"i like him, but don't love him"

I was reccently taking to a friend of mine who i had lost touch with. since we last spoke she had gotten married to a guy her parents chose. she’s been married for almost two years and she kept telling me that although she likes her husband, and they have a beautiful daughter, she said that she still doesn’t love him. she finds that they rarely ever talk about anything other then bills, or kids. She was asking for my advice, and i didn’t know what to say to her.

Re: "i like him, but don't love him"

Get a divorce.

i guess its easy to say get a divorce, but her family is really strict, and she doesn't feel that divorce is an option.

And ruin the life of that little girl who did not choose to be born from a fcuked up family.

Tell her, "welcome to married life"

thats stupid, although married life is not a fairy tale there should be love.

Re: “i like him, but don’t love him”

She needs to sit and talk to him. Some of the Men, esp. some paki men are just not romantic. Shaadi, bachay, daal roti, bills, mortgage… standard chal chalao.

It would be helpful, if she sits with him and expresses her conserns, as to what she expects. May be he needs to show some more TLC. By the way, Prophet Muhammad :saw: said that a man should send some messege before entering his wife’s room. Like little sweet talk, etc.

Maybe he is not simply not aware of what she expects. They should both sit and talk and find out how cna they spice up their love life, or even introduce love :halo: into their married life. A close friend or a close couple friend can help sharing certain ideas, such as spending time alone, doing specail things for each other, a weekend far from home, a nice little walk on the beech-side (if beech is nearby).

Communication, and dialogue work wonders!

All the best.

^^ those are good ideas, i'll pass them along, thank you

Did they have children the second they got married?

she got pregnant with her daughter 5-6 months after she got married

may be he aint rich enough

Re: “i like him, but don’t love him”

Well ya know there are lot of people and lot of marriages as above. Coz most people just don't have an idea what they want to do with their life, aimless, purposeless, they just eat, fart, fcuk, have kidz and then complain for not being happy.

Too many indian movies have made her think that love is something else....she likes him as what? A friend? A friend she doesnt mind procreating with?

Has she loved before?

yaar yeh baat shaadi say pehlay soochnay ki thi

shaadi kay baad nahin

no i don't think she has, and i've tried explaining to her that maybe she has a fairy tale, hollywood expectation of what marriage should be......

if she is happy living with him, there is no problem, if she isn't she should ask Allah swt for help, see how things go, and then get a divorce if she isn't.

right on funguy...no marriage is perfect specially desis. desi men dont marry for love but for a companion for their parents and a naukrani to do all their boring chores and of course in the process they want a baby making machine.

what the ___
how does that work?
thats just pathetic