I just came back from a Jagjit Singh concert - it’s his farewell tour. Went with Dad coz I had nothing better to do and thought why not hey, might be a good cultural experience. Anyway I sat through 3 hours of ghazals, and my dad was explaining a lot of the stuff to me - it’s some deep **** hey. Anyway, I think I’m gonna go dig out that Mirza Ghalib CD and polish up on my Urdu. Ghazals are on a whole new level :k:
Re: I think I've found my new interest - Ghazals
Right and then you can start on that bok of yours "Urdu For Advanced Students" :)
PS: ask dad about Ghulam Ali and his music.
lol you can co-write it 5abi - might need the help.
Ghulam Ali? ok I just realised today my Erdew is very basic. I learnt some new words.
I'll co-write the "Punjabi 101" instead. Ill post some Ghulam ALi ghazals for you in Audio.
Re: I think I’ve found my new interest - Ghazals
menu rabdi sotere nal pyar hogaya vichana sachi muchi … hehe see i know a bit of punjabi … its an old Benjamin sisters song.
is ghulam ali the guy in ur icon ![]()
No. Ive met the guy a few times in LA. His family lives here and he comes to visit them often and eats at Shahnawaz Restaurant and often sings impromptu ghazals there. Very humble and simple guy.
Ghulam Ali Thats him.
Jagjit Singh is really full of himself, unlike Ghulam Ali.
i think rahat fateh ali sounds pretty good himself...have u heard mann ki laggan from movie paap and jiya dharak dharak from movie kalyug? its wonderful.
Der Ayad Dursut aayad…
===> Run for Urdu dictionary.
bat nikle gi to phir dor talak jai gi
Sadma to hai mujhe bhi tumse juda hun main...
Par main yeh sochta hun,ab tera kya hun main
Jagjit Singh and wife Chitra Singh, both ghazal singers, have shifted to some heavy duty sad albums after their son died in a car crash. Anyway you can listen to him on musicindiaonline.
One such sad album is Marasim
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/l/9/s/album.578/artist.400/
Link to all ghazal singers
http://www.musicindiaonline.com/l/9/i/
I refused to go to any site which types Guzarta as Gujarta. Ghazal ke maa bahen kar di …
.](“http://www.musicindiaonline.com/ms/a?s=9.732”)
Its written on the site like that but he sings it properly though.
I know that. I am protesting the site.I love Jagjeet.
never knew their son died. but it is indeed sad music most of it.
haha… chalo shukar hai “Ghazal” ko “Ghajal” tow nahi likha.
Jagjit is a good starting point catty… I have over 150 of his ghazals! You’ll get hooked I tell you - I learnt a lot of my Urdu from Ghazals.
^Jagzeet is a good Ghajal singer.