I want to start Teaching Quran...

i would like to start teaching to kids - i feel as though the kids nowadays are paying more attention on tv/computer games/movies etc and ignoring Quran. I am not sure if the parents are at fault but i do think kids should be taught Quran and namaaz with strict attitude…

How do i go about this? I want to teach once or twice a week…where should i publish my services? Should i charge even though i dont want to? What about the siparas? Do i have to buy them myself or can someone donate some to me?

Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks!

Re: I want to start Teaching Quran...

Thats very nice of you.....may Allah reward you for it.

About ideas.....before teaching children just make sure that your makhrij is correct.

I am no scholar but I know this poeple can easy learn If you have ability to relate.
Its more like learning about your students, their ideas, they way they communicate to each other.
I would say spent good chunk of time listing observing.

Thanks Hareem...but what is makhrij? Is it the prononciation? I am AH good at reading Quran - i am jst thinking of teaching how to read the Quran and reading namaaz like they do in Pakistan - no islamic history or anything like as i am not good at that!

KA, what do you mean "if you have the ability to relate"? Any examples?

it is an awsome idea mashallah.. it happened to my mom.. when a neighboring lady requested her to teach Quran to her kids and since then.. abt 12 or so yrs my mom has been teaching Quran to 3 or 4 kids at a time..
She spends an hr or two of her day.. u shouldnt worry abt buying paras cose kids bring their own mostly or u can request the pparents to do so...

you can start adverstising in the local mosque of ur community.. or maybe a local desi grocery store..

mashallah say its the best thing we can do with our times..

good luck

Alhamduiliah....go ahead. Are you in the UK?

Mashallah @ ur mum - thanks for the ideas hin - i will definately do that inshallah.

I am based in London - if you know someone who needs teaching - please let them know etc..

BUT what about the charges etc? Should i cuz i wouldnt feel comfortable as i am teaching the book of Allah - even though i have researched on the net that ppl are charging for their time! Will the parents ask for any quranic qualifications etc?

Not just Makhaarij, but also Qawaa'id... and does he want to teach them Qiraa'at or Tafheem? What is the point of Qiraa'at if they don't understand what they are parroting?

Strict attitude on rituals eh? I consider educational video games better use of time than those...

Once a mayor of some huge western was visiting pakistan. Master of ceremony in his open speech read hdees"If city start growing too big, develop a new city instead"
Thats mayor was so amazed. Cuz he had seen all the issues which comes with a city being very huge. He was so distracted in his own speech , he kept referring to haddes.
Guy conducting that show was able to relate some thing from hadees to some thing Mayor knew best.

Well in case of kids you have to listen to them all the time,observe them. They way they communicate to each other thats how you could communicate to them best.

Its not amount of knowledge you have, Its how much you can send in little brains(short attention span too, some times.)

You should ask this to the thread starter. Before tafheem you need to know how to read it I think. Once children start reading Arabic of Qur'an then you can start them teaching meanings.

Nice to know that.

About charging money....It depends on you really, I wouldn't charge for it.

And it depends on parents, some will take interest in your qualifications, some won't.

Alrighty then sister...

Dear Sunset_Eyes, let me tell you my personal experience having studied at a madresah... parroting something I was told was sacred (without me being given a chance to find out for myself as to why it was so), reading what I could not relate to or understand, and getting slapped or receiving wierd angry looks by the mudarris for asking questions as to what I was reading meant, is not and may never be my cup of tea... how about the following:

1) Take a chapter and first try to understand yourself what it means.
2) Speak to a group of kids in a casual, friendly and informal setting, relating the code of conduct described in that chapter/set-of-verses, and how it can relate to what they are currently doing at school, home, in the playground. That would get their attention.
3) Talk about what is its significance, and ask if they would be interested in knowing what it would sound like in its language of origin, and if they want to learn it. Then start with the Qiraa'at for that chapter only.
4) Then ask if they would like to know what the word for word rendition is. If they are still hooked, read it out the Arabic and tell them the word for word rendition...
5) Ask them if they want to learn more and expand their understanding... if so, repeat 1-5

The 1-5 for the first 4-5 iterations does not have to be in the Arabic/Semitic alphabet (actually the term Arabic alphabet is a misnomer to begin with) and use transliterated English instead.

Then go to the actual Semitic alphabet... when they are comfortable having completed a few chapters.

If you must do it, then do it right...

I'd use different methods for different age groups, for example for under 7 years old children the stress would be on reading and memorizing, for older children stress would be on meanings and backgrounds of different ayahs and surahs. Does it sound right to you?

Not really IMO... I wouldn't start teaching the Quran before the ages 6-7. Like I said, the traditional emphasis is more on memorizing and reading a language that is not applied in real life, so what's the point. Children already learn how to read and write at school and don't need cognitive skill development in that area. They only reason they would have to learn to read and write Semitic Arabic Alphabet is to read the Quran, which to me is a waste of time if transliteration can be applied and is available.

Do realize that most non-Arab (and even most Arab) people do not follow proper Qiraa'at rules even with the Semitic Arabic Alphabet.

So no need to learn reading and writing Arabic? I'll go for the traditional method which is learning Arabic language to understand Qur'an rather learning Qur'an through someone's translation.

talking about the meaning and understanding would make it 10 times better and would keep the kids interested.

very nice points hypnotix..

But when they read Qur'an they do follow the rules instead of using slang.

I am a Qari: Have been so for the past 20 years and I have yet to see a regular Arab schmoe actually Read the Quran with proper Qiraa'at... let alone a non-Arab who has not done proper Qiraa'at schooling.

Its your fault....what do you expect from schmoes?

Re: I want to start Teaching Quran…

:mash: very good idea, may Allah bless you for your efforts.

you can start by leaving leaflets in your local mosque for parent’s attention, and for siparas I don’t think that would be a problem.

PS: feel free to drop a line if you need any help in that regard.