Ibn e Rushd Vs Zaid Hamid

Read this article about the contribution of Greek towards philosophy, etc. We Muslims also produced scholars like Ibn e Rushd (Averroes). But now since centuries, Muslim world had not produced such scholars. Whats the reason behind this?

PS: There are some funny comments in response to this article where likes of Zaid Hamid, Amir Liaquat have been compared with these scholars :smack2:

Re: Ibn e Rushd Vs Zaid Hamid

Islam originated from the place which had limited resources and had a powerful pagan culture in which priests wielded power on their subject, rise of prophet(pbuh) was the biggest challenge to them, in fact the civilization and tolerance in the Arabs came only after Prophet, unlike Greeks who lived in powerful empire, Arabs weren't that much secure, Prophet was social reformer of Arabia:), Islam never had problem with modern science except theory of evolution nor Muslim clergy was powerful enough like church to wield power on their subject like in modern times ever.

Hindus on the other hand wrote Vedas in poetic form, it was philosophical work covering, nature of god, praising god, dharma(duties) of an individual, structure of society and role of groups, duty of society etc
Hindus in ancient India even had Ganrajyas(republics) as well:), the system of Panch-pradhan where village elders took decision for betterment of village was close to democracy:)

But Muslim scholars had to face resistance from factors like Mulla and biased royal court. Averroes was punished to clean the shoes of the people at the door of a Mosque, because his theories were taken as against the Islamic teachings. Even if I'm not mistaken, the famous Tafaaseers of Quran (explanations) were written by the scholars during their imprisonment.

:hmmm: Ninja, lagta hai you missed this thread. Whats your point of view for this comparison?

So who is the modern day Ibn e Rushd in Muslim World? Zaid Hamid, Amir Liaqat, Ghamidi or Haroon Yahya?

Resistance is natural, the resistance faced by Prophet was even harder, Abrahmic religions are revealed religions, from God to Humans, hence they are complete in their theology, by complete I mean they have rules and regulation for political,social,economical conducts in day to day life. Any explanation that is not agreeable by the scholors hailing from particular rule of thought is ofter considered either heretic or haram by those scholars. For further understanding of Islam one has to look into pre-Islamic Arabian paganism, its philosophical theology and its impact on explanation of verses in Qur'an:)

Harun yahya ko kin chawalon ke saath mila diya hai muqawwee bhai...................actually lot of greek works were saved in arabic script by muslim scholars....aflatoon,sukraat,arstoo you can understand how muslims created their own version of greek names of plato,socrates and aristotle after studying these philosophers....biggest work of arab scholar was passing knowledge of arabic numerals from india to west....

Nice points ninja hattori, aflatoon, sukraat, arstoo were also part of Madrassa teaching along with arts, mathematics and geography, along with persian and arabic languages, hence Indians at that time were as educated as students of Victorian england. Arabs also brought their trading and sea faring experience in India thus giving Indian spices a fine taste of global market.

I was also shocked when I read these comparison. Yes Muslims did contributed a lot to today's subjects, but the question is why we don't have produced such scholars atleast for 4-5 centuries. Quran encourages us to think and research, but Muslims have been made to strictly follow the old rulings not by Quran, but by Muslim clergy.

Even in India Al-Bayrooni has amazing contribution in Mathematics and Astronomy. He is said to be the pioneer in comparative study of religions.

Even rockets used by tipu sultan,cannons used by mughal and tamancha used by mughals are example of progress of muslims in technology.....

What do you mean by tamancha? Explain and illustrate with diagrams?

sabse niche wali gun…:smiley:

You mean Mughal bachas used to play with this khilona gun :hehe:

Al-Beruni studied Hinduism in correct perspective, he even said that at its core Hinduism is as monotheistic as Islam. He studied sanskrit to understand the religion, Hindus were brilliant in astronomy and mathematics. they had good knowledge of astronomy, they new all 88 constellation, Ursa Major=Saptarishi, Orion=kalpurush, Scorpion=Vrishchika, Pleiades=Kritika etc, calculated the distance between Earth and Moon, knew about Heliocentric nature of solar system, planets like Mercury=Buddha, Mars=Mangal, Venus=Shukra, Jupiter=Brishapati, Saturn=Shani are part of astrology since then:)
In mathemactics, they already had preliminary knowledge of trigonomety and Baskarcharya even taught Quadratic equations in Algebra:), Al-Beruni’s translation helped Indians to cross the intellectual border to certain extent. sometimes he used to get frustated by Panditji, “Hindus think they live in best country, have the best kings, and are smartest in this whole universe” is also mentioned by him. He was the best traveler and Hindus were lucky to have him around:)

Looks like desi katta found in Jatland, my naani told me how to make one, but I doubt if I can make one now:)

So the Indian name of days Shaniwar, Shukrwar, Mangal war, Budhwar are on the names of planted. I used to thought Shukrwar is from Arabic Shukr = Thankfulness.. :)

The entire calender has some astronomical, most of the festival are on either poornima(full moon) or Amavasya(no moon) day:), the days were named on Sunday=Ravivar, Ravi means sun in sanskrit, Monday=somwar, som is alcohol, it is said Indra and Bhagwan Shiv loves it like I do:D
Months signifies various seasons India goes through in a year, it is moon based calender, and placement of moon with respect to constellation also gives concept of astrological moon signs:)

Now I know, why Monday is not a good day :D

But how Diwali always fall in winters, when Indian calendar is moon based. Because Islamic calendar is also moon based, but we have Ramadan sometimes in January and now in July-August.

Yeah they should have named Friday as Somwar and Monday as Shukrawar, so that on friday we can officially do "Ek glassy do glassy teen glassy char":D, Anyways, Shukra planet is named after Brhmrishi Shukracharya, another wine lover:D