too hard to resist. Imran Khan, Miandad and Zaheer among others played for Kerry Packer World Series but that does n't make them any less patriotic does it?

Joining ICL does not make you unpatriotic. If so, then all those playing county cricket should be called unpatriotic too and hence banned.

Clear differences between county cricket and ICL; cricket boards allow players to play county cricket. When your country's cricket organization has clearly barred players from participating in this league, your decision becomes unpatriotic automatically because you know for sure now that you will not be able to represent your country. The decision by Yousuf and Co. is based on greed and greed only, whether anyone admits it or not.

PCB is greedy and unpatriotic.

What has PCB done MWAP? These players get paid millions already. Once the PCB put down a policy in place regarding ICL, as a Pakistani player I would adhere to the code of conduct. You seriously think Akhtar or Afridi were offered less money than Yousuf? They, however, have stuck with playing for Pakistan and not sold out like Maulana sahab has done.

I don't think Maulana has sold himself. I don't think he plays for money. PCB needs to realize that ICL is here to stay. Moreover, Akhtar can't suit with ICL. 20/20, i don't think he is that crazy to waste his body. Afridi on the other hand knows that his place has been jeoperdy because of his antics and performance for a while now. 20/20 cricket is not for bowlers.

I think PCB has shown no regard for their players, do you think if Yousuf and others rejected the offer, it would have help them raise their status? No, because they are playing cricket not selling country's secret. Just because PCB does not approve it does not mean for them to lay the law of banning their players. They are over reacting here. Wasim is in India, Waqar in Australia teaching kids...both of whom showed clear interest in coaching, but rejected. I have to give the benefit of the doubt to players because PCB has acted a lot like this where players and especially Legends of Cricket are treated like garbage. Rejecting ICL has lot politics written on it than welfare of Pakistan Cricket or partrioism.

The thing about that ban is that it can be easily challenged in court and overturned. PCB may be acting illegally by preventing cricketers from earning their livelihood. Would you still call these players unpatriotic if the ban is overturned by a court of law? Maybe its unpatriotic to challenge PCB then? If so, then maybe Shoaib Akhtar shouldn't have challenged his Rs. 300,000 fine levied by PCB, but quietly taken the hit instead. How unpatriotic of him.

The way I see it, it's the VVIP and indifferent attitude of some of the PCB administrators that is at the heart of this overreaction by certain players

Althought the offer of money was good I believe Yousuf's decision was primarily reactionary

It's probably not their omission that irks Yousuf and Razzaq as much as the VVIP attitude of some of these PCB administrators. Are these administrators so busy and full of themselves that they can't even find time to call the players to explain why they had not been selected for Twenty-20 etc. Is a phone call asking too much? It's just basic decency and courtesy which is expected of any employer. This VVIP culture is what is so annoying about Pakistani way of life.

And this VVIP attitude was seen not so long ago when Mr. Shahryar Khan snubbed Younis Khan (yes he probably over-reacted but there was a reason for that) by making him wait like a chaprasi

And who's to say that Afridi and Akhtar would not have joined ICL if they had been overlooked for Twenty-20? They are certainly not whiter than white.

PCB is a third class, unprofessional organization, however, they are the employers of these cricketers. If an employee is benched for some reason, he can complain or quit. Employers are not obligated to provide reasons or justifications to employees..but it is a common courtesy which most employers adhere to. Yousuf chose to quit and move on with his life. The end result is neither good for PCB nor Yousuf himself.

Professional world is ruthless, it is not for emotional people. Patriotism is just a cover which people & organizations use to suit their needs.

Then maybe maulana sahab should stop issuing statements like "Playing for Pakistan is my first priority", when clearly what he has done completely contradicts his statement. Razzaq, the whiny bits-and-pieces cricketer, was expected to do this because he was unwilling to fight for his place in the team (he was deservedly dropped, mind you). Inzi was unsure of whether he would be picked in the test side, so I don't mind his decision at all. Farhat is a moron and there was a chance that he would never be picked for Pakistan again anyway, so he can go make whatever money ICL is offering him (I'm sure it's not too much if they have seen him play in a cricket match). Yousuf made his decision purely upon greed; his place in the one day and test side is as permanent as it gets. I wouldn't even mind that, but why pretend to be a humble and down-to-earth Allah ka banda when you are not one? I wonder what kind of tableegh Yousuf is running these days; I shudder to think that these hypocrites are the representatives of the religion I follow.

*When the policy is clearly in place, why be a moron and act against it to jeopardize your international career? The ICL doesn't start for a while, and the PCB might be forced to change their policy with regards to ICL, but till then, why sign up with them? If it's not for the money, I don't know what it is for.

P.S: Akhtar challenged the fine because he believed he did not commit the offence he was charged with. Idiotic comparison.*

I mean, how can one make the decision on greed while the other is let go scott-free? Does the decision boils down to who has the bigger beard proclaiming himself as "Allah ka banda" and a permanent place in the team or should it really be looked as two individuals who decided it is in their best favor to distance themselves from a party widely known to mistreat anyone that is remotely associated with it?

I am not certain why Yousuf has to pick up all the slack and the rest "can go whatever money ICL is offering". Aren't they unpatriotic as well, going by the actual definition of unpatriotism? Because Maulana Sahab has issued a press statement and has a foot-long beard does not translate into him being any less unpatriotic as he has been treated with from PCB. Because Imran Farhat pales in comparison to Yousuf gives Farhat a free reign? Why not include him in the same boat as Yousuf?

I am so glad they have decided to take part from PCB. The sooner the realization from the management the better.

It is for the knee-jerk PCB's reaction. It is not about having a permanent place or preaching because you have a status in the team, it is about making a decision on what is right and setting an example. If setting an example is along the lines of still playing cricket while earning a livelihood, I believe they have set just that example. In my opinion, playing for PCB is not the be all and end all of Pakistan cricket. They are still representing Pakistan, a different side of Pakistan, on a whole different level. They don't have to come across negative attitudes and behavioral problems from PCB's management, and yet they still chose to represent Pakistan but not Pakistan that is associated with PCB where corruption and politics run rampant. It is certainly not going against the path of Islam, either. Hopefully the ideas of becoming a "kafir" after joining a rebel territory will be done and dusted with.

Dhobi, I really couldn't care less about these ICL defections apart from Yousuf's. Inzi's career is virtually over, Razzaq and Farhat have never been good enough to secure a place in the test side. This does not in any way mean that they are not unpatriotic, it's just that it does not affect our test team too much (We are all after the success of the Pakistani team, aren't we?). However, the upcoming season will be a time when the team will need Yousuf the most as a senior batsman in the side; we all know now where his priorities lie (i.e., the dolla' dolla' bill, y'all).

and that just highlights that money was not only the motive for Yousuf to sign. There may be other things too which was not the case with Shoaib and Afridi.

BTW the players who have been "petreotic" (as you put it) have already started bribing the PCB saying that they have snub offers from ICL so now PCB should "compensate" them. :)

*No, it highlights that Akhtar and Afridi chose to stick with the Pakistani team and not sell themselves to the Baroda bicyles or the Chennai chakkas or whatever the hell team Yousuf will represent.

Asking for a pay raise is fine; signing away with ICL and completely ignoring the policy set by your country's cricket board is something else (I personally do not ever want Yousuf to represent Pakistan again).*

Well a recent article posted by someone showing Shoaib Malik being against Razzaq and Yousuf selection for Twenty20, may be he (Yousuf) saw it coming (dropping from all formats) and hence left for ICL?

the game: you might wanna re-think your statement. Yousuf is forever, PCB and their laws are not. Just look at ban on Shoaib and fine.

*No freakin' way was he getting dropped from the test and one day sides. In fact, his name would be the first on the sheet and he knew that very well. Razzaq is a bits-and-pieces player and his performance in the past year deserved the treatment he got from the selectors. Instead of fighting back for his place, he retired from international cricket like a pansy (Ganguly was treated in a similar way while he was captain, did he ever throw such tantrums? He is now back in the side scoring runs). Good riddance.

MWAP, Yousuf is not forever, Pakistan cricket is. Someone else will take his place in 3 or 4 years, but how would most fans of the Pakistani team remember him now (just when he was about to attain true "Legend" status as far as Pakistani cricket goes)?*

Pakistan Cricket without Yousuf is like Bangladesh Cricket. Have fun cheering!