"I was tortured, forced to drink my urine..." - Kashmiri Prisoner in Delhi Jail

Ironically, the investigation conducted by the Delhi police themselves discovered that this man couldn’t have been involved in the crime he’s being accused of…two years later, he’s still being tortured in an Indian prison.

Kashmiri Student Writes From Tihar Jail

**ARIF SHAFI WANI

**Srinagar, Mar 22: “I was brutally tortured, forced to drink my urine and kept with a pig in the jail cell,” writes Muhammad Rafiq Shah of suburban Alesteng here in his letter from the Tihar jail where he is languishing for the past three years without trial. Rafiq was a student of Kashmir University when arrested for ‘carrying out blasts” on the eve of Diwali in New Delhi on October 29, 2005. The then vice-chancellor Kashmir University has testified Rafiq was in the campus on the day of blasts.

** The then Delhi Police chief, KK Paul, had given Rafiq a clean chit.** But its Special Cell claims he’s guilty.

“I am innocent and falsely implicated in the case by the Special Cell of Delhi Police in collaboration with Special Task Force of Kashmir Police. I was a regular student of the department of Islamic Studies in Kashmir University where I was pursuing Masters Degree. I was picked up by the joint team of Delhi and Kashmir police from my home at midnight,” Rafiq states in the letter.

** “I was brought to Delhi where I was brutally tortured, forced to drink urine. I was kept naked and forced to suck private parts of co-accused. Rats were let into my trousers and when I cried, the police officials laughed and took my pictures with their mobile phones. To shake my religious sentiments, my body was touched with a small pig. Later I was kept locked with the pig in a single cell. The police officials used to say ‘every Kashmiri is a terrorist.’ A gun was pointed at my forehead and I was made to sign a bundle of blank papers,”** he writes.

“In 2006, five persons were produced before the print and electronic media by the UP Police in which they spilled the beans of the Delhi blasts. I fail to understand why I am being victimized when my innocence is crystal clear. I have full faith in Almighty Allah and that justice will prevail and the police will get exposed,” the letter adds.

Rafiq’s mother, Mehmooda Akhtar, maintains that her son is innocent. “I can’t bear the inhuman treatment of my innocent son by the Delhi Police. Due to torture he has developed various disorders. I will hold the chief minister Ghulam Nabi Azad responsible for my son’s plight. What happened to his assurance that no Kashmiri will be harassed outside the state,” she asked.

“We made many representations to ministers and bureaucrats. They only gave hollow assurances. I want to see my son free and I will fight till my last breath,” she said.

Even the then vice-chancellor of Kashmir University, Professor Abdul Wahid Qureshi had testified that Rafiq was in the Islamic Studies department on the day of Delhi blasts. “Rafiq was a regular student. According to teachers and records, on the day of blasts in Delhi he was in classroom. The university has played its role by issuing certificate in this regard to his parents,” Wahid had told Greater Kashmir in June last year.

Curiously, in its January 21, 2006 issue, The Times of India reported under the headline ‘Test doesn’t show Rafiq was 29/10 bomber’: **"The claim made by the Special Cell of Delhi Police that they have arrested the Govindpuri bomber is fast falling apart. The narco-analysis test of the accused Muhammad Rafiq Shah was perhaps their last hope. But even that has failed to prove that Rafiq was the one who planted the bomb in the DTC bus at Govindpuri on October 29.”

** Quoting KK Paul, the report adds that Rafiq “does not seem to be the Govindpuri bomber; it seems at this stage that all the bombers have fled the country. Even in annual press conference, he (Paul) has refrained from stating Rafiq was the actual bomber even when Special Cell had requested for test identification of the accused. The Special Cell however insisted that Rafiq was the bomber. As it has now turned out, the only reason was that Rafiq’s face resembled with that of the accused in the portrait prepared by the cops.”

The sketch of the bomber was prepared on description provided by one Rajiv Sinha who has been made a key witness in the case. The Special Cell had released three portraits of the bomber; one with a French beard, the other with a moustache and the third a clean-shaven one. Finally they tracked down Rafiq, whose face resembled with one of the portraits, in Srinagar.

Re: "I was tortured, forced to drink my urine..." - Kashmiri Prisoner in Delhi Jail

Hmmm...no response from the Indians.

Big surprise.

Re: "I was tortured, forced to drink my urine..." - Kashmiri Prisoner in Delhi Jail

response will be , release sarbjeet singh

Gosh, thats so cruel and so sad :(. How can a human being treat another like that?. There seems to be no respect left in human beings for other human beings religion or personal preferences :(.

I met a kashmiri last year who told me that he belonged to sri nagar. He told me that in his town, all the men from 18-40 have been arrested by the indian police over the years and the practice is still on. There are only women and children in that area and no men in their houses to protect them.

Re: “I was tortured, forced to drink my urine…” - Kashmiri Prisoner in Delhi Jail

^ not to start any fight here but this is the reason i get so annoyed and pissed when people have the nerves to make comments like “what was the need of founding Pakistan” :halo:.

^ "One of the biggest blunders in the history". That's AH, the greatest leader of as all as per some of the posters here.

Re: “I was tortured, forced to drink my urine…” - Kashmiri Prisoner in Delhi Jail

This comment was unnecessary. But since u brought it up anyway. I ask you, does such thing does not exist in Pakistan. I would be surprised.!!!

[mod]guys lets stay on topic here. [/mod]

The article portrays how humans can be so inhumane at times. I guess there's law but no implementation of it. I can't imagine a police official doing something like this over here and getting away with it.

Hello!

I can tell you that is not the case and it was never the case. You can look up Srinagar news in many languages and you will find that the city has sprung back to vibrant life. Either the fellow you met was making fun of you by telling you such crappola or you are mis-stating.

Regards
Pundit Vikram

Why can't people voice their opinion?

Or you have a hard time believing it because you've been told of green fields and blossoming roses in Kashmir to the point that association of any crime conducted by Indian forces just sounds like fairy tales to you.? Possibly?

No? Well then i'd listen to someone who has had personal account of just such crimes and condemn such acts instead of acting as if it never happened. Surely you don't support such acts, right?

Hello everyone!

I have no way,just as everyone else in this forum has no way, to asses the truth about bombings etc other than by reading what is published. I am certain that is how Mr.Janab also came to start this accusatory thread. I was, needless to say, very disgusted to read the report of such an innocent college student being treated this way by our own police, as alleged by Mr.Janab. Therefore I did some googling on my own. Here is what I found. Draw your own conclusions, but based on what I found, there is no credibility in the allegation.

A time-delay mechanism had been sued in the Delhi blasts. Therefore Rafique being elsewhere at the time of the blast does not automatically disprove the mountain of evidence against him.

He was held not merely based on a sketch. The report at this link completely contradicts the claim of innocence, explains the role played by this person and even gives the actual phone numbers that were traced, phone calls intercepted etc that led to the solving of the case.

The conversations above between Tariq and Kama corroborate police findings that Tariq called Greater Kashmir to deny LeT’s hand behind the blasts. Mohammed Rafiq Shah alias Mansoor who planted bomb in a bus at Kalakji was using mobile number 94194-75249. Police have found reliably that Tariq and Mansoor were also in touch after the blasts. According to Rariq’s statement, Kama promised to give Rs 5.5 lakh to Tariq for the Delhi blasts.

It is also interesting to note that Mr.Janab Ali has based his entire case on what is published by www.GreaterKashmir.com. Why? Because this GreaterKashmir was the very same vehicle used by one of the primary terrorists, as admitted by himself in an intercepted phone call. You will find the direct quote “uring some other conversation Tariq allegedly said, “Achcha main ne dubara repeat karaya hai, aaj vo GK hai, uska front page aap jaroor padhiye, internet per. Maine repeat karaya hai, bada tafselan…” (I have got it repeated in the press. Do read the front page of GK on the Internet.)”

Regards
Pundit Vikram

I’ve been to Srinagar more times than I can count, have you ever even set foot there? I can assure you…while things are somewhat more peaceful there than they were 10-15 years ago, it is still a city very much under military occupation. There are still armed soldiers camped out on literally every street corner, checkpoints everywhere, and with anti-government protests starting at the drop of a hat.

You Indians just read about some tulip garden opening, and you think everything is back to normal.

In any case, the guy’s story doesn’t surprise me very much…he’s probably describing the village he’s originally from.

Funny then how a right-wing, BJP-apologist rag like the Times of India has repeatedly published articles about how he can’t be involved (I posted a link to one such article above). It’s also strange that the chief of Delhi Police has also exonerated him.

If it’s such a slam dunk case, why haven’t they tried him in court yet…lord knows any kangaroo court in India would happily convict a Kashmiri on even the flimsiest of evidence. And why all the torture? Or is raping & torturing prisoners legal in your justice system?

unnecessary? are u kidding me? this guy in jail is being tormented and abused for his religion/faith and you say my comment was uncalled for. YA RITE!!!

you mean indians/hindus treated here like that? i dont think so...have you ever heard of any such case? no nah. But how many such cases have we heard about muslims being mistreated in india inspite of having a big population there.

The comment which was unnecessary in this thread was the creation of Pakistan part. This has nothing to do with creation of Pakistan. My rhetoric question is weather such thing dont exist in pakistan. I am not questioning weather they are hindus, sikhs or aliens. I am just asking if police force in Pakistan dont use intimidating tactics on their prisoners.
Since I am forced to answer. Did you not see that there are equal number or more of Hindus victimized similarly in India. It has nothing to do with religion. Its bad that such thing exist. Only when you are a person victimized similarly then you would completely feel the pain. But also think about the 60 or more people died in the blast that rocked Delhi. What was their fault. He may be innocent all we know, but the justice has to be given a chance. Justice have to be given a chance. There are millions on Indian Muslims, so why pick him alone. May be circumstances, may be bad luck or may be he is not innocent. Who knows!!!

If you dont have faith in the system then you better be out of the country. Nobody says india is perfect. With a huge population of 1.1billion there are bound to have incidence and circumstances like that. Did you see how many people from other states are held up similarly.
You can brand Times of India as a right wing propaganda machine but will credibility to your own source which Kashmiri separatist propaganda instrument.

Hello Janan Ali,

I am surprised you call The Times of India a rag, let alone a BJP apologist rag. When I get time I will certainly investigate into what they have published but it is even more ironic that you call the TOI a rag, yet base your entire argument on what the TOI published.

That said, my interest here is not to argue whether you are right or wrong but only to satisfy myself about the facts of the case. You made some serious allegations which I found very disturbing, knowing we Indians are not like that....in general.

I am happy that I did not buy your accusations at face value and the link I posted earlier provides a lot more credible evidence that completely contradict your allegations. Unless there is further evidence that disproves what I read, I wish you well and hope your anger towards India dissipates soon and our two countries can be regional partners rather than fighting over Kashmir.

Regards
Pundit Vikram

1. I have no reason or desire to mis-state the truth.

2. The fellow was not a friend or a casual acquaintance. I met him only once in a complete business surroundings. And what I stated here was told by him casually.

3. Apart from the above, I met a girl whose family which consisted of 4 sisters and their parents had to move out of the country, leaving everything behind in their house in sri nagar. Just to save their lives because in their close neighbourhood, there was a RAPE incident of a girl. The father of these 4 girls did not want the same to happen in his own house so they moved out the next day just in their slippers and clothes. I even remember this girl telling me how they accidently forgot to pick their educational certificates from a shelf. And to this date, they have not been able to return to their house.

4. Another family I know has a son now around 28. The parents of this guy always visit their house themselves and get a panic attack when their son insists to visit sri nagar with them because he misses the place where he spent his childhood. His parents never allow him to go bakc there even for a visit.

5. UNFORTUNATELY, I have lost the contact nmbr of this girl. And I have moved to another country now but I still have business cards of both of the guys I mentioned about. And after reading your ignorant commonts, I am willing to call them up to find out more from them and state here what they tell me exactly as per their own words.

6. It's always a nice gesture to accept the reality than denying it in a moronic fashion (i.e; by stating that other must be 'mis-stating' or just stating for 'fun') something you do not wish to believe or do not want other people to be aware of the facts.