*Originally posted by funguy: *
I also learned later in life that Ishtiaq Ahmed copied most of it from some Western writer. That' insult to injury.
Yes i think he copied hardy boys series....
And who says that ishtiaq ahmed novels are far from truth .....jaisay imran ko to goliyon say bachna nahin aata that na......
Lol ...he never was injured from bullets....
imran serious was equally boring..magar pakesia kay karnamay parhnay main maza aata tha...
I grew up abroad but went to pak every other year, plus parents thought giving us urdu novels would be a good way for us tolearn urdu. It worked.
The khas number where its a friggin party, jamshed and kids, kamran mirza and kids (plus khan rehman) and then the chichoray shoki brothers.
of the entire 3 groups, shoki bros books were prolly the better ones.
the other series you are talking about is "Maut ka Taqqub" with "amber, nag and maria" right?
fungus
I dont recall jeeral ki waapsi, but i suppose it was the standard ishtiaq ahmed formula.
btw what exactly is a "paen baagh"
and it was funny how when he wanted the kids to have cars and bikes,m a rich uncle of insp jamshed dies and leaves them millions.
Jony Br
chup, na muraad insaan, there are plenty of urdu writers who are simply amazing, shafeeq ur rehman (read himaqataen and mazeed himaqatein), mushtaq ahmed yusufi and ibne insha ( dunya gol hai, urdu ki akhri kitab)
*Originally posted by bao bihari: *
And who says that ishtiaq ahmed novels are far from truth .....jaisay imran ko to goliyon say bachna nahin aata that na.......
exaggerations are very different from factual errors.
case in point, hawaa kay qaidi, if ishtiaq ahmed had bothered to do any research he would not have made an ass outta himself in hawa kay qaidi.
and as far as the plot and all, he looks like an intellectual and literary midget compared to ibn e safi.
*Originally posted by funguy: *
LOL @ Fraudz' analysis of Hawa kay Qaidi.
Do you remember 'Jeraal Ki Waapsi'?. That one had similar idiocies.
So who remembers "mehmood kay boot kay talway may chaaqoo", 'Farooq ka raan per haath maarna", Farzana ka bhaagtay dushman kay raastay may taang arraana", etc.
Looking back I can't believe I used to read that stuff.
actually it was mahmood ki sarkari taang......mahmood ka raan per haath maarna.......farou ki jaib, and farzana ka algebra mein kamzoor hona....
Nahi Kami sahab,,,i am not sure which series you are talking about..the one i m talking bout is really really old..this one guy travels back in time and basically it was bout his jouney
i used to rent these novels while i was living in pak...i was really addicted to them just like i was addicted to the video games..now i have the xbox and my friend has tons of games but i dont have much interest..i have some of these novels but no interest in them either...i guess i just got old..sometimes i wish i can go back in my bachpan and enjoy all of this stuff like i used to
kami do you still read these novels? i wanna buy some good urdu fiction books when i go back this summer..i wanna really get into this again
hmm so this time travel one is a diff series, never came across it. "Maut ka Taaqub" was a pretty interesting book, one guy was immortal, one was a shape shifter and one was able to become invisible, and it was their adventures..very conan the barbarian type in some ways.
I have not read any urdu novels in quite some time. I did manage to get all the shafeeq ur rehman and ibne insha books, which I would recommend to anyone.
As far as new work I dont know, I have been out of touch for some time.
exaggerations are very different from factual errors.
case in point, hawaa kay qaidi, if ishtiaq ahmed had bothered to do any research he would not have made an ass outta himself in hawa kay qaidi.
and as far as the plot and all, he looks like an intellectual and literary midget compared to ibn e safi.
But i was talking about most of the novelists, jin ka har month eik ya do novels atay hain. Hundred plus of imran series novels & around two hundred of jasoosi duniya every month & most of the novels r still unforgatable.
There r good writers, but when it comes on novels, they may have few good ones, but they lake the ability to continue.
Here r few of the parts i tryed to translate from the colunm “Choraha” by Mr. Hasan Nisaar which was published in Daily Jung on 26th of July 2000.
I dont know why some ppl dont admit there was someone who played a major role in developing a reading habit in them. I admit, that he was the one who developed this habit in me. The characters like his perhaps wont be created again in centuries.
Youth has gone far behind, i m getting old, topics & intrests have totally changed but i still remeber Col. Faridi, Capt. Hameed, Ali Imran or Juliana Fitzwatar as i have known them in real.
I m talking about great creator Ibn-e-Safi, who if was in west, he might have gained the title of “Sir” but here…??
He lived in hearts of thousands of readers. Because of his books hundreds of small liberaries were alive country wide.
He was born in April 1928 in Disst: Alla Abad in a village called Nara. His father’s name was Safi-ul-Allah & Mother Nouzera bibi. His name was Israr Ahmed but later he was famouse with his nick “Ibn-e-Safi”. Was a graduate from Agrah University, He played his role in independance & during that time there were various raids to arrest him.
He started “Jasoosi Duniya” in 50’s which at that time, was perhaps the cheapest & positive way of entertainment. He later started Israr Publications. By profession he was a teacher. His novels were the result of the challenge he took to reduce the erotic westren stories in the market which in his view were causing the greator demage to our youth (300+ of his books & yet you wont find a single line containing intemacy in his writings).
Because of his work load he suffered a mental illness from 60 to 63. After 3 years when his new book was published it was record selling in Asia during that time.
Very few people know that ibn-e-safi also delivered lectures to people under the training of ISI. His books have been translated in many of the languages, i urge to people who have read him to pray for his soul. If he wasnt there, i would never develop this reading which turned into writing habit & today i wouldnt be a writer myself.
Ibn-e-Safi should indeed be called Sir Safi. The service he has provided to Urdu language is unmatched. And although Urdu literature does not have a genre of fiction, he is without a doubt the most read, greatest Urdu fiction writer.
I consider Ishtiaq Ahmed better than Mazheer Kaleem since Ishtiaq Ahmed had the courage to start something on his own no matter how immature. And he himself admitted that he considered Ibn-e-Safi his teacher and learned from his books. Some of the moral strengths of his characters prove that he liked Ibn-e-Safi and respected his thoughts. Yes, his novels lacked research and common sense (as Mr. Fraudia mentioned several times) but he wrote for kids and kids need inspiration and entertainment; their imagination does not like to bother much with accuracy and logic. And hence, I still think he was a good writer. Although I don't think I can go through any of his novels now.
The only writer I found somewhat close to Ibn-e-Safi's style was Mushtaq Ahmed Qureshi who was publishing Nayay-Ufq digest about ten years ago or so. He wrote some 14, 20 Imran series books. And although those were nowhere close to Ibn-e-Safi's, they were decent enough to read through the end. Again, the only reason I liked his Imran Series was because he was humble enough to give most credit to Ibn-e-Safi and did it only to please Ibn-e-Safi's fans. He, like Ishtiaq Ahmed, admitted that he borrowed it from Ibn-e-Safi. Later on, he redirected his writings towards religion and I think gave up on fiction (I am guessing).
Now Mazhar Kaleem and other copycats (naqal-teeps sounds even better) deserve no share in the glory of Imran Series and Jasoosi Dunya whatsoever. They have done exactly what Ibn-e-Safi was trying to avoid ... getting people addicted to filthy, sexed-up, and cheap literature. So, I would say it is an insult to even compare Mazhar Kaleem and such to the great Ibn-e-Safi.
Bhai Fraudia, not only that Mazhar Kaleem and such did not pay royalties, these cartoons even tried to give the impression that their character and stories were superior to Ibn-e-Safi's. I remeber one novel by Mazhar Kaleem in which he was trying to explain why he thought he did not want to bring Sing Hi back because those characters were old and not in demand any more ... something to that effect.
Also, I am guilty of reading some of Mazhar Kaleem's books in my early reading era. He slowly replaced a lot of Ibn-e-Safi's old characters with his new characters. Also, he hated Juliana Fitzwater's clothes and in every other novels Imran or some other member would be saving her from villians and covering her up. They must have gotten used to carrying extra clothes in their back-pack or something.
Imran was such a super hero that superman, batman, and wonder-woman would love to replace Joseph, Suleman, and Gulrukh. 007 would be Imran's dhobi, Rambo would be his Nayee (barber) and so on ...