what area should i concentrate in?
– Accounting
– Economics and Finance
– Entrepreneurial Studies
– Insurance and Finance
– Management
– Management Information Systems
– Marketing

i work for an insurance comp in IT support area and my comp will pay for my education..i’d like to become a manager down the road instead of getting too much into the technical side..just not sure which area to concentrate in..i am leaning toward management..is that a good idea?

hmmm...i think u should get the course bulletins from the unis u r interested in applying to....they're prolly online...and look at the course offerrings....go thru the detailed course descriptions...n then see what field interests u most...instead of just relying on what ppl tell u...coz everyone's gonna have a different perspective n opinion and at the end of the day, all areas are pretty much equally marketable, so u might as well do something u enjoy n find interesting...

thats the approach i'm following for choosing my grad school program anyway :D i reckon its a good one lol... :p

good luck!

ofcourse i am gonna do what i think i can handle..i wanna kno which would make me more valuable..i think i'd like to stay in this company if i can..i dont know why i m doing this..i hate studying ..maybe cuz its gonna be free lol

yeah tell me abt it, i hate studying too :teary2: itni mushkil se to mar mar k undergrad complete kya hay paanch saal mein aur ab have to do masters too :crying:

khayr, good luck, we need more successful pakis in amreeka n all over the world :k:

well if had listented to me..u would be married and making babies..but no..aap ko to parhna hai
well i probably wouldnt have done it if it wasnt free..tumko to pata hai desi free cheezain nahi chortay...chahay woh education hi na ho :)

hey mr mba, go prove your worth in the "desperate, need help" thread.

Free tau hai, per do it from a good university. An MBA from a mediocre university isn't gonna take you far.

Accounting .. Blah. If one wants an Accountant, they should hire a CPA or an accounting major in under-grad.
Economics and Finance.. Nice
Entrepreneurial Studies.. Not good if you intend to stick to a job. This is for businessmen.
Insurance and Finance.. Perhaps the best bet for you if you wanna stick with your present employer. Although may be too restrictive in scope when you decide to move around.
Management.. Another good option.
Management Information Systems.. More of the same computer stuff proly
Marketing.. Personal bias against it. Why do MBA in it, when you can learn a lot by reading great books on this subject. Its not really rocket science, and I consider it more a personality trait anyway.

Go for MIS or Project Managment (PMI).

Honestly I would suggest you do a strong Finance based MBA because thats were most of the jobs are these days. And also take some general management courses to make you well rounded. Unless you have significant experience in IT I would suggest you stay away from it for the next couple of years.

thanks guys

i know finance would be best..specially since i work in a very big insurance company..the good thing bout the mba degree is that i would have to take all of the classes..be it accounting..management..finance etc..so i will get a feel of all of the areas..
out of these choices...i like management and MIS the most..i did my BS in MIS..i wish i was good at finance but i was just not into it..the only reason i got an A in it was cuz 'naqal baazi' ka moka mil gaya tha lol
but i m gona take corporate finance next semester and i m gonna do my best..ager kuch pallay parh gaya to i will pursue finance..if not then management

faisal..our dept head started out as a secretary..now she is an executive..so i think exp matters alot too..inshallah if i can keep my job here..and have mba degree on my resume..inshallah i will advance

*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
thanks guys

i know finance would be best..specially since i work in a very big insurance company..the good thing bout the mba degree is that i would have to take all of the classes..be it accounting..management..finance etc..so i will get a feel of all of the areas..
out of these choices...i like management and MIS the most..i did my BS in MIS..i wish i was good at finance but i was just not into it..the only reason i got an A in it was cuz 'naqal baazi' ka moka mil gaya tha lol
but i m gona take corporate finance next semester and i m gonna do my best..ager kuch pallay parh gaya to i will pursue finance..if not then management

yara, if you recall, my PM (yes the late one) mentioned some good universities in our humble :D state. I would say management, finance, econ..these are the core, best concentrations. I think the bad economy makes them even more valuable.

If you need any info on HBS or Columbia Business school let me know. Definately recommend both schools, but it will involve moving. If you want to stay put, then check out the schools that mentions. Congrats, Ma'Shallah 100% sponsorship is really rare these days, kuchh tau soch ke firm walon ne offer ke hogi :D Btw, I'm starting in about a week or so. Sheraz bhai, all this to pad your resume ya ye bhabi ko impress karney ke liye hai ;)

I'd recommend something related to Financial Economics or Mathematical Finance... it would build on your existing skills and your experience in the Insurance Industry - potential opportunities would be in Investment Banking in the Risk & Portfolio Management or Equity Research areas.

geez! :rolleyes:

^^good one :hehe:

All the areas are good but in my rather biased opinion, I'd go with either Finance or Management.

Best of luck :)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

Marketing.. Personal bias against it. Why do MBA in it, when you can learn a lot by reading great books on this subject. Its not really rocket science, and I consider it more a personality trait anyway.

Faisal

personal bias has overshadowed logic here. Marketing is not simply sales. for roles ranging from heavy duty market resaerach using syndicated data sources, to product and brand management take skills but training as well.

You can learn many things on the job, sure, but confusing marketing with sales (which btw has its own challenges) is like confusing accounting with book keeping.

One can learn many things by just reading books, but having the credentials, a launching pad into your career, and a network are easier through an MBA program rather than reading soem book.

Sheraz,

the biggest question is what do you want to do, what is your interest in. I mean if its the field which seems most attractive, you should go into law, medicine, investment banking :)

but its not as simple as that.

warning though..do not go for a general mgmt focus by itself, or an interntional business focus by itself, or even a strategic mgmt focus by itself you should pair it with fiance, or marketing, or Ops Mgmt etc.

there are many other areas of focus as well, health care, actuarial sciences, etc etc.

and dont just look at what you want to do now, but what direction do you want your career to progress in and what are your strengths and interests.

basically if you have the interest and potential to become a great tennis player, why go for basketball if you are going to be mediocre in it because it does not really appeal to you.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
Marketing is not simply sales.
I am sure its all that and more. Its just my personal opinion, that given a choice between e.g. MBA in Finance, compared to MBA in Marketing, I will tend to go for Finance. You may opt for a different specialization. Its just personal choice. I don't find much value in Marketing major.. but I am sure there are some stellar people there, who have gone thru a rigorous workload and syllabii.

Faisal somone can say the same about accounting, you can learn it all on the job, the entire articleship basis can be used as an argument. You may not find value in getting a degree in marketing, does not mean that there is no value in getting a degree in marketing. Kellogg MBA would have shut its doors ages ago otherwise.

As I said, its a personal opinion. No need to be so defensive. :)

Yes, someone can say accounting can be learnt by just reading the books. Can you? Can you learn Engineering by reading the book? Possible. But can you? I don't know. May be. Many world renowned marketing gurus in the world, from the founders of IBM to now, were they really MBA in marketing? I don't know. May be. Can you say the same thing about some world class engineers or doctors or accountants?

Infact every successful enterpreneur, more or less, has to be good in marketing. Yes MBA in Marketing may give you phenomenal depth of knowledge. And thats all fine... but will it make you a good marketing guy?

Originally posted by Faisal: *
**As I said, its a personal opinion. No need to be so defensive. :)

not defensive bhai jaan, just making sure that your "personal" opinion is not seen as some expert opinion :P

*Yes MBA in Marketing may give you phenomenal depth of knowledge. And thats all fine... but will it make you a good marketing guy? *

same could be said about any program. But chances are that if you managed to get in a good MBA program and managed to stay in and graduate, that you have a higher chance of succeeding than someone who did not.

P.S. all the high flier execs that you name, they probably did benefit from soemthing known as executive workshops which Kellogg, wharton, Stanford and harvard all offer. after all the schools are still offering exec programs as well as seminars.

Can you say the same thing about some world class engineers or doctors or accountants?

can you say the same thing about world class leaders in teh areas of operations mgmt? dont run and start comparing different fields, question was MBA. next you will say can you become an astronaut by reading books.

oh and yes there can be very good accountants who do not have degrees in accounting, except the industry pimped out and made it necessary to get CA/CMA/CPA designations from certain institutes.

Yeah yeah.. blame it on the industry :hehe:

Anyway, which of the following two words you don’t understand: “personal” “bias”?

Never claimed to be an expert. Not in MBA anyway. Are you?