i met Imran Khan...i asked him a question...and i am Dissapointed :(

well before i go in to details lemme clarify that it was NOT some personal meeting.

kher on sunday i went to york uni, where the great Imran Khan was expected to gave a lecture on “Leadership n Democracy”. it took me 3 hours to get there cuz of Massive Propane Explosion.

acc to the program skedule, doors were supposed to closed around 12.30 pm…well i got there around 12.15 pm. (it was a three hrz long program, from 12-3 pm)

but Imran Khan showed up around 2.15…cuz he missed his flight from NYC :S
(so yeah two hour wait was also hectic.)

kher he came and gave a speech which was not more than 30-40 min on the topic he didnt even know about the he suppose to address on. (well he claim to be a leader and he did lead at several places so preparation on the topic shouldn’t be a problem for him).

well he started off with the same examples (i mean cricket ones that how every used to say that he cant me be better cricketer than his cousins, and how everyone used to say about his Cancer hospital and the cost it will generate, wont let it run that long…but still it is effectively running, besides giving free consultation to the needy. (which was totally fine with me, but i had seen all those on youtube as well)

the only thing i found worthwhile was his notion of “Aiming high”. so at this point i wanted to ask him a question that "you claim that you aim for big things, so right now is your aim to lead chaotic, slackers, druggies, terrorist, baat baat per larnay walay, apnay bhai ka khoon kernay walay, looters, etc?

…but then i thought i am not on GS at the moment…so let find some sympathetic question.

meanwhile IK continued with his looooooooong- very very very detailed which was more towards boring side of the spectrum than energetic one. (which i totally understand that the guy is human, he was late, his busy hectic skedule, traveling, and then addressing ppl like me jo k apnay profs ko bhi nahi choortay :D)

kher after ~ 40 min question-answer session started.

first person asked a question on democracy (and i think he asked) when will we gonna get that rule of govt?
(well i cant really recall the actual question but i do recall my sentiments and they were: yeh imran khan hai najomi nahi.)…well IK again gave a very Detailed answer.

then an uncle got his turn to ask him a question…his first was relevant to the discussion, but in his second question he asked about Aafia Siddiqui…and my sentiments were “dude is not here for press conference :bummer:”

and then…ma-balolets (i mean MY) turn came

i did know that i gonna ask him a question…why because i really wanted to know how good of a leader is he…so i wanted to have this personal experience…and besides i also wanted to gain confidence…i mean i do have presented in front of 30-60 ppl max but standing in front of a huge crowd (around 300 ppl) is load different.

so kher my turn came and i asked him this

“AOA sir, my name is zobia.
Acc to Newtons third law of motion every action has an opposite and equal reaction. so sir as a Pakistani nation hum main aisi kon si boraee nahi hai jis ki basis per hum ko corrupt leaders na milay?”

crowds reaction: they really liked it…and they also applauded it very much. (even a guy after the whole program was ended, came to me and appreciated my question :cheegum: and he also mentioned that it is in Quran that jaisi nations hoon geen un ko waisay he leaders malin gain)

unlike other ppl who asked questions to IK, i didnt leave the mic (until and unless IK wont answers my questions. :D)

i used newton’s law because i dont want my religious knowledge taken for granted (as i was wearing scarf at that time).
second, i used urdu n english both because i didnt want my language skill to be over imposed, as i was really really was looking fwd for his take.

even though i did know what kind of answer he gonna give me, but still i was hoping that he wont gonna answer the same way, like he did earlier.

…but he told me his some donation story…and then in the middle of his reply he pointed at me “i am coming to your question” and after that he elaborated on some cartoon and on the basis of that he said “the real problem is with leadership, and not the ppl” video.

my sentiments…:eek: concept of donation is in every country…so i cant really say what donation aspect gives us edge over the others.

so rite over there when he was done…i said “Sorry to inform you sir, but your answer didn’t convince me at all” :o

yeah i said that in front of every one…i cant really say whether i did a right thing or not…but i did it, because problems hum main hain, or leaders bhi hum main say he buntay hain. so if we are corrupted then we will also gonna get a corrupt leader.

but IK still didnt grasp this idea…and he still thinks we are if not perfect but still deserving nation.

kher one of the organizer asked me k this is not the time for the debate and let other ask question.

lol i do wanted to ask the organizer over there k “yeh kaisa leader jo mujhay to convince nahi ker payea, but he wanted to convince 16 crore pakistanis?”

…but i didnt say him anything cuz IK was got lill shocked, and organizers really cant do anything.

his leadership skills: poor
how?

-no eye contact with the viewers (especially with the person who asks him anything).
-he is a over-imposing talker…and a leader should be precise- to the point and more towards his actions, knowing the value of his time and also others time.
-making fun of other leaders e.g. molana diesel (he called him that)…well if he is aware of all these so-called leaders as being irrational then why he even bothers to talk about them…(i also wanted to ask him k yeah kia backbiting nahi hai?)

ps. may ALLAH SWT show him better, and strong path…otherwise he will again gonna endup with one seat. :cheegum:

Re: i met Imran Khan...i asked him a question...and i am Disspointed :(

A very good question asked zobi. I also think that as a nation we have adopted a lot of bad stuff that is spreading like a cancer. As they say '' Jassi Rooh, Wessay Farishtay'' ... so our leadership is merely a glimpse of your society.

Allah knows better and inshaAllah he gona help us too. Ameen.

..app ki post perh k mujhay woh mashoor-e-zamana kahane yad agyee

ik shakhs nay apnay baadshaah say kaha humain khalifa ummer bin khattab razi Aalh tala anhu jaisai serbraah ki zaroorat hay

to per baadshah nay kaha k ussay hazrat abu huraira razi Allah tala anhu jaisai AWAAM ki zaroorat hay

sorry to say but i really really disagree with ur question i dont understand why due to a certain rotten part of our nation all the nation is considered bad??? this is stereotyping and he is RIGHT we dont deserve such leaders! why should a generous and honest man get the worst leaders???

Re: i met Imran Khan…i asked him a question…and i am Disspointed :frowning:

kudos jee… the way u hold yrself in front of that big crowd of unknown people , & that u were so prepared and alert at that particular moment , mashaallah … i liked yr qs too , and i believe he was partially right , there is problem with the leadership but they do not become leaders on their own ,it’s the people who elect them & vote for them , i just don’t get his way of elaborating this ( in video)

[p.s; kahaan ho :chai:]

nice…so you tell me what good deed of ours makes us deserve a righteous leaders?

ps. still ALLAH SWT didnt bless us with ppl like Amin Faheem whose four sisters are married to Quran-e-Majeed.

jo quomain pairoon (trees) per phal niklata dekh ker un ko poojati hoon, jo peer fakeeroon per ALLAH SWT ki sovereignty say zayda yakeen rekhti hoon, jo traffic laws ko brake kerti hoon; hence every law just to impose their false Pakistaniat (k yahi to hum ko Pakistani banata hai), jahan app ka na maal, na izzat, or na he jaan app k apnay bhai say bachi ho…i seriously dont have words to describe my sentiments…k hum hain kia?

still ALLAH SWT blessed us with a country :frowning: and it is there for the past 61 years. :cheegum:

NaMaan, Problem _girl, hsap…thank you guys

but i am not only mentally disturbed but also physically feeling very tired…as if there is no hope for anything.

ps. hsap… i was disturbed…:sigh: …IK says this on several occassion k “i have enough to sit at home, and relax over there”
…n think k ager aisa hota to wo ghar per bheta hota…isterha phir nahi raha hota.
…n i think i also cant stop worry about things around me. so yeah :frowning:

ps. all i am saying he is not, but if ALLAH SWT wants then he will become a great leader.

i cant believe i read your whole post …
:hayaa:

on serious note … well done :k:

:salam:

inshAllah you’re doing well.

I kinda disagree to your post… Newton’s laws do apply to a lot of things, but not to everything, and certainly not to what one (or a nation) deserves. Maybe, just maybe, it is God’s mercy that this nation, although literred with the kachra loug you mentioned in your post, is still somehow running. and only God knows the truth to that. He mentioned charity, and its true, despite being a third world country, Pakistanis is big on charity. And maybe its the Sadaqas we give with the pure intention thats getting us through, again, only God knows all.

What we deserve and what we get in this world may not always balance up. I mean, count our blessings; do we deserve them? this health, iman, money, family, education, etc, etc… is our Iman at such a level that we deserve all of these? it (at least for me) is purely God’s mercy to lead such a comfortable lifestyle… I didn’t choose it, I certainly dont deserve it (based on my iman), but I am thankful for it.

As for the leaders, we live in so much corruption (handled by a few) that its not that we choose the leaders, sometimes they choose themselves. I heard of plenty of stories a few years back where not only did MQM rig the elections, they also held ppl at gum point and made 'em vote otherwise… it wasn’t the ppl that chose for the MQM to come to power, it was their badmaashi that they’re up there.

The ppl dont choose to send their rice crops oversease and are left with the crappy stuff for themselves, it is our leaders who are involved with that… so this miserable situation isn’t our fault, its the fault of those who are in control.

Our only responsibility is to make change happen, to not sit at home and complain but to get out there and work hard for a difference (God will reward us for our efforts regardless of the outcome, inshAllah).

:wsalam: ^Well said sister. I also agree to sister Problem_girl. I think that person (king) was Haroon-Rashid if I am not wrong.

@Topic. Good question. I have been using the same words (exactly) in my real life discussions with the reference of Allah’s words in the Quran with a mafhoom “I impose upon a nation, a leaders which it deserves”

But with time my thinking has been focused on Hazrat Ali (r.a) saying which indicates that a lion can lead even if the followers are not very good, because if he leads well and present himself as an example, he would generate the passion within the followers. Among the present leader, Imran Khan could be the closest to this.

Life is too short to think and wait for the nation to change, and then a leader generated from that changed nation. A man once asked a pious person how could the world be changed into a better world. He replied, " If you decide now that you would bring all the changes in your own life that you want to bring in the society, believe me you have done your job and the world is changed."

I am very sure that if Allah sends someone like Hazrat Umar (r.a) or Hazrat Ali (r.a) in the present age, he would quickly become the most popular leader among Pakistanis and lead a revolution (InshaAllah). The Prophet (saw) said, " The majority of my Ummah can never be collectively convinced on something wrong". As they say " Awaaz-e-Khalq ko naqara-e-Khuda samjho"

So if even now a wali-ullah gets up and decides to rescue the nation with his sincere words and actions, inshaAllah Allah would put barakah (blessings) in his words and actions. After all the same nation gave birth to people like Allama Iqbal, not very long ago, who didn’t try to project himself but quickly become the most famous person in the nation.

newtons laws govern mechanics. theres a lot of laws/theories of politics, but none that i know of regard newtons laws as applicable there.

salam zobia, yaar your thread is very long, i will read it some other time inshaAllah.
anyways how are you doing?:)

Just because u think u didn't received the answer which u were expecting ...it means he is a fail leader? or he cannot convince 16 karror pakistanis?

the question and answers section is supposed to be about the topic IK was talking about, not any random questions. Thats why IK returned to the topic in hand.

Now if the topic had been corruption you may have got an answer you liked.

Zobia is right about IK, I believe it because I know his party working inside out. Just like anyother student I was in love with Imran Khan speaking style and charisma. Besides he was a fellow Aitchisonion his cousins were my very good friends. Then I went abroad and came after many a years to Pakistan. I wanted to go into politics since childhood and I thought IK party Tehreek-Insaf will be well suited for me.

I don't want to tell but I was the President of Cantt./Defence of TI in Lahore just five months ago. What made me leave the party? Not because the people I have seen in the party don't care about their constituents, not because IK has no clue about the Pakistani politics, not because IK doesn't want to change the system, not because IK doesn't have the party structure enabled even after 11 years of his party coming into being, not because IK keeps the same schycopaths around him who says yes to everything he says, not because IK has no chance to lead Pakistan in one way or the other, not because IK should do charity work rather then coming into politics, it is all true but I left because Imran Khan doesn't have a clue to make a power base and vote bank because he cannot convince people to agree to his view point. Don't watch him on TV (now he is sucking this up to) but watch his gatherings these days.

Now I left IK party and joined my swami Shahbaz Sharif party. Am I lota? Thanks.

wsalam

prove me than that newton third law of motion cant be applied here. all i can say is dont have a confine premises.

you said ALLAH SWT knows it all…tell me what does Quran says on this?

my health, my education, my iman, my money…this is a micro-level picture you have painted my friend.

do you know Pakistan’s literacy rate is 49.9%…which is around 50%…which means out of 16 crore…8 crore pakistani’s are literate…whereas even the African countries have higher literacy rate.

the problem is you are also acting like my parents…y do you only care about yourself, or your generations?

pinks, ppl are selling themselves just to get a piece of loaf.

lol…i go with Rationality…and MQM is not even near to it. so please dont compare IK with them…MQM ager aisa kuch organize kerta to it wont be less than free circus for me.

lol…and who elected them? Us (we), just gain some lill personal interest. :frowning:
ps. besides…do you mean it was legally sent oversees, or illegally :hoonh:

ps2…tum nay abhi bhook nahi dekhi or us per shirk bhi nahi dekha :slight_smile:

out of 16 crore…no one never stood in front of any leader…but i did it and you find it all wrong.
even if i am wrong…still you like to see the idea that IK is being idolized but not what i have did it.

you were not there otherwise, like many others (who didnt spoke in front of him like me) would have said the same k “only talks can happen”.

i did that cuz i am also blessed ALHUMDULLAH with everything…but i cant swallow my food when i imagine hunger in some ones eyes.

you tell me, besides donation what good action we perform is worthwhile, which brings us to the deserving leadership criteria?

and now would you care to reveal your confine retribution that "Mechanics of what" are you talking about?

ps. sorry to inform you sir but i personally think you never try to stretch your imagination.

at the moment, and with these no-existing philosophies...yes, HE CANT!

but inshaALLAH he will...all he needs is lill guidance that only ALLAH SWT knows everything and not him.

...and all i can say to you is dont follow him blindly

ps. if i was wrong then he should have had stopped me when i said "i am not convinced, ", rather he dont even care.

Problem _girl's answer makes a lot of sense...

As for Imran Khan and your question, I would say that the question was good although mentioning of newton's law was somehow funny.

At the same time, you are asking him about the nation whereas he is the leader. Did you realize you were pointing fingers at yourself? I think he did a good job answering you about what he did as a leader and it is the corrupt nation who has rejected him and therefore, the leaders ruling the nation are corrupt and Imran khan is not one of them for sure at the moment.. :)

i dont even know what a confine retribution is, so Im afraid I cant reveal mine as per your request.

as for "mechanics of what"... mechanics is mechanics by itself. It has become a word that can be used in different contexts, but it actually means a field of the physical sciences, concerned with the motion of physical objects.

the point zobia bibi is that you cant use the same hammer everywhere. for example you cant ask people after an earthquake what they think caused this to happen to them, since this is necessarily a reaction to something they did. a religious person may well argue that they must have been creating a modern day soddom, but there is no real basis for that.