I want twins!

Does anybody here have identical or non-identical twins? If so, please share your experiences.

If you know someone who does then also please share what you know of their experience of raising twins.

It would be my ultimate dream to have identical twins. But now that I’ve said that, it will probably never happen :bummer:

My cousins are twins and they are inseperable. They never had the need to make friends in school. They just had each other. Also, it was really weird because some of them could feel the pain of the other and always knew if one was distressed. It was like having a best friend for life :jano:

Re: I want twins!

guess they aren’t that common :bummer:

my brothers are twins..but not identical. my nand and devar are twins, and obviously not identical either.

I would love twins too!

aww i love twinsss...mujhe bhi chahiye hain hehe..

My dads 2 cousins are twins non identical. My 2nd cousins are twins non identical. My dads other cousin had twin boys identical mashallah their so cute! There was 2 guys in my school who are identical twins, Proper stunners!

Twins really run in my family, I really dont want twins. Their cute to look at but i would never like to have them.

One of my best friends is an identical twin and she and her sister are just like how you describe your cousins!!! Seeing them and their friendship growing up has always made me first a) wish I had a twin sister! and now b) hope to have identical twins of my own!

Auntie told my mom that it was actually quite a difficult time for them when they were both born .... especially since they had other children that were just a bit older...but still very much so kiddies themselves. They had to get a full time live in nanny to help her during the day time (4 kids total...with 2 newborns was alot to handle) and then in the evenings/night, her husband and her took turns taking care of them. But it was one of htose things when one of them would wake up and cry, the other would wake up and cry too. When one was hungry, the other was hungry too! So they kept the cribs in their bedroom and had a microwave and a fridge in their room as well. THey did anything they could to keep their life easy. She says because they were identical, it was really hard to tell them apart as well when they were babies. Their personalities were extremely similar as babies and it wasn't till they were a bit older and started going to school that they developed their "own" personalities. So auntie and uncles system was to always have one twin baby girl always wear pink clothing .... and the other green. lol. If htey were going to go somewhere and they would decide the girls would wear matching outfits, auntie would on purpose have the girls wear different color socks or different color hair ribbons or something so she could tell them apart.

They actually grew up having hte same dislikes and likes... they have the same haircut...same fashion style. THey are constantly borrowing each others clothing. etc. :)

^ awwwww how cute is that PR?

but I feel sorry for the parents :bummer:

lol me and my sibling (3 of them) are a year apart. so basically my mom had 4 kids in 3 years..lol...woah. thats a lot. no wonder she was so thin, poor woman was probably running after us the whole time.

oh wow Afshi! Your mom is a super woman! :D mashAllah!

And yea Stardust those early years were extremely difficult..... and once they both started college at the same time... then it got difficult too for financial reasons. I guess these are all things we dont really think about.

no, not really. especially twins though. I think they become quite insular about these things.

I just would loved to have a twin for companionship/friendship. It's not something Iam good at doing so it would have helped things alot for me :)

a have a pair of cousins who are identical twins, they're in their teens now but I still for the life of me can't tell them apart :/

Twins are amazing.. especially when they wear the same clothes and all.. aww I want twins! :wub:

My friend has triplet sisters.. :cb: I find it really cute.

whoa. you do realise you have a HUGE chance of having twins with those genes on your's and your hubby's side??

for fraternal twins , hubby's side does not matter he is not ovulating.
her side matters.

It would be my ultimate dream to have identical twins. But now that I've said that, it will probably never happen

Just be grateful whatever you are blessed with and always pray for the best. What we sometimes forget is that there are alot of risks associated with multiple pregnancies. Increased risk of miscarriage, premature birth, placenta problems, health problems for the mother, and other risks and complications. As long as you have a healthy and safe pregnancy and healthy and safe baby, that all that matters, regardless of whether its only one baby or two popping out! But yes, I agree, twins are adorable!

but twins runs in the genes, don't they? so it matters if both of them carry that? or am i just talking crap here? lol

okay birds and bees time :slight_smile:

so fraternal twins are born when the chica has multiple eggs that month..it can be natural i.e. genetic or via fertility drugs usually make the lady have more than one eggs in that priod, a la octomom.

so all the man and his role is that the sperm go and fertilize 2 eggs ..or 8 as was the case of octomom.

so it is genetic for fraternal twins but since the man is not ovulating, his genes dont matter here.

so where do his genes matter, his daughters…so even if there is no twins on the mothers side, and lets say they have a daughter. This daughter can have fraternal twins.

next we have identical twins, where there is a single egg, and a single lucky sperm out of the many who make the trip…yaaay sperm..good job.:lifey:

anyways, so something causes the fertilized egg to split, well its not an egg anymore but you get the idea. what determines that? now here there is no real proof and many scientists say that its random, however I think there is more to it because some families seem to have identical twins and some dont, I have 2 sets of identical twin cousins, second cousins, i.e. dad’s cousins kids, but then I also had idential twin older brothers atif and asif who sadly did not make it after a premature birth.

so my own view is that identical twins also run genetically and can be from mother or father, but I dont know enough or have not read enough about that.

sidebar…ever wonder why all these hollywood celebrities in their 40s seem to have twins recently? and its a boy girl set? ahhhh its IVF where they determine the gender of the introduced embryos before hand, nothing wrong with it in my view, but they claim it just happened…well must be something in hollywood water that you ladies who want twins should start drinking. anyhoo, no its not natural, its as natural as a blonde deis girl with roots showing claiming her hair colour is natural..like really no big deal if u dyed it, and you dont have to talk about it..but dunn lie n stuff.

^ lol at the desi blonde metaphor!

thanks for explaining it all!
and yeah, the whole hollywood thing is such rubbish- they really should just admit it. probably of all those ladies with twins, maybe a couple were conceived naturally, but that's it. then again, i do know that the chances of conceiving twins is higher the older you are because the quality of eggs is declining, so the body starts releasing more eggs and more eggs at a time to increase the chances of a pregnancy. crazy how nature works, eh?

I have almost a year old faternal twin girls and they are becoming a handful. If u want twins, be prepared to not sleep for a few months and have lots and lots of help around. Since they were preterm and like 4 lbs, the first few months were tough. By the time I was done changing and feeding putting them to sleep... it was feeding time alllll over again. Literally I had less than 30mins to myself. Then there are loads and loads of bottles to sterlize. But ALHUMDULILLAH, they truly are a blessing and an absolute joy. Oh and i forgot to mention, when they get sick... they get SICK TOGETHER!!! On a brighter and more positive note, Ive noticed that now they seem to be discovering each other. They actually are happy to see each other but that usually doesn't last long cuz one will end up attacking the other. Twins are fun.. i can't wait for them to grow up and do lil sharartein together.

I loved reading all the twin stories.. kinda gives me a glimpse into whats to come for my girls.

i know someone who was so desperate to have just twins she had ivf (and she is under 30) just for it where they inserted two eggs. now she has non-idential boy and girl.

if you have the money, you can do that! lol!