I go to parties all the time but so different about this party was that this party was a birthday party of a high school friend whom I hadn’t seen in ages until I met her at a shopping mall. It was really nice seeing her after three or four years. She had put on some weight but looked good. And she said I look the same
(which is sad, I was expecting tareefo kai pull)) khair she took my number and told me she will be having a birthday party and I better be there. So I told her fine, just tell me when and where! So she called me and gave me all the info,
So last night I show up at her house completely shocked. It was a mix gathering (guys and gals) very unusual of her. NO PARENTS anywhere in the picture. They are only two siblings so her younger sister was there. But that wasn’t the shock. I did know a couple of people there so I wasn’t bored. She herself was wearing a white transparent shirt with a pair of jeans. (lets not ask how transparent it was ) Her friends were also dressed very western. I mean you name it and they were wearing it. But that wasn’t the shock. I myself wore a brown short kurtah with a pair of pants. Because she had told me the dress code was western. I saw a couple of guys and girls smoking, not a surprise. Because the college she goes to is known for such things. The party was pretty cool everyone danced
don’t know if I want to call that a dance. So everyone had dinner and while having dinner I heard someone say something about “Alcohol” (one of the guys was telling another guy that its in the car and was telling him to go get it) Now that was a shock to me. I did not expect them to drink at the party which was being held at her house
. That was my limit. So I decided to leave. Said bye to everyone and walked out.
Now you guys must be like what’s the point. The point I m trying to make here is I don’t find this girl at fault at all. Where the hell were her parents. . Or was it pre-planned for them not to be there. How could they just leave the house with bunch of 22,23 year olds. And even if they did, is this what they were expecting? Why aren’t parents being parents? The way the girls were dressed. I’m sure they didn’t walk out the house in those. Because no mother or father would let their daughter walk out in those hochy mama style (Americans help me out here, is it hochy or hoochie) Has the new forgotten their ethics or did they never had them to begin with or is all part of modernization? I know for some of you it might very very hard to believe, but it is ALL true. I witnessed it with my own eyes :Pretty:
those of u thinking noor kitney painddo hain go to hell
…
What's so shocking about that anyway? It happens all the time. About time yo got a dose of reality ;-)
Anyway, let's not blame the parents. The girl is 23, not a kid anymore. She's old enough to know what's right and wrong. Friends can have a very strong influence. It's easy to blame our parents for our shortcomings but it's also immature and unrealistic.
Its always difficult to witness something shocking or new, good for you that you decided to leave when you did.
I know it must be hard to accept that such things happen, I wish I could still maintain that naivity.
yar nothing surprised me , I m use to seeing the clothing, smoking , dancing, but drinking at a girl's house totally shocked me what if her parents walk-in or somethig
Itni masoom to nahi hogi woh larki. Poori planning ker kay party ki hogi. Anyway, in her opinion, it might all be perfectly okay. Har koi different hota hai.
whats going on in pak
…
As requested...
Pakistan is and never will be the idyllic paradise our parents in the West made it out to be. Sad state indeed, but a harsh reality. Vice will be an integral part of humanity, and thank God, it is humanity that can also achieve morality.
mahanoor, some parents dont consider these things wrong yaar. that's their right to, just like it is ours to consider it wrong. we've all got our own standards. it is always shocking to see something that's very different from our standards though so i can understand how you feel.
who knows if her parents even knew this was happenning?
upbringing does play a huge role in shaping a person's personality, but as humsa said, that girl is an adult now, and her parents cannot be blamed for her shortcomings. she is responsible for her own actions as an individual.
hmmm
do u think it would have made a difference if the party was at some other place ie restaurant, hall etc and the alcohol was brought there?
i have a friend who had a huge party, and to accommodate the majority of the people invited
sighhz, i used to be like u mahnoor, never knew such things existed… god the stories i,ve heard, lucky u walked out,who knows wat else happened there that night…
u have no idea what goes around these days…
stay good :k:
^ Regrets? ![]()
^ the regret… he walked out too late. ![]()
or wait.. should that even be a regret?
Re: “I went to a party”
Yaar i was thinking **ke yeh noor kitni paindo hai ** ![]()
btw they were waiting for you to leave and the real party started after that ![]()
mmm I think the most outrageous thing I have seen in Pakistan was at LCAS. For those of you in Lahore I'm sure you know of this place.
Anyhow I had just moved from karachi to go to this sorry excuse of a school. During the admissions interview they asked some really odd questions!?
They were like
'oh ok you are from Karachi... hm well we know all about the kids from Karachi...'
Then they went on to explain how this was a very conservative city and school etc
Now mind you I was looking like a total geek back then lol and regardless of my appearance today I'm still pretty much a shareef chooza. But I was thinking what hell kinda interview is this?!
So anyhow my mom was sitting with me too and she is so seedha! When these idiots asked me ..
'well we hope he doesn't talk to girls..' and this was a co-ed place !?
My mom was like 'no, no he doesn't talk to anybody! ' lol My mom is so funny!
So after giving this totally holier then thou I guess Islamically palk impression of their school ... what do they do?
They had this field trip to Islamabad where they took a lot of students mind you they were only 17-20 or so years old to the British Embassy for some kinda party and got them all drunk!?
When they came back they made jokes about it and all the kids bragged about it too!
Its one thing for the kids to be doing this but under the supervision of the faculty ... !?
Even here in the US if a school allowed underage kids access to alcohol they'd get in serious trouble.
yeah I've heard all kinds of wild stories about parties in Pakistan where kids were all openly drinking and having sex.
I guess I was too much of a geek to ever get invited to them ... but yeah I'd be very disgusted too ...especially when these same people would turn around and point fingers at others for being 'traitors to their culture'. I used to get a lot of that just for having grown up in the US.. something I
never brought attention to nor did I ever
treat anyone in anyway to make them feel I dunno... jealous or something !?
They used to make fun of me for praying and fasting too... and not having done any of the things they expected all american kids to do .. come to think of it this attitude I faced everywhere not just at this particular school.
Drinking under faculty supervisoin!! Now that's something to write home about :P
On a serious note, this is a pretty sad situation but I'm sure it does not happen everywhere.
I went to pretty nice schools (co-ed for FSc) in Peshawar but I guess my city being more conservative, didn't really have too many of these kind of incidents. Only one school was kinda notorious (Edwardes). The burgers would go to Islamabad/Lahore/Karachi for a wild party. But I've heard the trend is changing there too despite the so-called strict mullah government there.
I was such a shareef choochi myself back then :-/
^so wat happened now?
← right back at ya! ![]()
Kya kya suno gey!
The funny thing is the dress code was 'western'. LoL thats sooo funny damn, Id go wearing a shalwaar kameez if they specifically stated the dress code to be western!
^ I know what you mean. I like to do ultay kaam as well. Western dress code in Pakistan - wat a joke!!!
ultay kaam? :-|