And then people would brag about how they only invited 10 people and only spent $400 (or whatever local currency). Then everyone listening will go, inshallah I will do the same. Some will get really jealous and not invite anyone.
Re: I wish a new tradition would arise, spend the least amount of money on weddings.
kewn bhai? bawarchi, khaima/cutlery/lawn rentals walon ke rizq pe lat na maro. Instead of not sharing the joy of happy occasion why not look at other possibilities instead of cutting down number of people?
Re: I wish a new tradition would arise, spend the least amount of money on weddings.
kewn bhai? bawarchi, khaima/cutlery/lawn rentals walon ke rizq pe lat na maro. Instead of not sharing the joy of happy occasion why not look at other possibilities instead of cutting down number of people?
hasn't Karachi already kicked the bawarchi's rozi by not allowing dinner at weddings? Or is that old news now.
Yeah, number of people can be easily cut, but hey why do it. Let's all follow dumb traditions.
Is it true that in Oman (or some other Gulf country) the groom's family gives the *Jahez *(dowry)?
that's true for a lot of Arabs, and even Balochees.
I watched a documentary on Jahez on BBC, and they showed this about Balochistan. They interviewed men who said they couldn't get married because they were too poor to afford Jahez. And jahez to them isn't furniture and car, but cash.
I know in Saudi, the mehr is paid to the dad. The prettier the girl the more the mehr. A place called Hail in Saudi had an average mehr of 100K Riyals.
that's true for a lot of Arabs, and even Balochees.
I watched a documentary on Jahez on BBC, and they showed this about Balochistan. They interviewed men who said they couldn't get married because they were too poor to afford Jahez. And jahez to them isn't furniture and car, but cash.
I know in Saudi, the mehr is paid to the dad. The prettier the girl the more the mehr. A place called Hail in Saudi had an average mehr of 100K Riyals.
This tradition is so very positive(only when compared to the Jahez by the bride). Not every girl can leave the house and start working to collect her Jahez. But every male can. We know when it comes to certain practical values, Muslim world is way behind West. But is Pakistani society behind the Arabs too?
Actually, now that I think about it, there are weddings where the least amount of money is spent. Those are usually guy marrying a gori (or latina) and parents not approving. Such weddings take place at the mosque, after which a few close friends and family are served home cooked or cheaply catered dinner. Then these friends and family put on a fake smile and congratulate the bride and groom and go back home saying chalo musalman to ho gayee (she atleast converted).
Just kidding, really. But that is how wedding should be. Or maybe it should be socially acceptable that a wedding can be any type of wedding that the parents and bride and groom want. If it's a small wedding, that's great. It it's a big wedding, then I hope they could afford it.
Actually, now that I think about it, there are weddings where the least amount of money is spent. Those are usually guy marrying a gori (or latina) and parents not approving. Such weddings take place at the mosque, after which a few close friends and family are served home cooked or cheaply catered dinner. Then these friends and family put on a fake smile and congratulate the bride and groom and go back home saying chalo musalman to ho gayee (she atleast converted).
Just kidding, really. But that is how wedding should be. Or maybe it should be socially acceptable that a wedding can be any type of wedding that the parents and bride and groom want. If it's a small wedding, that's great. It it's a big wedding, then I hope they could afford it.
Do the latinos or goris really convert to Islam? Whats the big deal waisay... She's just converting for the guy and not for God. I don't know whats actually in practice but you can throw a bit of light as to why they don't stick to their own religion, if its most of them.
I also plan to wed with maximum simplicity that is possible. I just can't get how to convince my parents. Any ideas?
yeah...elope in a church in Las Vegas.
destination wedding!!! ![]()
people will be too cheap to pay for their own airfare ![]()
there is so much barakah (blessings) in having a simple wedding…if only people knew ![]()
I, for one, am a very God fearing and practicing Muslim. I plan to wed through a Muslim Moulvi Sahab.
Wouldn’t it be me myself doing the kharcha equal to the previously un-simplified wedding?
Do it. Have a small classy exclusive wedding, and then show off how exclusive an event it was. If done right, it can appeal to the competetive mind of a Pakistani.
You know how greatly parents matter in weddings in Pakistan. Mine too are bent upon marrying off their first kid with great pomp and show (though still around a year is left).
Actually I am not finding a way to convince them against it.
Do the latinos or goris really convert to Islam? Whats the big deal waisay... She's just converting for the guy and not for God. I don't know whats actually in practice but you can throw a bit of light as to why they don't stick to their own religion, if its most of them.
how dare you question true love!!!
It's a long argument, let's not get started.
Set an example, i did and coped sh!t for it but i don't regret one decision i made.
Although I admire the thoughtfulness and spirit behind the first post, I don't think its either practical or is something I totally agree with. Weddings should be simple, yes. But to not share a happy occasion with your friends and family is akin to miserliness. Islam practically requires us to make sure wedding announcements are prominent in the community so no one is left in doubt. We want our friends and family to be part of our good times as well as to be there in our moments of loss, death and sorrow. Its all part of life and part of human nature. It doesn't mean that weddings necessarily have to be elaborate multi-course meals with extravagant decorations. I am sure there is a happy medium between both extremes.
By the way, someone made a comment about some Arab countries, where apparently a wedding gift in the form of cash is paid to bride's parents. Many of you are going ga-ga and wah-wah over it. I am sorry, but I find this similar to selling off your daughter. I am sure plenty of young men of marriagable age are unable to marry in those societies because they can not afford exhorbitant wedding gifts. Again I am also against over the top dowry traditions rampant in the sub-continent. Wedding gifts should be commiserate with the financial resources of bride and groom. I am sure there is a happy medium between both these extremes too.
^ friends being there doesn't escalate the budget its the stupid rasms and the decor , food, photo sessions and make up crap. and when it comes to having segregated gatherings i often hear oh but it costs a fortune to have segregated seating arrangement, usually they install a fake wall between men and women and the couple is staged on the fancy thingy which can be viewed from both sides and every relative is jumping on the stage so segregated goes to bhar and cheapness prevails.then the wedding day ends but there is this nashta and baklawa and Allah janay aur kiya, i hate the entire set up. Pakistani weddings are a misery to me.
^ I am commenting on the first post of this thread.
Re: Pak weddings, they can drag and they can very flashy and they can financially ruin a family (if they go over their resources) but your experiences are based on your experiences. I have attended some weddings that were phenomenally organized and everything worked as clock-work. As far as being miserable attending one, I guess its a personal choice. You may find attending Pak weddings a misery, but I look forward to weddings in our family. They are a great opportunity to meet family members from all over the world and they generally are so much fun.