I went to a Desi concert called Desi Beats 2008 featuring Atif Aslam.

So I went to a concert whose main feature was Atif Aslam. I originally thought this is going to be a Pakistani concert, but it was targeted at both Indians and Pakistanis. I show up there thinking only 10 people will show up because who is this Atif Aslam guy anyways. There were THOUSANDS of people. There was huge line just to enter the place.

Anyways, I bought the $35 tickets, the second to most expensive ones. Most expensive was VIP who was seated in the very front. I go there, and I realized there was no difference between the $15 or $35 ticket. No one was enforcing the seating, except for the VIP. In fact, VIP got the worst deal. They paid around $100 or so, but all the “londay and londian” just rushed towards the stage, in front of the VIP seating area. The first few rows of VIP could not see anything. The whole concert was just security trying to push back the guys and gals, and they in turn just coming back.

The concert was medicore. Some guy named Kaylash got the most time. Atif came in the end, and seemed to be rushed.

Re: I went to a Desi concert called Desi Beats 2008 featuring Atif Aslam.

A good reason to not go to desi concerts.
and u did not mention any fights, I am surprised :D

This same concert/mela is supposed to be here today...it has amanat (sargamapa challenger) and some woman as well apart from the ones you mentioned...i went to atif mela sorta thing last year i enjoyed it so didn't feel like going this time...

Are you guys talking about the one in san francisco ?? I was thinking about going there, but than I have to do some thing else so i changed my plans. But if anyone of you go there do let me know if its worth it or not.

$35 is good! :hayaa:

Looks like you and I were in the same concert. I opened a thread about it a few days ago and here are my thoughts on it, taken from This Thread.

you didnt know who Atif Aslam is, but still you bothered to waste your money?

btw after hearing him live (well i hope he didnt lip-sync) what do you think of him as a singer? or as a trend setter (cuz i get to hear a lot about his ageeb-o-ghreeb dressing)?

yaar aap loug apni mehnat kee haq halaal kamaai ko kaisaY kaisaY kaamoN par luTaa detaY ho :bummer:

Wife wanted to go, so I went.

and Shikra, that is pretty funny. Yes, Atif did act like he was stuck up.

And Zobia, I think he was lip-syncing.

In my opinion he is a nice singer and has a big fan following in india now.

I just got back from the same concert (the Toronto leg of the tour).

This time Qailash snapped when people yelled Aatif Aatif and started giving a lecture about good manners and patience.

I heard this concert costs them over $90k :eek:

I went to the Chicago one, it was much better in terms of organization, except two of the performers (amanat and kalaisyh) never showed up. We asked Atif, and he cited some weird reason.

lol…sue him

ya chintu bhai that is sad…this man became what he is today cuz of us pakistani (his first song, addat was a huge hit in pakistan)…but when india give them lill coverage (as this is new indian trend to put one pakistani song…cheyee dabba movie he q na hoo)..they appeared on Pakistani TV and passes statements like “o india main humain bhut izzat de hai”, and they forget whatever they are is cuz of pakistan..

…and they decide to be used openly such as, he sang Pehli Nazar which originally is a Korean Song :stuck_out_tongue:

LOL. Poor dude probably went “WTH! No matter where I go, people yell for Atif and nobody gives a damn about what I am singing”. He took way too much time and people were anxiously waiting for Atif, that’s why he was treated this way in every single concert.

2-3 guys got arrested for being too macho with the policemen.

There was this old uncle (must be in 50s) and his wife. I don’t think they had the VIP tickets because the asked the couple right in front of my row if anyone was sitting on the 2 seats next to them. The couple said no, not that they know of. So this uncle and his wife sat there. While the concert was going on, a younger couple (must be in early 30s) came and politely said that these seats belong to them.

Now, I know uncle did not have a VIP ticket, uncle ki himmat dekho, he asked the younger couple to show him their tickets :smiley: The dude gave him a look but showed him the tickets. Uncle carefully examined the tickets and then looked at the tag behind the seat to make sure that the seat numbers match. Then he looked at the tickets again to really confirm. Then he said, get this, can you go sit somewhere else, my wife and I are already sitting here :omg:

The younger couple was like WTF!? This is our seat and this is where we would like to sit. The old aunty was like it’s okay, we’ll get up. So she gets up and sits in the row ahead on an unoccupied chair. Uncle also got up and started yelling at the guy’s face saying how he has no manners and made a lady and old man get up. Younger dude’s wife kept laughing and calmed him down because he was ready to push uncle away from his face. This whole scene got some attention and was quite funny.

There are a couple of more stories but no physical fights.

I guess .... I would be the only Gs Person .. Who has never attended such concerts...

been to few private ghazal mehfils and thats all

^ Private ghazals? sort of like one-on-one?

well I meant** private functions organized at people ‘s homes** …. Where ya have selective and mature audience …..

for the ones ya are pointing …… well been to couple of such yokes and believe me it all changed now .. ya don’t see that typical Amra-o-jaan sorta flavour at such places any more…

Yeah those are getting worse day by day. The ones organized at homes among families are still somewhat decent.

nah u'r not alone... i've never even been to these ghazal mehfils